Newest CD/Album Reviews

Zombie EP
The Devil Wears Prada
Zombie EP
Label: Ferret Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2010
Re-Release Date: 8/24/2010
Review by: Jay N. (AtTheGates). - 6/29/2020 3:56 PM


"A good metalcore EP. The sound is clear and the zombie theme is cool. I almost wish it was an LP"

Autumn Effect
10 Years
Autumn Effect
Label: Republic
Original Release Date: 1/1/2005
Re-Release Date: 8/16/2005
Review by: Brooke M.. - 6/26/2020 4:05 AM


"Great album!! Such a good band!!"

Simple Sincerity [Music CD]
Unknown
Simple Sincerity [Music CD]
Review by: Lisa M. (dexterina). - 6/23/2020 3:26 PM


"Artist: Radish (Ben Kweller's group before he went solo)"

Simple Sincerity
Simple Sincerity
Review by: Lisa M. (dexterina). - 6/23/2020 3:24 PM


"Just an FYI: The artist on this CD is Radish, earlier music from Ben Kweller."

Wikked Lil Grrrls
Esthero
Wikked Lil Grrrls
Label: Reprise / Wea
Release Date: 6/28/2005
Review by: Mark T. (BranddX). - 6/17/2020 10:33 AM


"Surprisingly good pop music with great instrumentation and wonderful vocals! Someone should pick this up!"

New Orleans Moon
Ray Stevens
New Orleans Moon
Label: Clyde Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 7/10/2007
Review by: Adam M. (redbaronredsoxfan). - 6/2/2020 8:14 PM


"interesting album from the singer who Recorded hits like Ahab The Arab and The Mississippi Squirrel Revival. Love the cover of Hank Williams Jambalaya (On The Bayou). check it out!"

Rotations
Mwvm
Rotations
Label: Silber
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 10/2/2007
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 5/12/2020 5:22 PM


""Post-rock and indie ambient from mwvm. RILY Stars of the Life, Eluvium, Aarktica. Key tracks: (1) Context. Where? (4) Negative Pole (7) Oratory Clout." from 2007 on Silber Records."

Step Into Liquid
Various Artists
Step Into Liquid
Label: Surfdog Records Ada
Release Date: 4/20/2004
Review by: Michael W.. - 5/8/2020 2:22 PM


"I know this is crazy late, but the Seize the Day song is by Smashtrax. Super helpful to know 13 years after the movie came out!"

Sounds of the Seventies 1971
Various
Sounds of the Seventies 1971
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 5/7/2020 4:46 PM


"Track Listing: 1. What's Going On? - Marvin Gaye 2. Eighteen - Alice Cooper 3. Tired of Being Alone - Al Green 4. (I Know) I'm Losing You - Rod Stewart 5. How can You Mend a Broken Heart? - The Bee Gees 6. Oye Como Va - Santana 7. Wild Night - Van Morrison 8. Just My Imagination (Running Away with Me) - The Temptations 9. Love the One You're With - Stephen Stills 10. Your Song - Elton John 11. Ain't No Sunshine - Bill Withers 12. Proud Mary - Ike and Tina Turner 13. You've got a Friend - James Taylor 14. Maggie May - Rod Stewart"

Badfinger
Badfinger
Badfinger
Label: Eclipse Music Group
Release Date: 10/27/1997
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 5/3/2020 3:40 PM


"This is a Joey Molland album. The actual title should be "Joey Molland sings Badfinger." There's nothing wrong with this album, just the fact that it's misrepresented as a Badfinger group effort when Joey is the only original member on it. If you take it in that spirit it's not all that bad. Joey does a pretty good job of only slightly reimagining his band's old repertoire. I would have to say the worst thing about this is the drum sound, which makes it sound of the time in which it's recorded. This can be a little distracting. If you have the original Badfinger recordings and want more music this isn't such a bad way to go, but I wouldn't go here first. A Joey Molland album in all but name. BTW, there are two or three other versions of the same album out there. Buyer beware."

Best Of Badfinger 1994: featuring Joey Molland
Badfinger
Best Of Badfinger 1994: featuring Joey Molland
Label: Prime Cuts
Original Release Date: 5/8/1997
Re-Release Date: 1/21/1997
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 5/3/2020 3:39 PM


"This is a Joey Molland album. The actual title should be "Joey Molland sings Badfinger." There's nothing wrong with this album, just the fact that it's misrepresented as a Badfinger group effort when Joey is the only original member on it. If you take it in that spirit it's not all that bad. Joey does a pretty good job of only slightly reimagining his band's old repertoire. I would have to say the worst thing about this is the drum sound, which makes it sound of the time in which it's recorded. This can be a little distracting. If you have the original Badfinger recordings and want more music this isn't such a bad way to go, but I wouldn't go here first. A Joey Molland album in all but name. BTW, there are two or three other versions of the same album out there. Buyer beware."

The Best of Badfinger Featuring Joey Molland Recorded in 1994
Badfinger
The Best of Badfinger Featuring Joey Molland Recorded in 1994
Label: Excelsior
Original Release Date: 1/1/1994
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 5/3/2020 3:38 PM


"This is a Joey Molland album. The actual title should be "Joey Molland sings Badfinger." There's nothing wrong with this album, just the fact that it's misrepresented as a Badfinger group effort when Joey is the only original member on it. If you take it in that spirit it's not all that bad. Joey does a pretty good job of only slightly reimagining his band's old repertoire. I would have to say the worst thing about this is the drum sound, which makes it sound of the time in which it's recorded. This can be a little distracting. If you have the original Badfinger recordings and want more music this isn't such a bad way to go, but I wouldn't go here first. A Joey Molland album in all but name. BTW, there are two or three other versions of the same album out there. Buyer beware."

Badfinger: Come & Get It
Badfinger
Badfinger: Come & Get It
Label: Cedar
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 5/3/2020 3:30 PM


"This is a Joey Molland album. The actual title should be "Joey Molland sings Badfinger." There's nothing wrong with this album, just the fact that it's misrepresented as a Badfinger group effort when Joey is the only original member on it. If you take it in that spirit it's not all that bad. Joey does a pretty good job of only slightly reimagining his band's old repertoire. I would have to say the worst thing about this is the drum sound, which makes it sound of the time in which it's recorded. This can be a little distracting. If you have the original Badfinger recordings and want more music this isn't such a bad way to go, but I wouldn't go here first. A Joey Molland album in all but name. BTW, there are two or three other versions of the same album out there. Buyer beware."

Boxcar Willie: King of the Hoboes Volume 2
Boxcar Willie
Boxcar Willie: King of the Hoboes Volume 2
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 5/1/2020 12:14 PM


"The second disk of a 2 cd set, 1-Lonesome Whistle 2:58 2 The day Elvis Died 2:23 3 Wabash Cannonball 3:29 4 Wreck of the old 97 2:26 5 You are my sunshine 3:05 6 Your Cheatin Heart 3:30 7 Boxcar Blues 3:22 8 Country Music Nightmare 2:35 9 Daddy was a Railroad man 1:48 10 Freight Train Blues 2:24"

Get Ready & More Hits
Rare Earth, Vanilla Fudge
Get Ready & More Hits
Label: Hitbox
Release Date: 7/12/2005
Review by: Daniel T. (djtal). - 4/26/2020 5:02 PM


"Re-recrdings, 40 years later."

It's Not the Size That Counts
Various Artists
It's Not the Size That Counts
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 1/11/1994
Review by: Robert P. (Boberty). - 4/23/2020 5:12 PM


"IRS Artists! 1 Dada: Here Today, Gone Tomorrow 2. Kirsty MacColl: titanic Days 3. Over the Rhine: Jacksie 4. the Point: State of Mind 5. Carter the Unstoppable Sex Machine: Lenny and Terence 6. Middleman Thousand Tiny Wishes 7. Vinx: What's Come Over Me 8. Ozric Tentacles 9. Sahotas: hass Hogia 10. Single Gun Theory: Surrender 11.Ofunwa: It All Begins Here 12. William Orbit: Water From a Vine Leaf 13. Concrete Blonde: Everybody Knows 14. Pato Banton & Ranking Roger: bubbling Hot 15. English Beat: Tears of A Clown"

Aim for the Heart
Remingtons
Aim for the Heart
Label: Bna Entertainment
Release Date: 4/6/1993
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 4/22/2020 9:41 PM


"Nashville Bread My interest in these guys is Jimmy Griffin. You know, the guy from Bread. He was the rockier half with Robb Royer. This album does feature one Bread song by the other half, Everything I Own (David Gates). A nod perhaps. This Nashville trio is pretty light, but I don't mind. Sounds a bit like Poco, Eagles, Pure Prairie League with a bit less rock. The harmonies are gorgeous."

Elvis Country
Elvis Presley
Elvis Country
Label: Bmg / Elvis
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 2/28/2006
Review by: Adam M. (redbaronredsoxfan). - 4/22/2020 5:34 PM


"Great Elvis country compilation! Among the highlights are the big hit Kentucky Rain, a cover of Hank Williams I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry, Snowbird(not found on many compilations), Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain and many others. Great addition to any Elvis or country collection."

Motown
Michael McDonald
Motown
Label: Motown
Original Release Date: 1/1/2003
Re-Release Date: 6/24/2003
Review by: Pat B.. - 4/22/2020 1:14 PM


"It's nice that the songwriters or their heirs receive royalties on the cover of these songs. Most tracks begin well, build to some creative interpretation, and employ McDonald's raspy respect for the song. However, McDonald struggles with ending the tracks. Each song is 3 to 60 seconds too long, as he either drifts off into weakness or tries hard to gin up some intense Motown call and response, without success. Toward the end of most tracks, the backup singers carry the weight, and given more prominence, that might have worked. I found myself wanting him to stop singing altogether and let his backup singers take over. Or simply end the performance earlier."

Elvis At The Hayride
Elvis Presley
Elvis At The Hayride
Label: LHI (Louisiana Hayride, Inc.)
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 9/18/2007
Review by: Adam M. (redbaronredsoxfan). - 4/20/2020 10:44 AM


"good 2 cd set of Elvis on The Hayride. Has booklet, not sure what other reviewer means by no book probably a limited special edition or just a book itself. But anyways if you wanna hear early Elvis live, this is a great place to start. The Louisiana Hayride was known as "The Cradle Of The Stars.""

In the Deep Hearts Core
Kiltartan Road
In the Deep Hearts Core
Label: M S Distributing Co.
Release Date: 7/11/1995
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 4/18/2020 11:49 AM


"This is a lovely and intelligent set of songs created from the poetry of W.B. Yeats. Clearly a labor of love, with a lilt of Ireland in the arrangements. The voices are clearly classically trained and very, very beautiful with more restraint and gentleness than "show" to the performances. Besides the songs, there are a few spoken-word readings/stories and instrumentals here, also, including one lovely "guitar interlude" on the Air "The Galway Plains". Memorable."

The Best of DEEP PURPLE
Deep Purple
The Best of DEEP PURPLE
Label: Creative Sounds Ltd.
Release Date: 8/5/1991
Review by: Daniel T. (djtal). - 4/15/2020 1:55 PM


"This "Best of" collection includes tracks from just their first three albums. That was when they were trying for a more Prog Rock sound, and before many people had heard of them. I have those three albums, and I like them a lot for what they are. The music is rather different from their later hits, and less polished. This collection does include their first big hit Hush, and another one you may have heard, Kentucky Woman (both are covers). Since I haven't heard this collection yet (and it's been awhile since I heard those albums), I can't say whether I think this is the best of the first three albums or not. But if you haven't heard them, this should be a good way to get acquainted."

America - History: Greatest Hits
America
America - History: Greatest Hits
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Mark T. (BranddX). - 4/11/2020 5:17 PM


"Goods cd to listened to."

Lush Moods
Jackie Gleason
Lush Moods
Label: PAIR
Release Date: 10/11/1991
Review by: Kathleen R. (Katchie). - 4/9/2020 9:10 PM


"I ENJOYED GLEASON'S LABEL THAT HE PUT TOGETHER, IT IS VERY SOOTHING AND LIKE THE NAME LUSH. WE LISTEN TO THE INSTRUMENTAL CHANNEL ON OUR TV AND FIND HIS SELECTIONS TO BE VERY ROMANTIC."

Tina Turner Greatest Hits 1994
Tina Turner
Tina Turner Greatest Hits 1994
Label: Cema Special Markets
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 3/21/2020 5:32 PM


"Track List 1. The Best 2. Typical Male 3. What's Love Got To Do With It 4. Better Be Good To Me 5. I Don't Wanna Fight 6. Nutbush City Limits 7. Steamy Windows 8. Let's Stay Together 9. We Don't Need Another Hero 10. Private Dancer"