Search - Michael Flatley :: Michael Flatley's Lord Of The Dance

Michael Flatley's Lord Of The Dance
Michael Flatley
Michael Flatley's Lord Of The Dance
Genres: Dance & Electronic, Folk, World Music, New Age, Pop, Soundtracks
  •  Track Listings (17) - Disc #1

Part showtunes, part classical, and part folk music, Ronan Hardiman's score to Lord of the Dance, the musical starring dancer Michael Flatley, successfully avoids all the inherent pitfalls of such an enterprise. Hardima...  more »


Larger Image
Listen to Samples

CD Details

All Artists: Michael Flatley
Title: Michael Flatley's Lord Of The Dance
Members Wishing: 0
Total Copies: 4
Label: Philips
Original Release Date: 3/4/1997
Release Date: 3/4/1997
Album Type: Soundtrack
Genres: Dance & Electronic, Folk, World Music, New Age, Pop, Soundtracks
Styles: Traditional Folk, British & Celtic Folk, Contemporary Folk, Celtic, Europe, British Isles, Celtic New Age, Dance Pop, Adult Contemporary, Adult Alternative
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaCD Credits: 1
UPCs: 731453375727, 0731453375727

Part showtunes, part classical, and part folk music, Ronan Hardiman's score to Lord of the Dance, the musical starring dancer Michael Flatley, successfully avoids all the inherent pitfalls of such an enterprise. Hardiman has emerged as Ireland's finest interpreter of traditional music for films, TV, and the theater, and under his guidance the 19 lush orchestral tunes, augmented with many traditional instruments, are rife with the spirit of the Emerald Isle. Two of the tracks feature the taps of Flatley and Co, while the rest highlight the score as composed by Hardiman with all its subtle textures intact and not masked by the live sound of tap dancing. Lord of the Dance is a perfect and very listenable fusion of Broadway and the indigenous heritage of Irish music making. --Derek Rath

Similarly Requested CDs


Member CD Reviews

Jere E. (irishjere) from CUYAHOGA FLS, OH
Reviewed on 1/2/2014...
The impressive and relaxing music of Lord of the Dance never gets old. I will play it till it plays no more. Then I will order another one!

CD Reviews

Hey, I like this music even without all the dancing
Lawrance M. Bernabo | The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota | 04/28/2002
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Well, I saw "Riverdance" this week and without comparing the dancing in the two shows (since I could never do any of it), I really like Ronan Hardiman's music for "Lord of the Dance" a lot better. From the opening track "Cry of the Celts" you get the feel of listening to an Irish band cooking in a pub someplace. Hardiman offers up a rich diversity of tunes, from the ephemeral "Celtic Dream" (that reminds me of the Nutcracker for some reason) to the pounding rhythms of "Warriors." I wish "Gypsy" were longer, because that is probably my favorite track. Hardiman himself provides the keyboard/programming for this wonderful mix of ancient sounds with modern technology. After all, who thinks of Irish music with a saxophone like you have on "Fiery Nights?" It is usually Uilleann Pipes and serious fiddle playing, both of which abound on this album. The two bonus tracks featuring the solo taps of Michael Flatley with the Lord of the Dance troupe are enough for the CD; you can always put on the video to hear more of the same, but I would think that after a while you can really just hear the tapping in your mind all the time anyway. Yes, you will enjoy this music more having seen the show, but I actually enjoyed listening to this CD for months before I bothered to check out the tape."
Beautiful, heavenly music to listen to!
Paris | Louisiana | 01/24/2005
(5 out of 5 stars)

"I am 15 years old and I remember the first time I heard this music only a year from now. When I heard Cry of the Celts for the first time, I knew I had to get the CD. No regrets at all, because this music is just wonderful, and a year later, I still listen to it with fresh ears.

Here's my opinion of each song:
1. CRY OF THE CELTS: This was the first song I heard from this CD at a neighbor's house, and I fell in love wiht it instantly. It's one of my favorites on the CD, and even if it starts off with a strange beginning, it gets better as the song progresses. Love the flute part of the song.
2. SULA RUIN: A Celtic vocal, with lovely lyrics
3. CELTIC DREAM: To be honest with you, when I first heard this song, I was completely annoyed and tired of this repetitive, slow, tiring music. But, now, I love it, a lot, and the music is beautiful. It really calms you down, and I could play this at night, it sounds like a heavenly lullaby. Beautiful music, but takes patience to listen to completely.
4. WARRIORS: This was one of the best on the CD, my third favorite in fact. Each part was wonderful and special, but the last part of the song will have to be my favorite. I could dance to this song over and over!
5. GYPSY: This song is definitely my favorite song out of the entire CD and I could play it over and over, without ever getting tired of its breathtaking music. It sounds so sensuous, so beautiful. The only problem I have with this one, is that it's too short, and I wish they could have added a little more to this song.
6. BREAKOUT: One of the best in the CD. I didn't like how it started,but it gets MUCH better as the song progresses. I watched the Lord of the Dance video, and my opinion: This would sound much better, with the taps.
7. LORD OF THE DANCE: It's pretty good, and I'd say it's great, and once again, not the best of beginnings but, gets better as the song continues.
8. SPIRIT IN THE NEW WORLD: Honestly, what the heck is this?This is supposed to be a song? Basically the only disappointment, I almost always skip this song. The only good thing about this song is that it only last one minute and ten seconds...
9. FIERY NIGHTS: I'm still trying to figure out how saxophone music got mingled in here with Celtic music, but okay...They still manage to make it sound good, surprisingly, and even though it may not be my top favorites, i still enjoy it every now and then.
10. LAMENT: This song is strictly violin music. Very deep, emotional, okay.
11.SIAMSA: I listen to this song a lot lately. I like how there's so many moods to this song, and as the song progresses, it just gets better and better. It's just too modern for me though.
12. OUR WEDDING DAY: Why this song? On Lord of the Dance, they had another song called, "She Moved Through the Fair". That song was much better than this one.
13. STOLEN KISS: The first part of the song is so sweet, but the second half of the song, sounds rather familiar...
14. NIGHTMARE: Good song, and rather dark and haunting. You could almost feel chills through your body from the song.
15. VICTORY: The song is good altogether,and I love the grand beginning as much as I love the second part. The song is just fantastic and energetic and almost perfect.
16 and 17 is Cry of the Celts and Lord of the Dance with taps. The taps help me to imagine the dancers crystal clear, and it's very good.

In conclusion, this CD left me with very little disappointments, and no regrets, and if you love music full of energy and emotion, you'll love this music without a doubt."