Newest CD/Album Reviews

Beautiful
Ryan Farish
Beautiful
Label: Neurodisc
Release Date: 4/20/2004
Review by: Colonel S.. - 11/30/2020 10:42 AM


"Surprisingly impressive. Recommended if you like jazz, new wave, electronic, and world sort of blended together. My first exposure to Farish and I was very please that I took a flyer on this album. Now to go find some more of his CDs!"

All That You Can't Leave Behind
U2
All That You Can't Leave Behind
Label: Interscope Records
Original Release Date: 10/31/2000
Release Date: 10/31/2000
Review by: Jay N. (AtTheGates). - 11/29/2020 7:45 AM


"I love the album. My favorite song is "Kite"."

Neptunes Presents: Clones (Clean) (Bns DVD)
Neptunes
Neptunes Presents: Clones (Clean) (Bns DVD)
Label: Startrak
Release Date: 8/19/2003
Review by: Jermaine P.. - 11/25/2020 1:17 AM


"this disc touches nearly every genre! made for lovers of MUSIC."

Hi-Five
Hi-Five
Hi-Five
Label: Jive
Release Date: 9/25/1990
Review by: Jermaine P.. - 11/25/2020 1:13 AM


"This disc took me back. enjoyed it thoroughly."

Outlander: Original Television Soundtrack, Vol. 2
Bear McCreary
Outlander: Original Television Soundtrack, Vol. 2
Label: Madison Gate Records
Release Date: 9/25/2015
Review by: Kimiko S.. - 11/23/2020 10:36 AM


"Excellent soundtrack!"

Billy Breathes
Phish
Billy Breathes
Label: Elektra / Wea
Original Release Date: 10/15/1996
Release Date: 10/15/1996
Review by: Joshua B. (littleborge). - 11/23/2020 10:06 AM


"One of the better Phish studio releases is contained within this disc. It is clearly a settling down of the more wacky songwriting on the first few releases and is defined by the clean production from Steve Lillywhite (who also produced fellow H.O.R.D.E. tour dudes Dave Matthews Band). This is less a band of merry pranksters and more a radio-friendly jam band a la American Beauty...with radio-friendly song lengths. And to that end, if I may editorialize for a moment, I don't "get" live Dead and that is my cross to bear. Live Phish is more relatable as a unique and enjoyable undertaking. And I understand there's a whole "thing" with the live experience for Jerry and Trey. But if I'm not at the show then it probably doesn't make sense to listen to the show unless it's a straight-up nostalgia trip. So Dick's Picks #4,321 and Slip Stitch and Pass are going to take a backseat to American Beauty and Billy Breathes every time for me. It's like Junie Jones said to Grandpa Miller, "You have five dollars. I need five dollars. BOOM! Do the math!""

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
Howard Shore, Enya
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring
Label: Reprise / Wea
Original Release Date: 12/19/2001
Re-Release Date: 11/20/2001
Review by: Michelle S.. - 11/22/2020 10:06 PM


"My boys love the movie and feel the same way about this soundtrack!! (they are 10 and 12)"

The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers
Howard Shore, Isabel Bayrakdarian (soprano)
The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers
Label: Reprise / Wea
Original Release Date: 12/18/2002
Re-Release Date: 12/10/2002
Review by: Michelle S.. - 11/22/2020 10:06 PM


"Love the music. My boys are obsessed with it (10 and 12 years old)!"

Helen Reddy - All-Time Greatest Hits [Madacy]
Helen Reddy
Helen Reddy - All-Time Greatest Hits [Madacy]
Label: Madacy Records
Release Date: 6/26/2001
Review by: Dale B.. - 11/19/2020 10:14 AM


"Her greatest hits. Wonderful cd."

Women of the World: Celtic II
Various Artists
Women of the World: Celtic II
Label: Putumayo World Music
Original Release Date: 9/9/1997
Release Date: 9/9/1997
Review by: Dale B.. - 11/19/2020 10:13 AM


"Celtic music is one of my favorites. Great CD."

Women of the World: Celtic
Various Artists
Women of the World: Celtic
Label: Putumayo World Music
Original Release Date: 10/26/1995
Re-Release Date: 10/31/1995
Review by: Dale B.. - 11/19/2020 10:13 AM


"Celtic music is one of my favorites. Great CD."

Landmarks
Clannad
Landmarks
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Original Release Date: 3/3/1998
Release Date: 3/3/1998
Review by: Dale B.. - 11/19/2020 10:10 AM


"I love this groups music. Great CD."

Moonlight
Linn Barnes
Moonlight
Label: Oak Leaf
Original Release Date: 11/1/1994
Release Date: 11/1/1994
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/17/2020 11:14 PM


"Blues guitar and steel-strung harp? It works. A stripped-down take on Jelly Roll Morton, Django Reinhardt, Mississippi John Hurt, Coley Jones, Willie Brown, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Fats Waller... with a coupla Trad. arr. classics thrown in like an encore. You might think what you're getting here is somehow "Celtic" because of the harp -- it's not. Southern blues with a "Cheap Suit Serenaders" grin behind it -- way more "gritty" than "pretty". You have to think they had a real good time making this record. Enjoyable!"

Blue Tango - Leroy Anderson's Greatest Hits
Various Artists
Blue Tango - Leroy Anderson's Greatest Hits
Label: CreateSpace
Release Date: 1/23/2009
Review by: David M.. - 11/14/2020 12:09 PM


"I remember several of these tunes from my childhood. At least one of them was used as a theme song for a TV show. Really well done. There are few composers like Leroy Anderson, his skill and sense of humor are unique."

Speechless
Bruce Cockburn
Speechless
Label: Rounder Records
Release Date: 9/27/2005
Review by: David M.. - 11/14/2020 12:06 PM


"Amazing guitar work! excellent!"

Courtly Dances
Courtly Dances
Label: Musical Heritage Society
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/12/2020 11:20 AM


"Subtitled "The President's Own", this recording by the United States Marine Band under Col. John R. Bourgeois features selections from Smetana, Gottschalk, Meyerbeer, Joplin, Stravinsky, Grainger, Sousa, Giménez and Strauss. Find out more at https://www.marineband.marines.mil/Audio-Resources/Educational-Series/Courtly-Dances/."

Experience Hendrix: The Best Of Jimi Hendrix
Jimi Hendrix
Experience Hendrix: The Best Of Jimi Hendrix
Label: Experience Hendrix
Original Release Date: 11/3/1998
Release Date: 11/3/1998
Review by: Joan W. (whitlock). - 11/8/2020 3:57 PM


"Good, but not the best of Jimi."

Greatest Hits
Zz Top
Greatest Hits
Label: Warner Bros.
Original Release Date: 4/14/1992
Release Date: 4/14/1992
Review by: Joan W. (whitlock). - 11/8/2020 3:56 PM


"Great album!"

Best of War & More
War
Best of War & More
Label: Avenue Records
Original Release Date: 11/19/1991
Release Date: 11/19/1991
Review by: Joan W. (whitlock). - 11/8/2020 3:54 PM


"Great album!"

Come And Get It
Badfinger
Come And Get It
Original Release Date: 6/10/2011
Release Date: 6/10/2011
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 11/6/2020 4:13 PM


"This is a Joey Molland album. The actual title should be "Joey Molland sings Badfinger." There's nothing wrong with this album, just the fact that it's misrepresented as a Badfinger group effort when Joey is the only original member on it. If you take it in that spirit it's not all that bad. Joey does a pretty good job of only slightly reimagining his band's old repertoire. I would have to say the worst thing about this is the drum sound, which makes it sound of the time in which it's recorded. This can be a little distracting. If you have the original Badfinger recordings and want more music this isn't such a bad way to go, but I wouldn't go here first. A Joey Molland album in all but name. BTW, there are two or three other versions of the same album out there. Buyer beware."

Anne Murray - Greatest Hits, Vol. 2
Anne Murray
Anne Murray - Greatest Hits, Vol. 2
Label: BMG Direct
Review by: Russell B. (Slim). - 11/5/2020 10:34 AM


"awesome voice"

The Casual Gods
Jerry Harrison
The Casual Gods
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Mike W.. - 11/4/2020 5:31 PM


"A downright interesting and amazing funky cd. Jerry Harrison is really 'on point' on Casual Gods (1988). Radio hits were 'Rev It Up' & 'Man With A Gun' Album highlights for me include: Let It Come Down Cherokee Chief A Perfect Lie Are you Running? We're Always Talking This cd is so good I would rate it up there with the Talking Heads best albums!"

Exile in Guyville
Liz Phair
Exile in Guyville
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 12/21/1999
Review by: Joshua B. (littleborge). - 11/4/2020 4:45 PM


"Good ol' indie rock with a sense of humor and an understanding of what it knows and what it doesn't know. It's classic because there were no expectations and so it exceeded all known female indie rock at the time. Once the expectations were there, it got worse. But you should definitely give this a spin and with proper understanding of sound recording (lo-fi vs hi-fi) in the 90s you'll be like "Yeah, you crushed this""

Let Us Never Speak of It Again
Out Hud
Let Us Never Speak of It Again
Label: Kranky
Release Date: 3/22/2005
Review by: Joshua B. (littleborge). - 11/4/2020 4:43 PM


"Dance pop meet up with DFA noise groove. Well done and just pretentious enough without sacrificing credibility. I say that with all due respect and love and humility. If you came here from the first album, you'll probably not be happy with what they do here. Approaching with a sense of context for the cool downtown grooves that lay in the heart of the cheesiest disco and funk would behoove you very much."

Pop Tatari
The Boredoms
Pop Tatari
Release Date: 5/29/2007
Review by: Joshua B. (littleborge). - 11/4/2020 4:39 PM


"Hmmmm. You will probably not enjoy this. But you MIGHT. Unlikely though. Give it about 12 listens (not in a row...space them out a little) and then revisit your opinion. I'm only on the 3rd listen and it's...a LOT. Just very much a lot of stuff going on. And for that I must say, "You do you, The Boredoms! I'll be over here spending my entire life trying to decide if I like you or just 'appreciate' what you're doing." I will only add one other thing: This is a very close approximation of what you’d imagine the river bottom nightmare band combined with dr. teeth and the electric mayhem would *actually* sound like."