Newest CD/Album Reviews

Hildegarde
Hildegarde
Hildegarde
Label: Vintage 2016
Release Date: 4/25/2016
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 9/18/2019 10:35 PM


""...Once referred to as a 'luscious, hazel-eyed Milwaukee blonde who sings the way Garbo looks', during the peak of her popularity in the 1930s and 1940s, she was booked in cabarets and supper clubs at least 45 weeks a year. Her recordings sold in the hundreds of thousands, and her admirers ranged from soldiers during World War II to King Gustaf VI Adolph of Sweden and the Duke of Windsor. She was an inspiration for Liberace, who once acknowledged her influence on his performances: 'Hildegarde was perhaps the most famous supper-club entertainer who ever lived. I used to absorb all the things she was doing, all the showmanship she created. It was marvelous to watch her, wearing elegant gowns, surrounded with roses and playing with white gloves on. They used to literally roll out the red carpet for her'. ... 'Miss Piggy stole the gloves idea from me,' she once said." . It's not easy to impress both Liberace AND Miss Piggy. The wonderful single-named cabaret singer, Hildegarde. Often imitated, never surpassed."

Metallic Assault: A Tribute to Metallica
Various Artists, Various Artists - Rock
Metallic Assault: A Tribute to Metallica
Label: Big Eye Music
Release Date: 2/13/2001
Review by: Tim H. (TurnItUpTim). - 9/17/2019 10:52 AM


"Tribute to Metallica features a collage of past members of Slayer, Fear Factory, Anthrax, S.O.D., Testament, Motorhead, Ozzy, Sabbath and others performing their best songs. 1.Battery - Eric A.K./Mike Clark/Robert Trujillo/Dave Lombardo 2.Sad But True - Joey Belladonna/Bruce Kulick/Marco Mendoza/Eric Singer 3.Sanitarium - Whitfield Crane/John Marshall/Scott Ian/Tony Levin/Mickey Dee 4.The Unforgiven - Doug Pinnick/Vernon Reid/Tony Franklin/Frankie Banali 5.The Thing That Should Not Be - John Garcia/Kurdt Vanderhoof/Jeff Pilson/Jason Bonham 6.Enter Sandman - Burton C. Bell/John Christ/Robert Trujillo/Tommy Aldridge 7.Whiplash - Billy Milano/Scott Ian/Phil Soussan/Vinny Appice 8.Nothing Else Matters - John Oliva/Bob Balch/Lemmy Kilmister/Gregg Bissonette 9.Seek & Destroy - Chuck Billy/Jake E. Lee/Jimmy Bain/Aynsley Dunbar 10.For Whom The Bell Tolls - Eric Bloom/Al Pitrelli/Tony Franklin/Aynsley Dunbar"

Punk Tribute to Metallica
Various Artists
Punk Tribute to Metallica
Label: Cleopatra
Release Date: 1/23/2001
Review by: Tim H. (TurnItUpTim). - 9/17/2019 10:46 AM


"Here's helpful info - 1.Hit the Lights - Sloppy Seconds 2.Seek and Destroy - Agent Orange 3.Motorbreath - D.O.A. 4.Sad But True - Flipper 5.Jump in the Fire - Dee Dee Ramone 6.Master of Puppets - Dr. Know 7.Enter Sandman - Vice Squad 8.One - Total Chaos 9.Nothing Else Matters - the Vibrators 10.I Disappear - Anti-Government 11. Am I Evil - Sour 12.For Whom the Bell Tolls - Shotgun Remedy 13. Until It Sleeps - S.B.I."

Future
Jordan Feliz
Future
Label: Centricity Music
Release Date: 3/23/2018
Review by: Gayle V.. - 9/15/2019 3:58 PM


"Has one of his newer songs, Witness, which is AWESOME! Saw him perform this live and I know I will learn to love the new songs. Ended up with multiple copies so I'm letting this one go."

Cafe Racers
Kim Carnes
Cafe Racers
Label: One Way Records Inc
Original Release Date: 1/1/1983
Re-Release Date: 10/9/2001
Review by: E. L.. - 9/4/2019 9:28 PM


"Overall, this is a good CD. Has some great songs You Make My Heart Beat Faster and Invitation To Dance, remixes, etc. Slow songs are great as well, (Met You At The Wrong Time Of My Life, etc.) She is more of a songwriter than a singer (in my opinion.) If you can somehow, get a copy of this CD."

Magic Moments: The Best of '50s Pop
Various
Magic Moments: The Best of '50s Pop
Label: SHOUT
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 9/3/2019 6:07 PM


"Various Artists Magic Moments: Best of 50's Pop (Dig) Genres: Pop, Broadway & Vocalists Track Listings (20) - Disc #1 Moments To Remember-The Four Lads Whatever Will Be, Will Be (Que Sera, Sera)-Doris Day Catch A Falling Star-Perry Como You Belong To Me-Jo Stafford Butterfly-Andy Williams Wheel Of Fourtune-Kay Starr Cry-Johnnie Ray Hey There-Rosemary Clooney That?s All I Want From You-Jaye P. Morgan Innamorata (Sweetheart)-Jerry Vale Mr. Sandman-The Chordettes Band of Gold-Don Cherry Standing On The Corner-The Four Lads Graduation Day-The Four Freshmen Hot Diggity (Dog Ziggity Boom)-Perry Como Wonderful! Wonderful!-Johnny Mathis Love Letters In The Sand-Pat Boone Don?t You Know-Della Reese 26 Miles (Santa Catalina)-The Four Preps The Theme From ?A Summer Place?-Percy Faith & His Orchestra Track Listings (20) - Disc #2 Remember When-The Platters Magic Moments-Perry Como A Kiss To Build A Dream On-Louis Armstrong Tammy-Debbie Reynolds Here In My Heart-Al Martino Vaya Con Dios (May God Be With You)-Les Paul & Mary Ford The Glow Worm-The Mills Brothers I Went To Your Wedding-Patti Page Canadian Sunset-Hugo Winterhalter & His Orchestra With Eddie Haywood I Believe-Frankie Laine Music! Music! Music!-Teresa Brewer Sh-Boom (Life Could Be A Dream)-The Crew-Cuts Sincerely-The McGuire Sisters Unchained Melody-Al Hibbler Singing The Blues-Guy Mitchell Jamaica Farewell-Harry Belafonte Cry Me A River-Julie London It?s All In The Game-Tommy Edwards Alright, Ok You Win-Peggy Lee Perez Prado & His Orchestra-Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White Track Listings (20) - Disc #3 Memories Are Made Of This-Dean Martin Unforgettable-Nat ?King? Cole The Tennessee Waltz-Patti Page That?s My Desire-Frankie Laine Keep It A Secret-Jo Stafford Moonglow And Theme From ?Picnic?-Morris Stoloff & His Orchestra Let Me Go Lover-Joan Weber Mambo Italiano-Rosemary Clooney Love Is A Many-Splendored Thing-Four Aces Featuring Al Alberts Little Things Mean A Lot-Kitty Kallen Istanbul (Not Constantinople)-The Four Lads Secret Love-Doris Day You Don?t Know Me-Jerry Vale Autumn Leaves-Roger Williams On The Street Where You Live-Vic Damone Sixteen Tons-?Tennessee? Ernie Ford The Wayward Wind-Gogi Grant Mack The Knife-Bobby Darin Twilight Time-The Platters The End-Earl Grant Track Listings (10) - Disc #4 Round & Round - Perry Como Doggie in the window - Patti Page Little white cloud that cried - Johnnie Ray Naughty Lady Of Shady lane - Ames Bros Give me the simple life - Rosemary Clooney White sport coat - Marty Robbins North to Alaska - Johnny Horton I can dream, can't I - Skyliners Everybody Loves a lover - Doris Day Twelfth of never - Johnny Mathis"

All-Star Country, Vol. 1
Various Artists
All-Star Country, Vol. 1
Label: EMI Special Products
Release Date: 12/1/1995
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 9/2/2019 10:28 AM


"1. Whatcha Gonna Do With A Cowboy - Chris Ledoux/Garth Brooks 2. Only Here For A Little While - Billy Dean 3. Someday Soon - Suzy Boggus 4. American Boy - Eddie Rabbitt 5. Black Coffee - Lacy J. Dalton 6. Love On Arrival - Dan Seals 7. My Arms Stay Open All Night - Tanya Tucker 8. Holdin A Good Hand - Lee Greenwood 9. If You Could Only See Me Now - T. Graham Brown 10. Honky Tonk Blues - Pirates Of The Mississippi"

Rare Demos: First to Last
Hank Williams Sr
Rare Demos: First to Last
Label: Country Music Found.
Release Date: 9/12/2000
Review by: Adam M. (redbaronredsoxfan). - 8/27/2019 5:31 PM


"just like to point out Hank Williams recorded way more than 66 songs in his career. For example on the Proper 4 disc set I have called hillbilly hero there are more than 75 songs total and it passes 100 when you add in the companion Last Sessions cd also by proper."

History of Rock: 2 Decades of Chart-topping Hits 1953 to 1973
the original artists
History of Rock: 2 Decades of Chart-topping Hits 1953 to 1973
Review by: Charles S. (chasrecords). - 8/21/2019 9:05 AM


"This is a 10 cd box set from "Collectables". 14 tracks per cd - all Chart-topping hits by the original artists. 140 hits from 1953 to 1973."

Fields
Fields
Label: Hypnos Binary
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 8/16/2019 11:42 PM


"Saul Stokes - Fields (2003) Saul Stokes is a musician from Oakland, California. Stokes creates music using an array of modular hand-forged electronics to achieve his signature sound. Fields is an especially beautiful and listenable set of compositions. "Fields is an album full of positive energy and distinctive contrasts. It is many things: refined, warm, uplifting, comforting and contemplative as well as cold, unsettling and raw - its catchy, friendly hooks running contrary to its directionless free-form. Here Stokes revels equally in tightly arranged progressions and timeless amorphous drones." -- Chuck van Zyl/STAR'S END For samples: https://saulstokes.com/album/fields"

54, Volume 2
Various Artists
54, Volume 2
Label: Rhino / Ada
Original Release Date: 8/4/1998
Release Date: 8/4/1998
Review by: E. L.. - 8/12/2019 4:17 PM


"The music on this CD is great though they should have used the full long version of Heart Of Glass (Disco Version) instead of the edited version, (the last 2/3 of the song is the best part-which the company should not have used.) Overall, great music from the 70's."

Symbiotica
Symbiotica
Symbiotica
Label: Graceland
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 8/9/2019 10:20 PM


"If you tried to guess from the shadowly cover image what the music sounded like -- you might thing: Dark ambient? Dance/electronica? A glance at the liner notes show instruments like Koto, bouzouki, flutes, duduk, melodica, and an array of female solo vocalists, some with a single name: Kai, Lamya, Lygia, Sandra Stephens and Ann Brown. No surprise then, with that lineup, that Symbiotica offers a surprisingly sophisticated mixture of rhythmic percussion and world sounds you could just about compare with Deep Forest or Enigma, but with a bit more of a viewpoint in the lyrics. Symbiotica opens with the sound of low church bells in an empty space, slowly resolving to a gentle, chugging beat. The first track, "Missionary" moves along, energized and upbeat, and the vocalist, Lygia, has a soft, urgent style. The lyrics, in English, are surprisingly serious-minded, and reference Christian spiritual themes: conflict, difficulty, compassion. "Tai He Dian" combines glass chimes and eerie electric guitar riffs. The songs flow one into another and the overall effect and mix of influences are powerful. I liked best the track "Wilnerness Call" which shapes an slow-beat dance percussion track around a traditional Bulgarian-Choir sample, weaving through and around Sandra Stephens' lyrical delivery, again touching on Christian themes in an understated way. Produced by guitarist Lanny Cordola (Giuffria, House of Lords, Magdallan) along with Gary Thomas Griffin and Chuck Wright. On Graceland."

Behind the Musik
Kj-52
Behind the Musik
Label: Bec Recordings / Emd
Original Release Date: 1/1/2005
Re-Release Date: 11/22/2005
Review by: John C. (jac27187). - 7/30/2019 9:39 AM


"Just to note, the extra disc in the Deluxe Edition is NOT a DVD. The extra tracks will play as a regular audio CD in your CD player. The "Enhanced CD" is only accessible on a computer, you need to open the executable file and then you can watch the videos through the KJ-52 video player. Disk Two 1. Napoleon Dynamite 2. Washed Up 3. Run For Cover (featuring Trevor McNevan of Thousand Foot Krutch) 4. Plain White Rapper In A Mini Van 5. Piece Of Junk Car Enhanced CD Contents: "Behind The Musik" music video "KJ Five Two" music video "Dear Slim" music video "Life After Death" music video "Making the Album" - 4 clips "Ybor City" video "The Making of the Life After Death Video""

Precious Memories
Alan Jackson
Precious Memories
Label: Arista
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 2/28/2006
Review by: Angela C.. - 7/12/2019 8:15 AM


"This is a fantastic compilation of the best traditional hymns. If you love old country gospel, this CD is for you!"

Neptunes Presents: Clones (Clean) (Bns DVD)
Neptunes
Neptunes Presents: Clones (Clean) (Bns DVD)
Label: Startrak
Release Date: 8/19/2003
Review by: Jack D.. - 7/10/2019 12:15 PM


"The Neptunes (producer duo Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo) produced a ton of your favorite songs in the early 2000's. "Drop It Like It's Hot", "Milkshake", highlights from the catalogues of Jay-Z, Ludacris, Busta Rhymes, and N*E*R*D. Here, they pull together a sampling of their production across the gamut of artists they were working with in 2003 - highlights include cuts from Busta Rhymes, Ice-T's Clipse, and Snoop Dogg, along with great tracks from Pharrell himself and the duo in their guise as N*E*R*D. No fan or DJ of early 2000's hip hop and Top 40 should leave this stone unturned - pick it up today!"

Schubert Dip
Emf
Schubert Dip
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 5/14/1991
Review by: Jack D.. - 7/10/2019 12:09 PM


"You know "Unbelievable", but the other jams here are just as insanely creative, high-energy, and bursting at the seams. Check it out for a great taste of late-80's/early-90's dancefloor candy-coated popcorn."

Jagged Little Pill
Alanis Morissette
Jagged Little Pill
Label: Maverick
Original Release Date: 6/13/1995
Release Date: 6/13/1995
Review by: Jack D.. - 7/10/2019 12:08 PM


"Hard to overestimate the importance of Alanis Morissette's work on the rest of the alternative rock of the 90's and 00's! You can hear the hard-edged pop sensibilities from here from pop superstars like Avril Lavigne to alternative icons like Haley Williams of Paramore, not to mention underground heroes like Liz Phair. Track after track of emotional grooves and jams, that still aren't dated!"

Madd: Honor Them All
Various Artists
Madd: Honor Them All
Label: Windham Hill Records
Release Date: 4/28/1998
Review by: Mary B. (JavaJuice). - 7/8/2019 2:03 PM


"Put aside that this cd was created to fund MADD (Mothers Against Drunk Driving) which I have nothing against as many national non-profits sell cd's to make money. Overall, I'm not in love with this compilation, there are a couple of songs that I have knew from before, but mostly I'm meh about most of the songs/artists that were chosen. Most of the songs didn't 'grab' me so I probably won't be listening to it again any time soon."

Southern Rock Vol. 1
Various Artists
Southern Rock Vol. 1
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 7/3/2019 5:43 PM


"1 – Molly Hatchet Flirtin’ With Disaster 2 – The Ozark Mountain Daredevils If You Want To Get To Heaven 3 – The Outlaws* There Goes Another Love Song 4 – Lynyrd Skynyrd Free Bird 5 – Atlanta Rhythm Section I’m Not Gonna Let It Bother Me Tonigh 6 – The Allman Brothers Band One Way Out 7 – 38 Special (2) Rockin’ Into The Night 8 – The Marshall Tucker Band Can’t See You 9 – Blackfoot (3) Train Train 10 – Pure Prairie League Two Lane Highway 11 – Black Oak Arkansas Jim Dandy 12 – Elvin Bishop Travelin’ Shoes"

Warrior's Dance
Prodigy
Warrior's Dance
Release Date: 5/12/2009
Review by: Michael L. (Popmeister). - 7/2/2019 3:53 PM


"1. Warrior's Dance (edit) 2. Warrior's Dance (original) 3. Warrior's Dance (South Central remix) 4. Warrior's Dance (Benga remix) 5. Warrior's Dance (Kicks Like A Mule remix)"

Mardi Gras Party Time
Various Artists
Mardi Gras Party Time
Label: K-Tel
Release Date: 2/11/1997
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 7/2/2019 2:11 PM


"Of the 6 out of 10 that I know, they are the original versions. Not sure about the other 4."

I Started Out As a Child
Bill Cosby
I Started Out As a Child
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 4/28/1998
Review by: Tony H.. - 6/30/2019 3:30 PM


"Ew, just ew."

Eddie Rabbitt - Greatest Hits
Eddie Rabbitt
Eddie Rabbitt - Greatest Hits
Label: EMI Special Products
Release Date: 6/16/1995
Review by: Matt B.. - 6/25/2019 1:39 PM


"Does not include "I Love A Rainy Night""

Teaser & Firecat
Cat Stevens
Teaser & Firecat
Label: A&M
Original Release Date: 1/1/1994
Re-Release Date: 6/14/1994
Review by: Dwight M. (Dewey). - 6/21/2019 9:39 AM


"Cat Stevens created some of the best albums/CD's of the 70's. "Teaser & Firecat" is one of those remarkable productions. He has quite a few "hits" on this particular CD, but what is amazing is that even the non-hit material is quality stuff. I have Cat's double CD "Gold", and five of the songs on "Teaser" are on the "Gold" CD. I had to get "T&F" because the other five remaining songs are, IMHO, just as good as the legit hits. Dewey"

Mary Hopkin  17 Greatest Hits
Mary Hopkin
Mary Hopkin 17 Greatest Hits
Label: Landy
Release Date: 7/16/2013
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 6/19/2019 9:29 PM


"I don't know if these are the original recordings from the Apple Records hits package Those Were The Days, but the track listing is the same. Album Tracks 1. Those Were the Days 2. Goodbye 3. Temma Harbour 4. Think About Your Children 5. Knock Knock Who's There 6. Que Sera Sera (Whatever Will Be, Will Be) 7. Lontano Degli Occhi 8. Sparrow 9. Heritage 10. The Fields of St. Etienne 11. Jefferson 12. Let My Name Be Sorrow 13. Kew Gardens 14. When I Am Old One Day 15. Silver Birch and Weeping Willow 16. Streets of London 17. Water, Paper & Clay"