Newest CD/Album Reviews

Songs From 63 Degrees N
Triakel
Songs From 63 Degrees N
Label: Northside Records
Release Date: 9/14/2004
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 12/13/2017 10:45 PM


"This is very pure, unadorned traditional music of "quiet but intense ethos". Chris Nickson/Allmusic reviews it below -- and I think he's got it right: "...The mix of fiddle, harmonium, and voice creates a bristling darkness, especially on the brooding "Min Docka," where singer Emma Härdelin rolls her Rs with great glee. ...There's an obvious love of the music, and in presenting it, never seeking the darkness, but teasing it out where it occurs. It's certainly not evident in the country dance of "Bli Som Far," which glides around the floor, or "Tordyveln," which morphs into a polka. However, it can't be denied that wonderful as Härdelin is, she shines best on material like "Barnamorderskan," where tragedy is all too apparent. Triakel continue to grow as masters of their craft and more -- at times positively inspired." On the remarkable and unparalleled Northside Records label. Hear a sample: https://soundhound.com/?t=100735078020021319"

THE FABULOUS FIFTIES : THOSE WONDERFUL YEARS
Various
THE FABULOUS FIFTIES : THOSE WONDERFUL YEARS
Review by: Terry M. (tmulcahy). - 12/12/2017 2:25 PM


"There are a few songs worth listening to on these three disks, but I had to skip over many others that were pure saccharine orchestrated pop, not the lively rock and roll, soulful rhythm and blues, and rocking rockabilly that gave the decade new music. Much of this is just 1930s and 1940s-style music that was still on the radio in the 1950s, already just for the elderly, and as such is worthwhile purely as nostalgia for them. I listened because I wasn't familiar with all the artists, but, even for those crooners I knew, these weren't their best. Yeah, if you're in your late 80s and 90s, you might use most of these to fall asleep to, but one listen was all I could take for most of it."

Filth Pig
Ministry
Filth Pig
Label: Rhino Flashback
Release Date: 2/3/2009
Review by: Shane C. (Trippie). - 12/11/2017 6:41 AM


"I'm going to keep this short and sweet. Why this cd got a bad rap, sold poorly, is mind boggling. BEST. MINISTRY. ALBUM. RELEASE. EVER. 👍👍"

Teenage Kicks / Best of Undertones
Undertones
Teenage Kicks / Best of Undertones
Label: Castle Music UK
Release Date: 3/10/1996
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/10/2017 8:26 PM


"Same track list as their Rydodisk "Best Of" CD: 1 Teenage Kicks 2 Family Entertainment 3 Get Over You 4 Girls Don't Like It 5 Male Model 6 Here Comes the Summer 7 Jimmy Jimmy 8 You've Got My Number 9 Mars Bars 10 Let's Talk About Girls 11 My Perfect Cousin 12 The Way Girls Talk 13 Tearproof 14 More Songs About Chocolate and Girls 15 Hypnotized 16 Wednesday Week 17 The Positive Touch 18 You're Welcome 19 It's Going to Happen 20 Julie Ocean 21 When Saturday Comes 22 Forever Paradise 23 The Love Parade 24 Soul Seven 25 Casbah Rock"

S Tu Nam Chuimhne
Christine Primrose
S Tu Nam Chuimhne
Label: Temple Records
Release Date: 10/3/1995
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 12/8/2017 12:20 AM


"S Tu Nam Chuimhne (Gaelic, "and you on my mind") is an album of Gaelic vocal music with simple, subtle accompaniment. "S Tu Nam Chuimhne will sound somewhat alien to most music buyers, but it is a charming, even hypnotic experience. The range is extraordinary, with melodies ranging from singsong lullabies to intricate pibrochs backed with minor-key bagpipe solos. Some are ancient songs and poems set to music, while others were written in an ancient language by living authors; one, a lament for a beloved wife, was written by a neighbor of Christine Primrose and is heard here for the first time. The arrangements are subtle and occasionally brilliant -- "Taladh" is only one voice and two saxophones, an unlikely setting for a lullaby, but it is lovely. Christine Primrose's voice is a marvelous instrument, powerful when strength is called for but magnificently controlled and emotional. Gaelic traditional singing has rarely sounded this winsome, and this album may send listeners seeking more examples of both the art form and the work of Christine Primrose." "Christine Primrose has been singing since early childhood, with Gaelic as her first language. She too won the National Mod in 1974, and the Pan Celtic Festival in Killarney in 1978. As a result of the success of Aite Mo Ghaoil, Primrose has toured both Canada and the USA, as well as Europe, taking her voice and Gaelic language to a wide audience. In the new millennium Primrose has taught Gaelic singing at Sabhal Mòr Ostaig a Gaelic college on the Isle Of Skye." --allmusic"

Cocky
Kid Rock
Cocky
Label: Lava
Release Date: 11/20/2001
Review by: Chrissy M.. - 12/6/2017 4:30 PM


"Love Love Love this CD!!! This is my favorite Kid Rock CD by far!!"

For Those Who Wait
Fireflight
For Those Who Wait
Label: Flicker Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2010
Re-Release Date: 2/9/2010
Review by: Jeff B.. - 12/6/2017 9:00 AM


"Great CD"

Surf Party: Best Of The Surfaris - Live!
The Surfaris
Surf Party: Best Of The Surfaris - Live!
Label: GNP Crescendo Records
Release Date: 9/1/1995
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 12/2/2017 11:06 PM


"A go to cd when the situation calls for that 60's surf vibe. Real live band feel for the live cuts and definitive versions of 'Tequilla' . A Theme party on a disc. Surf is definitely up!"

Very Scary Music: Classic Horror Themes
Various
Very Scary Music: Classic Horror Themes
Label: Cobra Entertainment LLC
Original Release Date: 6/15/1999
Re-Release Date: 9/24/2009
Review by: Karen R.. - 11/29/2017 3:15 PM


"How can you go wrong for a Halloween CD? This has all of the great tracks! Psycho, Halloween, The Exorcist, X-Files."

Chiller
Michael [Engineer] Bishop, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Modest Mussorgsky, Camille Saint-Saens, Hector Berlioz, Edvard Grieg, Rosalind Ilett, Marius Constant, Recorded Sound, Franz Waxman, Bernard Herrmann, John [Composer/Conductor] Addison, Jerry Goldsmith, Henry Mancini, Charles Gounod, Erich Kunzel, Cincinnati Pops Orchestra, Robert Muckenfuss
Chiller
Label: Telarc
Original Release Date: 8/1/1989
Re-Release Date: 8/10/1989
Review by: Karen R.. - 11/29/2017 3:13 PM


"Great CD. It has all of the creepy classical tracks that we have heard all our lives, but maybe don't know the title of-like the "Funeral March of a Marionette". And tracks 13-15: "Three Selections from Psycho"!!"

Some Broken Hearts Never Mend
Don Williams
Some Broken Hearts Never Mend
Label: Mca Special Products
Release Date: 1/1/1995
Review by: Janie L.. - 11/29/2017 1:05 PM


"Best cd I own. I got it for "Amanda," but all the other songs are great. "Amanda" is the least best one."

Carols of Xmas
Carols of Christmas
Carols of Xmas
Label: Intersound Records
Release Date: 7/25/1995
Review by: David P. (heepster). - 11/24/2017 6:20 PM


"This is various choirs and very tradional, excellent Christmas collection. 1) Joy to the World 2) Away in a Manger 3) The First Noel 4) O Tannenbaum 5) Little Town of Bethlehem 6) Good Christian Men Rejoice 7) Ave Maria 8) In Duici JUblio 9) Sans Day Carol 10) Rose e're Blooming 11) Wassail Song 12) Handels Samson 13) We 3 Kings 14) What Child is This? 15) Goodly Fragrance 16) Morning Star 17) In the Bleak Midwinter 18) Mighty Fortress 19) Glory 20) A Child is Born 21) Hallelujah!"

Quiet Storm
White Heart
Quiet Storm
Label: Orchard
Release Date: 4/1/1996
Review by: Steve G. (Musicmanrocks). - 11/21/2017 8:56 AM


"Great CD!"

Pearl
Janis Joplin
Pearl
Label: Sony
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 11/17/2017 1:10 PM


"Peggy Jean E's review below was for her CD only. It doesn't work for this 10 track listing. There are no bonus tracks. This is Janis' finest moment. She had finally found the band of her dreams and made the album that would have propelled her to the top even if she hadn't died. If you're new to Janis' work, start here."

Frank Sinatra: The Dorsey Years
Frank Sinatra
Frank Sinatra: The Dorsey Years
Label: Charly
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 11/15/2017 8:32 PM


"1 I'll Never Smile Again 3:09 2 Fools Rush In 3:14 3 Immagination 3:12 4 Our Love Affair 3:01 5 Oh, Look At Me Now 3:14 6 All This And Heaven Too 3:02 7 I'll Be Seeing You 3:05 8 You're Lonely And I'm Lonely 3:06 9 Without A Song 4:23 10 Let's Get Away From It All 5:00 11 Love Me As I Am 3:08 12 I Never Let A Day Pass By 3:15 13 The Sunshine Of Your Smile 2:29 14 Pale Moon 3:03 15 Daybreak 3:13 16 You Lucky People You 2:36 17 Blue Skies 3:18 18 Street Of Dreams 2:41 19 Be Careful, It's My Heart 2:48 20 There Are Such Things"

Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers - Greatest Hits
Tom Petty & Heartbreakers
Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers - Greatest Hits
Label: Mca
Original Release Date: 11/16/1993
Release Date: 11/16/1993
Review by: Lois K.. - 11/15/2017 11:13 AM


"This CD is so great. I ordered it several weeks before Tom Petty's unexpected death. I listen to it all the time. Although there are lots more hits than what is on this CD, it has so many of the best ones."

The Bible: Music Inspired By The Epic Mini Series
Various Artists
The Bible: Music Inspired By The Epic Mini Series
Label: Word Entertainment
Release Date: 3/12/2013
Review by: Keith L.. - 11/8/2017 6:23 AM


"Very good. Great music."

Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
The Beatles
Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 7/15/2002
Review by: Jeff V. (ElJefe). - 11/7/2017 9:49 PM


"Nothing to add that hasn't been written already. Just get it."

Flowers in the Dirt
Paul McCartney
Flowers in the Dirt
Label: Capitol
Original Release Date: 6/6/1989
Re-Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Jeff V. (ElJefe). - 11/7/2017 9:47 PM


"Solid CD, some interesting collaborations with Elvis Costello. Looking forward to the 2 CD reissue."

Old School Hip Hop
Sugarhill Gang, Run D.M.C., Salt-N-Pepa, Digital Underground, Coolio, Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five, Rob Base and DJ EZ-Rock, The Fat Boys, Mc Lyte, Kurtis Blow
Old School Hip Hop
Label: Rhino Records
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 11/7/2017 2:28 PM


"1. Rapper's Delight - Sugarhill Gang 2. Its Tricky - Run D.M.C. 3. Push It - Salt-n-Pepa 4. The Humpty Dance - Digital Underground 5. Fantastic Voyage - Coolio 6. Jump Around - House of Pain 7. It Takes Two - Rob Base and DJ EZ-Rock 8. The Fat Boys Are Back - The Fat Boys 9. Ruffneck - MC Lyte 10. The Breaks (Part 1) - Kurtis Blow 11. Cars With the Boom - L'Trimm 12. The Message - Grandmaster Flash & the Furious Five 13. Rebirth of Slick (Cool Like Dat) - Digable Planets 14. Me, Myself and I - De La Soul 15. Ladies First - Queen Latifah 16. Rollin' With Kid 'N Play - Kid N Play 17. Hip Hop Hooray - Naughty By Nature"

Oh Baby
Bill Cosby
Oh Baby
Label: Geffen Gold Line Sp.
Release Date: 3/19/1996
Review by: Myles M.. - 11/7/2017 7:17 AM


"An interesting installment in Mr. Cosby's recording career. Very funny!"

Somewhere Across Forever
Somewhere Across Forever
Review by: Robert P. (Boberty). - 11/5/2017 9:32 PM


"Ep with three songs: 1. Somewhere Across Forever 2. No Weather 3. School Ya"

Corey Hart
Corey Hart
Review by: Robert P. (Boberty). - 11/5/2017 5:51 PM


""Black Cloud Rain" - 4:22 "Someone" - 4:36 "Love Hurts" - 4:19 (Boudleaux Bryant) "Third of June" - 4:36 "Simplicity" - 4:32 "Tell Me" - 3:35 "Angel of My Soul" - 4:25 "Sunflowers" - 4:58 "Kiss the Sky" - 3:18 "On Your Own" - 4:08 "India" - 4:20"

Where Am I?
Paul Numi
Where Am I?
Label: Greener Grass
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/5/2017 2:32 PM


"Album Notes "Where Am I?" is Paul Numi's debut album, produced by John Woolloff (ace guitarist of French stars Bruel, Balavoine, Johnny), mastered by the legendary Ted Jensen (Coldplay, Keane). Paul's lyrics explore the doubts, angst and questions of middle age, expressed in poetic, and at times ironic language. Paul is authentic: from his trademark Boss suits to the emotions expressed in his songs. He has been influenced mostly by British music, from The Beatles, via The Jam, to Oasis. Learn more and hear samples: https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/paulnumi2"

Beatles: Yesterday & Forever
Maxwell's Magical Mustard Band
Beatles: Yesterday & Forever
Label: Avalon
Release Date: 12/22/1998
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/3/2017 9:08 PM


"Far from what the cover might suggest, this is a very gentle, softspoken set of instrumental arrangements of popular Beatle tunes. Think of relaxing background music for a nice dinner party. Ingredients include piano, soft-jazz guitar, string bass and a bit of saxophone and flute solo work now and again. A very competently executed and tasteful record. Tracklisting: 1. Yesterday 2. All My Loving 3. Norwegian Wood 4. Here, There & Everywhere 5. Eleanor Rigby 6. And I Love Her 7. In My Life 8. The Fool On The Hill 9. Nowhere Man 10. Penny Lane 11. With A Little Help From My Friends 12. Michelle"