Search - Spiritual Traditional, Harry T. (Henry) Burleigh, American Anonymous :: Spirituals in Concert

Spirituals in Concert
Spiritual Traditional, Harry T. (Henry) Burleigh, American Anonymous
Spirituals in Concert
Genres: Special Interest, New Age, Pop, Classical
  •  Track Listings (18) - Disc #1


Larger Image
Listen to Samples

CD Details

Similar CDs

Similarly Requested CDs


Member CD Reviews

Hermine R. (HERmusic) from MIAMI SHORES, FL
Reviewed on 8/7/2007...
Two great voices combined to lift the spirits.

Track Listing:

01 - In That Great Getting Up Morning
02 - Sinner, Please Don't Let This Harvest Pass
03 - Over My Head-Lil' David
04 - Oh, What a Beautiful City
05 - Lord, How Come Me Here
06 - I Believe I'll Go Back Home-Lordy, Won't You Help Me
07 - Ride On, King Jesus
08 - Swing Low, Sweet Chariot-Ride Up in the Chariot
09 - You Can Tell the World
10 - Scandalize My Name
11 - Great Day
12 - Oh, Glory
13 - Calvary-They Crucified My Lord
14 - Talk About a Child
15 - Gospel Train
16 - My God Is So High
17 - There Is a Balm in Gilead
18 - He's Got the Whole World in His Hand

CD Reviews

Spirituals in Concert [Live]-Kathleen Battle & Jessye Norman
(5 out of 5 stars)

"This is a fabulous CD. The ensemble pieces are wonderful, especially the opening jubilee spiritual "In that Great Gettin' Up Mornin'." This is an excellent beginning for what is an outstanding concert, and the divas are at their best. Particularly moving are renditions of "Over My Head/L'il David" and "Ride on King Jesus." Miss Sylvia Lee's arrangement of "Scandalize My Name" is engaging, soulful, and entertaining, especially in view of the way that Miss Battle and Miss Norman interpret it. The late, great Thomas Kerr's arrangement of "Great Day" allows both sopranos to show their voices off to high advantage. All in all, an enjoyable compilation and expression of the American spiritual."
Vocal and Symphonic Brilliance
Sondra L. Archibald | Rockford, Illinois United States | 11/11/2001
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Each selection is filled with vocal perfection and brilliant orchestration. This shows the marriage of classical symphonic music with deeply soulful spirituals."