Newest CD/Album Reviews

Precious Memories
Alan Jackson
Precious Memories
Label: Arista
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 2/28/2006
Review by: Angela C.. - 7/12/2019 8:15 AM


"This is a fantastic compilation of the best traditional hymns. If you love old country gospel, this CD is for you!"

Neptunes Presents: Clones (Clean) (Bns DVD)
Neptunes
Neptunes Presents: Clones (Clean) (Bns DVD)
Label: Startrak
Release Date: 8/19/2003
Review by: Jack D.. - 7/10/2019 12:15 PM


"The Neptunes (producer duo Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo) produced a ton of your favorite songs in the early 2000's. "Drop It Like It's Hot", "Milkshake", highlights from the catalogues of Jay-Z, Ludacris, Busta Rhymes, and N*E*R*D. Here, they pull together a sampling of their production across the gamut of artists they were working with in 2003 - highlights include cuts from Busta Rhymes, Ice-T's Clipse, and Snoop Dogg, along with great tracks from Pharrell himself and the duo in their guise as N*E*R*D. No fan or DJ of early 2000's hip hop and Top 40 should leave this stone unturned - pick it up today!"

Schubert Dip
Emf
Schubert Dip
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 5/14/1991
Review by: Jack D.. - 7/10/2019 12:09 PM


"You know "Unbelievable", but the other jams here are just as insanely creative, high-energy, and bursting at the seams. Check it out for a great taste of late-80's/early-90's dancefloor candy-coated popcorn."

Jagged Little Pill
Alanis Morissette
Jagged Little Pill
Label: Maverick
Original Release Date: 6/13/1995
Release Date: 6/13/1995
Review by: Jack D.. - 7/10/2019 12:08 PM


"Hard to overestimate the importance of Alanis Morissette's work on the rest of the alternative rock of the 90's and 00's! You can hear the hard-edged pop sensibilities from here from pop superstars like Avril Lavigne to alternative icons like Haley Williams of Paramore, not to mention underground heroes like Liz Phair. Track after track of emotional grooves and jams, that still aren't dated!"

Madd: Honor Them All
Various Artists
Madd: Honor Them All
Label: Windham Hill Records
Release Date: 4/28/1998
Review by: Mary B. (JavaJuice). - 7/8/2019 2:03 PM


"Put aside that this cd was created to fund MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) which I have nothing against as many national non-profits sell cd's to make money. Overall, I'm not in love with this compilation, there are a couple of songs that I have knew from before, but mostly I'm meh about most of the songs/artists that were chosen. Most of the songs didn't 'grab' me so I probably won't be listening to it again any time soon."

Southern Rock Vol. 1
Various Artists
Southern Rock Vol. 1
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 7/3/2019 5:43 PM


"1 – Molly Hatchet Flirtin’ With Disaster 2 – The Ozark Mountain Daredevils If You Want To Get To Heaven 3 – The Outlaws* There Goes Another Love Song 4 – Lynyrd Skynyrd Free Bird 5 – Atlanta Rhythm Section I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonigh 6 – The Allman Brothers Band One Way Out 7 – 38 Special (2) Rockin’ Into The Night 8 – The Marshall Tucker Band Can’t See You 9 – Blackfoot (3) Train Train 10 – Pure Prairie League Two Lane Highway 11 – Black Oak Arkansas Jim Dandy 12 – Elvin Bishop Travelin’ Shoes"

Warrior's Dance
Prodigy
Warrior's Dance
Release Date: 5/12/2009
Review by: Michael L. (Popmeister). - 7/2/2019 3:53 PM


"1. Warrior's Dance (edit) 2. Warrior's Dance (original) 3. Warrior's Dance (South Central remix) 4. Warrior's Dance (Benga remix) 5. Warrior's Dance (Kicks Like A Mule remix)"

Mardi Gras Party Time
Various Artists
Mardi Gras Party Time
Label: K-Tel
Release Date: 2/11/1997
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 7/2/2019 2:11 PM


"Of the 6 out of 10 that I know, they are the original versions. Not sure about the other 4."

I Started Out As a Child
Bill Cosby
I Started Out As a Child
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 4/28/1998
Review by: Tony H.. - 6/30/2019 3:30 PM


"Ew, just ew."

Eddie Rabbitt - Greatest Hits
Eddie Rabbitt
Eddie Rabbitt - Greatest Hits
Label: EMI Special Products
Release Date: 6/16/1995
Review by: Matt B.. - 6/25/2019 1:39 PM


"Does not include "I Love A Rainy Night""

Teaser & Firecat
Cat Stevens
Teaser & Firecat
Label: A&M
Original Release Date: 1/1/1994
Re-Release Date: 6/14/1994
Review by: Dwight M. (Dewey). - 6/21/2019 9:39 AM


"Cat Stevens created some of the best albums/CD's of the 70's. "Teaser & Firecat" is one of those remarkable productions. He has quite a few "hits" on this particular CD, but what is amazing is that even the non-hit material is quality stuff. I have Cat's double CD "Gold", and five of the songs on "Teaser" are on the "Gold" CD. I had to get "T&F" because the other five remaining songs are, IMHO, just as good as the legit hits. Dewey"

Mary Hopkin  17 Greatest Hits
Mary Hopkin
Mary Hopkin 17 Greatest Hits
Label: Landy
Release Date: 7/16/2013
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 6/19/2019 9:29 PM


"I don't know if these are the original recordings from the Apple Records hits package Those Were The Days, but the track listing is the same. Album Tracks 1. Those Were the Days 2. Goodbye 3. Temma Harbour 4. Think About Your Children 5. Knock Knock Who's There 6. Que Sera Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be) 7. Lontano Degli Occhi 8. Sparrow 9. Heritage 10. The Fields of St. Etienne 11. Jefferson 12. Let My Name Be Sorrow 13. Kew Gardens 14. When I Am Old One Day 15. Silver Birch and Weeping Willow 16. Streets of London 17. Water, Paper & Clay"

Ego
Ego
Review by: Steve P. (zombiewarrior). - 6/15/2019 3:01 PM


"Band : TSPC Title : Ego Release Date : 1995 Label : BMG Int./ITI Style : groove metal This is the album titled 'Ego' by groove metal band TSPC. Imagine a French Canadian version of Pantera and you get what style these 2 ladies and 3 gentlemen were playing. Two of the 17 songs were even mixed by Vinnie Paul himself. Rarely heard or even known outside of the province of Quebec, I would recommend you to check out their regional commercial success 'Connaitre La Suite' on youtube!"

80s Favorites
Various Artists
80s Favorites
Label: Sonoma
Release Date: 9/28/2010
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 6/13/2019 5:27 PM


"These are all remakes. 3 are live (Night Ranger, Lita Ford (without Ozzy), and Howard Jones. Most are pretty close to the original. The Starship is missing Grace Slick trading verses with Mickey Thomas, so it seems really off. We really didn't need 2 Motels songs, imho, but whatever. Am I sorry I ordered? No. I love the Night Ranger live version(he calls out Japan, but it's not the same version as their live in Japan CD), and I actually really like Close My Eyes without Ozzy. Will I keep it, nah, but it was an interesting listen. Far more listenable than 50s-70s artists re-recordings."

Low In High School
Morrissey
Low In High School
Label: BMG Rights Management (UK) Ltd
Release Date: 11/17/2017
Review by: Giselle G.. - 6/13/2019 1:07 PM


"A very solid Morrissey album. Musically diverse, with songs ranging from hard rock to operatic."

Real Blues Brothers
Various Artists
Real Blues Brothers
Label: Dcc Compact Classics
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 6/3/2019 1:34 PM


"A stand by guarantee of top real blues. No pretend , just wise voices noting realities with guitar or piano and all the things a man will do to impress a gal....treat yourself"

Trance Atlantic Communication 1
Various Artists
Trance Atlantic Communication 1
Label: City of Angels
Original Release Date: 1/1/2000
Re-Release Date: 3/6/2001
Review by: Roger L. (lonrog). - 5/30/2019 6:54 AM


"This is an excellent cd."

Earthsongs
Secret Garden
Earthsongs
Label: Decca
Release Date: 3/8/2005
Review by: Lucille C.. - 5/26/2019 6:02 PM


"I love all the selections on this cd. The music is very relaxing and haunting."

Becoming
Kevin Kastning, Sandor Szabo, Balazs Major, None
Becoming
Label: CD Baby
Release Date: 8/4/2016
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 5/24/2019 9:20 PM


"Exploratory performances by true guitar sky-voyager Kevin Kastning of the multi-hybrid, strange and many-stringed variant-guitars. Here Kastning teams up with fellow alchemists Sandor Szabo and Balazc Major. Highly imaginative playing."

Eleven Rooms
Kevin Kastning & Mark Wingfield
Eleven Rooms
Label: CD Baby
Release Date: 10/24/2016
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 5/24/2019 9:15 PM


"Guitar explorations that are not afraid of the wild blue yonder. Get to know true guitar sky-voyager Kevin Kastning, whose instruments include 36-string Double Contraguitar, 30-string Contra-Alto guitar and 12-string Soprano guitar. Kastning is in good company, having recorded with Mike Wingfield and contemporary guitar improvisation adventurers Chris Stamey and Kurt Ross. Highly interesting."

Bands of the 30's
Various Artists
Bands of the 30's
Label: Intersound Records
Release Date: 2/20/1996
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 5/24/2019 9:02 PM


"Such an excellent gathering of recordings from the era. Yes, of course Cab Calloway with Minnie the Moocher, and of course a bit of early Benny Goodman...but you have to love "Shep Fields And His Rippling Rhythm" and the Xavier Cugat Orchestra next to a very young Paul Whiteman!.... a really fun disc. Track Listings 1. Casa Loma Stomp - Glen Gray And The Casa Loma Orch 2. Minnie The Moocher (The Ho De Ho Song) - The Cab Calloway Orch 3. Dream A Little Dream Of Me - The Ozzie Nelson Orch 4. Sugar Blues - The Clyde McCoy Orch 5. It's Only A Paper Moon - The Paul Whiteman Orch 6. Blue Moon - The Ray Noble Orch 7. St. Louis Blues - Guy Lombardo And His Royal Canadians 8. My Shawl (Ombo) - The Xavier Cugat Orch 9. Rippling Rhythm - Shep Fields And His Rippling Rhythm 10. Heartaches - The Ted Weems Orch 11. I'm Gettin' Sentimental Over You - The Tommy Dorsey Orch 12. My Reverie - The Larry Clinton Orch 13. Got A Date With An Angel - The Hal Kemp Orch 14. What's New? - The Bob Crosby Orch 15. Stompin' At The Savoy - The Benny Goodman Orch"

In Hi-Fi
Sarah Vaughan
In Hi-Fi
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
Release Date: 4/29/1997
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 5/22/2019 7:04 AM


""East of the Sun (and West of the Moon)" (Brooks Bowman) – 3:06 "Nice Work If You Can Get It" (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 2:35 "Pinky" (Loesser, Alfred Newman) – 2:41 "The Nearness of You" (Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington) – 3:19 "Come Rain or Come Shine" (Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer) – 3:23 "Mean to Me" – 2:49 [alternate version - not the same version that was on the 1950 LP] "It Might as Well Be Spring" (Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers) – 3:11 "Can't Get Out of This Mood" (Frank Loesser, Jimmy McHugh) – 2:49 "Spring Will Be a Little Late This Year" (Gordon, Loesser, Revel) – 2:40 "Ooh, What 'Cha Doin' to Me" (Alvin Fields, Theodis Rogers) – 1:54 "Goodnight My Love" (Mack Gordon, Harry Revel) – 3:37 "Ain't Misbehavin'" (Harry Brooks, Andy Razaf, Fats Waller) – 2:59"

Birth Rock N Roll
Birth Rock N Roll
Birth Rock N Roll
Label: Indie Europe/Zoom
Release Date: 9/4/2007
Review by: Mark S.. - 5/20/2019 8:39 PM


"Ask ten people to name the first rock & roll song and you're likely to receive ten different answers. Entire books have been written on the subject, and no consensus has ever been reached. Nor can one: first, you'd have to settle on a definition of rock & roll, and that in itself would spark a whole new set of disagreements. Nonetheless, it's a given that the increasing encroachment of primarily black Southern blues and white country music upon each other between the 1920s and the early '50s ultimately resulted in the music that came to be called rock & roll. This three-CD box set from Britain, The Birth of Rock 'n' Roll, comes no closer than any other collection in providing a definitive answer -- and its lack of liner notes may be an indication that the compilers didn't even want to try. Instead, the music is left to speak for itself -- each of these 60 primal American recordings deserves its own wing in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. The first disc, "Blues 'n' Boogie," reaches into the pre-R&B era of boogie-woogie piano players (Albert Ammons), jump blues (Louis Jordan), and the first stirrings of real R&B (Joe Liggins, Roy Brown, Big Joe Turner) to set the scene. Some of the earliest tracks recognizable as rock & roll (Fats Domino's "The Fat Man," Lloyd Price's "Lawdy Miss Clawdy," Bo Diddley's anthem to himself) close out the disc and the thread is picked up at the top of disc two, "Southern Roots." Again, the R&B side of the equation is weighted heavily here, with Ike Turner's earth-moving "Rocket 88" leading things off, followed directly by Arthur Crudup's "That's All Right Mama," one of the two songs Elvis Presley covered for his first Sun Records single (the other, Bill Monroe's "Blue Moon of Kentucky," follows soon). With the exception of the Monroe bluegrass classic, only a brief midsection of the disc is given over to the country music that contributed so much to the basis of rock & roll: tracks from Hank Williams and Hank Snow, Ernest Tubb and Lefty Frizzell. Those aren't nearly enough to make the case that country music was half of the rock & roll soup, but it's hard to quibble when the remainder of the second disc is loaded with such monumental recordings as LaVern Baker's "Tweedle-Dee," Hank Ballard & the Midnighters "Work with Me, Annie," its answer song "Roll with Me, Henry," by Etta James, as well as cornerstone hits by Ray Charles, Ruth Brown, and Little Richard. The third disc in the set is assigned entirely to doo wop. That's a questionable decision on some levels, as vocal group recordings, although undoubtedly vital to the picture, surely don't require a complete disc when it's at the expense of excluding such pioneers as Jerry Lee Lewis, Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers, James Brown, and Elvis himself (to be fair, all were presumably omitted due to licensing restrictions). Still, it's hard to argue with a 20-song CD that manages to pack in such durable gems as Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers' "Why Do Fools Fall in Love?," the Chords' "Sh-Boom," the El Dorados' "At My Front Door," the Dominoes' "Sixty Minute Man," and the Cadillacs' "Speedoo." All collected on the disc titled "On the Corner," they represent the D.I.Y. spirit of early rock & roll and serve as a reminder that five guys harmonizing in a hallway could make music that would still thrill a half-century later -- and that one of the great artistic forces of the past century truly did have a humble beginning. ~ Jeff Tamarkin, Rovi"

Smoke Ring for My Halo
Kurt Vile
Smoke Ring for My Halo
Label: Matador Records
Release Date: 11/8/2011
Review by: Adam B. (Cavemanmusic). - 5/19/2019 9:37 AM


"Kurt Vile is slowly making a niche for himself in the indie rock scene and this is the album that cemented his arrival as such. A long haired slacker whose music kind of washes over you when you dont realize its happening. His slow burn, take my damn time approach can prove quite cloying to some but those whom invest the time will benefit. This is equal parts time alone with headphones or end of the party music. Vile employs both acoustics and an almost twangy soft sounding electric guitar throughout the process. Having the benefit of looking back at this release as Vile now has more of a discography, I find Halo to be his masterpiece."

Best of Hits (Dance) Volume One
Various Artists
Best of Hits (Dance) Volume One
Label: Robbins Ent. Llc
Release Date: 5/4/2004
Review by: Roger L. (lonrog). - 5/16/2019 9:41 AM


"Great music. Highly recommended."