Newest CD/Album Reviews

Live at Columbia Studios Hollywood 9/30/71
Poco
Live at Columbia Studios Hollywood 9/30/71
Label: Collector's Choice Live
Release Date: 5/18/2010
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 6/25/2022 1:36 PM


"I had had this performance on a high quality stereo bootleg called "Country Bump" since the mid seventies and had enjoyed it immensely and played it often. It turns out it was a private performance for CBS executives and promotional people. Poco was out to impress with their replacement for Jim Messina, Paul Cotton. They don't disappoint. The performance is high octane Poco showcasing, at the time, new, as well as, older material. Showing that the band had not lost a step. Imagine my surprise when it shows up on an official CD! Needless to say I purchased it right away. It remains in my collection to this day."

Force Field
3rd Force
Force Field
Label: Higher Octave
Original Release Date: 2/23/1999
Release Date: 2/23/1999
Review by: Bruce T.. - 6/21/2022 1:24 PM


"I love this CD a lot more than I thought I would. It is clean, smooth, excellent sound, super professional musicianship. Somewhere on the softer side of jazz/Rock fusion. Let's call it "New Age/Jazz fusion". Highly recommended to all who appreciate great recording techniques married to professional musicianship in either the New Age or Jazz Genres'..."

Timeless (Dig)
Sergio Mendes
Timeless (Dig)
Label: Concord Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 2/14/2006
Review by: Marta I.. - 6/13/2022 8:47 AM


"This CD has a wonderful collection of Sergio Mendes hits. Highly recommended, clear sound and whimsical rhythms make for an enjoyable time listening."

Concert for Peace
Nana Mouskouri
Concert for Peace
Label: Philips
Original Release Date: 7/14/1998
Release Date: 7/14/1998
Review by: Jim M.. - 6/12/2022 5:40 AM


"As usual Mouskouri sounds wonderful. I do prefer her studio singing without the audience reaction, but in this case most of the reaction is quite secondary. There were a couple of pieces that I thought weren't appropriate, especially L'Enfant au Tambour, but maybe that is because I don't like it. It will stay on my "play regularly" shelf."

Bye Bye Love
Everly Brothers
Bye Bye Love
Label: Delta
Original Release Date: 8/29/1994
Re-Release Date: 8/30/1994
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 6/9/2022 7:32 PM


"These are original Cadence Records recordings. The classic versions of their classic songs."

Will T Massey
Will T Massey
Will T Massey
Label: Mca
Release Date: 4/30/1991
Review by: Rajeev P. (RockinRaju). - 6/7/2022 10:33 PM


"Among the ~2000 albums in my collection, this album by Will T. Massey is among the treasured, and I consider among the best. The musicians include Roy Bittan from the E Street Band and Mike Campbell of the Heartbreakers. But what sets this album apart from most any others in my collection are the deep lyrics, ones that stay with you over time. To wit, from "Bravery to Weep": Everyone's asking where you going and when so your laughing and passing the pain of where you've been yeah you packed up your past put your memories on a train but they ride a circular track, now darling they'll be back again Many of the songs are of loss: of self ("I Ain't Here"), of relationships ("You Take the Town"), and of life ("Summertime Graveyard"), but the songs are also wonderful, lyrical musings on what is important in life, and isn't that what music is all about? If you dig into the life story of Will T. Massey, you will also realize that you likely won't be hearing from him much again, making this album even more valuable. Highly, highly recommended."

Horizons
Kierre lewis
Horizons
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/7/2022 6:33 PM


"Just a few words to describe a very pleasant recording -- the musician is a solo pianist, first, and the music is pleasant, even soothing. Some tracks include washes of strings, or a subtle accompaniment by another instrument, such as English Horn. There are no vocals. Here are the names of each composition: 1 All Creatures Of Our God And King 2 Jesus, The Very Thought Of Thee 3 Love One Another 4 All Glory, Laud, And Honor 5 If You Could Hie To Kolob 6 I Need Thee Every Hour 7 Come, Ye Children Of The Lord 8 The Spirit Of God 9 Our Savior's Love 10 Praise To The Lord, The Almighty 11 Lead, Kindly Light 1997 from Deseret Book Company. Samples are avaiable: https://soundcloud.com/smtnrecords/sets/horizons-kierre-lewis-sample-album"

Downtown
Luis Alfaro
Downtown
Label: New Alliance Records
Release Date: 1/31/1994
Review by: James E.. - 6/2/2022 2:22 PM


"This is a spoken word CD, sometimes miscategorized as a comedy disc. There are parts that contain humor, but this is more accurately a heartfelt narrative of the Hispanic-American experience in inner Los Angeles -- performance art, really. Hard to find now on CD, a few copies circulate on occasion on cassette."

VARIOUS - GROOVE ME (1 CD)
VARIOUS - GROOVE ME (1 CD)
Label: CD
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 5/29/2022 12:54 PM


"Track List - Rhino 1 Sam & Dave– Soul Man 2:35 2 Wilson Pickett– Mustang Sally 3:03 3 Eddie Floyd– Knock on Wood 2:55 4 Aretha Franklin– Respect 2:26 5 Otis Redding– Satisfaction 2:45 6 Clarence Carter– Snatching it Back 2:39 7 Arthur Conley– Rome (Wasn't Built In A Day) 2:08 8 Otis Clay– Pouring Water On A Drowning Man 2:38 9 Darrell Banks– The Love Of My Woman 2:51 10 The Meters– Cissy Strut 3:04 11 Carla Thomas– B-A-B-Y 2:48 12 King Floyd– Groove Me 2:58 13 Sam & Dave– I Thank You 2:50 14 Aretha Franklin– Rock Steady 3:12 15 Otis Redding– Hard To Handle 2:18 16 Clarence Carter– Slip Away 2:40 17 Wilson Pickett– Everybody Needs Somebody To Love 2:19"

Arms From the Sea - The Music
Rich Shapero, Orenda Fink
Arms From the Sea - The Music
Label: Rich Shapero
Review by: Theresa D. (Mosky). - 5/28/2022 3:30 PM


"from Amazon 5.0 out of 5 stars DREAMLIKE MUSIC THAT ACCOMPANIES THE BOOK BY THE SAME TITLE ! ! ! Reviewed in the United States on March 7, 2018 GREAT alternative music CD, especially if you have read Rich Shapero's book, titled "ARMS From the SEA-A Novel" - that's why this CD has been titled:ARMS from the SEA-The Music". Especially makes great background music, if you are reading, studying or just feeling like grooving to the music. I presume that Rich Shapero has done the music with Orenda Fink singing the songs - both very talented and musical. The more often you play this CD, the better it gets ! ! !"

Tales From the Grand Bazaar
Bombay Dub Orchestra
Tales From the Grand Bazaar
Label: Six Degrees
Release Date: 10/8/2013
Review by: Rajeev P. (RockinRaju). - 5/25/2022 4:02 PM


"If you like complex orchestral numbers that lean on Indian instruments and (more traditional) influences, you might enjoy this album. If you like music that intrigues but doesn't require you to fixate on, this might be an album you will enjoy. Fans of Anoushka Shankar, Ali Akbar Khan, Jai Uttal, Krishna Das etc might also enjoy this....If this electronica/orchestral project of composers Garry Hughes and Andrew T. Mackay catches your fancy, they have other albums to try as well. Recommended."

80s Hard Rock
80s Hard Rock
80s Hard Rock
Original Release Date: 1/1/2013
Release Date: 1/1/2013
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 5/19/2022 3:49 PM


"Track List - Rhino 1. Poison – Nothin' But A Good Time 2. Twisted Sister– We're Not Gonna Take It 3. David Lee Roth– Yankee Rose 4. Warrant– Cherry Pie 5. Winger– Seventeen 6. Ratt– Round And Round 7. Autograph – Turn Up The Radio 8. Skid Row– 18 & Life 9. Cinderella – Nobody's Fool 10. Kix – Don't Close Your Eyes 11. Vixen – Edge Of A Broken Heart 12. Dokken– In My Dreams 13. Enuff Z'Nuff– New Thing 14. L.A. Guns– Never Enough 15. Lita Ford– Kiss Me Deadly 16. Quiet Riot– Cum On Feel The Noize"

Sounds of the Eighties - 1984
Various Artists
Sounds of the Eighties - 1984
Label: Time Life Music
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 5/19/2022 3:12 PM


"Original artwork should fold out to 9x12. If you've got the original discs (not the bootlegs floating around here) this is a good series."

Sounds of the Eighties: 1986
Various Artists, Stevie Nicks, Timbuk 3, Survivor, Falco, Bananarama, Genesis, Dire Straits, Pretenders, Wang Chung
Sounds of the Eighties: 1986
Label: TIME LIFE
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 5/19/2022 3:12 PM


"Original artwork should fold out to 9x12. If you've got the original discs (not the bootlegs floating around here) this is a good series."

Time-Life: Sounds Of The Eighties [80'S] - 1983
The Fixx, Stray Cats, Dexy's Midnight Runners, Thomas Dolby, David Bowie, Culture Club, Marvin Gaye, Michael Sembello, Naked Eyes, Madness, Toto, Greg Kihn Band,The Kinks, Kajagoogoo, Spandau Ballet Quiet Riot
Time-Life: Sounds Of The Eighties [80'S] - 1983
Label: TIME LIFE
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 5/19/2022 3:08 PM


"Original artwork should fold out to 9x12. If you've got the original discs (not the bootlegs floating around here) this is a good series."

International Wind-Breaking Contest
various radio personalities
International Wind-Breaking Contest
Review by: Tony H.. - 5/17/2022 4:41 PM


"No, just NO!!! I feel like my collection will have jumped the shark if I bought this."

The Best of Eric Clapton: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection (Eco-Friendly Packaging)
Eric Clapton
The Best of Eric Clapton: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection (Eco-Friendly Packaging)
Label: Polydor / Umgd
Original Release Date: 1/30/2007
Release Date: 1/30/2007
Review by: Ivan M. (2112PowerWindows). - 5/12/2022 12:55 PM


"Clapton is God. Enough said."

The Best of Eric Clapton: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection (Eco-Friendly Packaging)
Eric Clapton
The Best of Eric Clapton: 20th Century Masters - The Millennium Collection (Eco-Friendly Packaging)
Label: Polydor / Umgd
Original Release Date: 1/30/2007
Release Date: 1/30/2007
Review by: Adam B. (Cavemanmusic). - 5/10/2022 10:03 PM


"I never got this “guitar god”. I don’t play guitar so that doesn’t help. Believe me I tried over the years, being exposed in high school and college. This collection only underlines my problems with this dude. He writes some average pop songs and makes blues and R&B sound soulless. He’s also a rascist so that doesn’t help either. Check out JJ Cale for a better version of this kind of stuff."

Sun Structures
Temples
Sun Structures
Label: Fat Possum Records
Release Date: 2/11/2014
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 5/9/2022 6:40 PM


"Psychedelia now! From the first song you are invited along on a modern rock (20teen) trip through Alice's looking glass. While sounding decidedly 60s psychedelic, there's no one influence I can put the finger on. It's their own version of a new paisley underground."

Lullabies From the Axis of Evil
Various Artists
Lullabies From the Axis of Evil
Label: Valley
Release Date: 10/26/2004
Review by: James E.. - 5/4/2022 2:58 PM


"This edition includes a bonus cut (#11, "Garibe - Watching Over Me" -- which is a duet between Halla Bassam, Iraq, and Rickie Lee Jones, USA) -- not available on the original gatefold CD. An astounding array of world class vocalists contribute to this incredibly peaceful disc, including Eddi Reader (Scotland), Anisette (Denmark), Nina Hagen (Germany), Lila Downs (Mexico), Mahsa and Marjan Vahdat (Iran), Sarah Jane Morris (UK), Kari Bremnes (Norway), Sevara Nazarkhsan (Uzbekstan), and Eva Dahlgren (Sweden)."

At Her Very Best
Nana Mouskouri
At Her Very Best
Label: Philips
Release Date: 5/22/2001
Review by: Jim M.. - 4/29/2022 5:52 AM


"Normal Mouskouri sings wonderful, and maybe she does this time, but the selection of music leaves something to be desired. I much prefer some of her other albums."

Happy Trails: The Roy Rogers Collection, 1937-1990
Roy Rogers
Happy Trails: The Roy Rogers Collection, 1937-1990
Label: Rhino / Wea
Original Release Date: 5/18/1999
Release Date: 5/18/1999
Review by: Susan M.. - 4/25/2022 8:22 AM


"Really like the cd and love the music also"

Kids Sing Bluegrass Gospel Volume 3
Kids Sing
Kids Sing Bluegrass Gospel Volume 3
Review by: Chloe G.. - 4/21/2022 11:54 AM


"Introduce Christian kids to hymns AND the bluegrass style."

Why Does Gray Matter?
Roger Day
Why Does Gray Matter?
Label: Roger Day Productions, LLC
Release Date: 1/1/2010
Review by: Chloe G.. - 4/21/2022 11:53 AM


"Awesome, brainy songs for kids! Bill Nye meets Shel Silverstein on Schoolhouse Rocks!"