Search - Three O'clock :: Sixteen Tambourines/Baroque Hoedown

Sixteen Tambourines/Baroque Hoedown
Three O'clock
Sixteen Tambourines/Baroque Hoedown
Genres: Alternative Rock, Pop, Rock
  •  Track Listings (16) - Disc #1

Reissue of their 1983 album. Includes a cover of the Bee Gee's 'In My Own Time'. Frontier.


Larger Image
Listen to Samples

CD Details

All Artists: Three O'clock
Title: Sixteen Tambourines/Baroque Hoedown
Members Wishing: 7
Total Copies: 0
Label: Frontier Records
Original Release Date: 8/18/1993
Re-Release Date: 9/6/1993
Album Type: Original recording reissued
Genres: Alternative Rock, Pop, Rock
Style: American Alternative
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaCD Credits: 1
UPC: 018663101224


Album Description
Reissue of their 1983 album. Includes a cover of the Bee Gee's 'In My Own Time'. Frontier.

Similar CDs

Similarly Requested CDs


CD Reviews

Sadly overlooked era/genre of the 1980's
Bill Wikstrom | Long Island, NY | 05/10/2006
(5 out of 5 stars)

"The Three O'Clock were THE definitive Paisley Pop band of the 1980's. Sadly this genre is somewhat forgotten today. I hope I'm wrong as this album and ep are an amazing adition to anyone's collection.

Featuring the single "Jet fighter" and "I Go Wild' from the film The Wild Life it contains cathcy hooks, memorable lyrics and interesting guitar work. Simply a must for anyone who does not despise the 80's."
Great Album but missing 2 tracks
Jeffrey Davison | NH | 11/05/2007
(5 out of 5 stars)

"The vinal version of Baroque Hoedown contained a cover of Pink Floyds "Lucifer Sam", and The Birds "Feel a Whole lot Better"... For some reason they do not appear on this disk...What a shame...

Still worth it for the classic original tunes.

Incredible music, best Three O'Clock album of them all!
David Bradley | Lawrence, MA United States | 04/21/2009
(5 out of 5 stars)

"The Three O'Clock coined the phrase Paisley Underground and they are the epitome of that sound.

With 16 Tambourines you have a collection of great songs. But with Baroque Hoedown you had a collection of even better songs. It's unfortunate that Frontier has twice now released this EP on CD missing three of the available tracks. They represent it as a 5 song EP on the original CD issue. On the reissue CD they add an unreleased bonus track, but still ignore the fact that the original vinyl EP had more tracks if you bought the import.

Frontier Records, please tell us why you won't release In Love In Too, Lucifer Sam and Feel A Whole Lot Better from the original Baroque Hoedown EP?

In any event, when the Three O'Clock signed to I.R.S. records, they lost that magic in their sound. Later, on Paisley Park Records it got worse. That explains why they got airplay with the two discs represented here but couldn't get that same airplay with the later material. It just wasn't up to the quality of these two discs worth of material.

It you're a fan of the Three O'Clock but haven't heard 16 Tambourines and Baroque Hoedown, you really haven't heard the best of their material.

A third CD reissue should be done with the COMPLETE Baroque Hoedown EP instead of ignoring the other great tracks on the original vinyl disc.

My import vinyl E.P. (non-Frontier label) lists the tracks as follows:
With A Cantaloupe Girlfriend (Michael Quercio / Gregg Gutierrez)
I Go Wild (Michael Quercio / Gregg Gutierrez / Mickey Mariano)
Marjorie Tells Me (Michael Quercio / Gregg Gutierrez)
Feel A Whole Lot Better (Gene Clark)
Sorry (Wright / Young)
In Love In Too (Michael Quercio / Gregg Gutierrez)
Lucifer Sam (Syd Barrett)
As Real As Real (Michael Quercio / Gregg Gutierrez)