Newest CD/Album Reviews

Infinite Horizons
Various Artists
Infinite Horizons
Label: Horizon Music
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/25/2017 3:22 PM


""This double CD was released in 1998 to commemorate the fifth anniversary of Horizon Music. The album contains rare and previously unreleased tracks by 13 innovative contemporary instrumentalists. Artists such as Christopher Franke of Babylon 5 fame, Hans-Joachim Roedelius, Johannes Schmoelling, Lightwave, Conrad Schnitzler, Klaus Krüger and Michael Hoenig contributed music to Infinite Horizons." Fan review: "An excellent compilation album of electronic music with hints of Techno and ambient. The whole history of electronica and Krautrock is covered in this collection, in some sense. There are so many wonderful sound explorations on this set. Lightwave's 'Martian Cycles' is an excellent live performance, proving electronica does 'work' in a live context. Star Sounds Orchestra's 'Anakant' is much closer to what 31st century outer space dance music will be than 100 George Lucas bar scenes." (learn more here: http://www.groove.nl/cd/5/53379.html) Tracklisting: CD #1 Christopher Franke - Metaphonic Chronicles Star Sounds Orchestra - Anakant Roedelius - Excerpt From Sinfonia Contempora Nr. III Lightwave - The Lowell's Vision (live) Klaus Kruger - Gumbo 94 Klaus Kruger - Syndrum 2E Keller & Schonwalder - Teutonisches Wüten (live) Conrad Schnitzler - 00/109-12 Propeller Island - One Idea Gives A Thousand Thoughts CD #2 Michael Hoenig - The Vertical Rotating Horizon (live) Conrad Schnitzler - 00/110-6 Jörg Thomasius - Sitarius Afi III Lightwave - Martian Cycles (live) Johannes Schmoelling - Lamentation Of An Ancient Tree Namlook & Rob Gordon - She Ship Conrad Schnitzler - 00/110-8 Klaus Kruger - 11x17 Jolliffe & Jolliffe - Live At The Bell"

Dangerous Curves
Lita Ford
Dangerous Curves
Label: RCA
Release Date: 11/12/1991
Review by: Myles M.. - 6/25/2017 6:04 AM


"Excellent disc! The songs are among Lita's strongest. A must have for any collection!"

Fuyu
Derek Nakamoto
Fuyu
Label: Tribe
Release Date: 1/2/1996
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/24/2017 11:58 PM


"Sweet, sweet, fresh, cool music. No need to make assumptions about what's inside, based on the cover or the title -- what you get here is smooth, gorgeous music with just an edge of jazz to it. Powerful, urgent percussion (think funky bass and dark, low drums) plus cool electonics and looped, muted trumpets plus a touch of Japanese beauty. Very easy on the ears, in the very best way. Check out the instrumentation: Derek Nakamoto (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer, programming, drum programming); Duncan Pain (vocals, drums); Nobuko Miyamoto (vocals); Anas Allaf (guitar); Kazu Matsui (shakuhachi); Fernando Saunders (fretless bass); Denny Fongheiser (drums); Jess Acuna (congas, dumbek, shaker). Very likable. From Poi Dog Music."

Thank You for the Music
Abba
Thank You for the Music
Release Date: 4/18/1995
Review by: Cecil B.. - 6/23/2017 6:12 AM


"Excellent"

River of Light
Oscar Reynolds
River of Light
Label: Karumanta Music
Release Date: 3/29/2005
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/20/2017 10:01 PM


"A musical setting for the unique beauty of the South American panpipes known as the Antara. Oscar Reynolds is a multi-instrumentalist who leads a gathering of the "best South American musicians in the San Francisco Bay Area: Enrique Coria of David Grisman's Quintet on guitar, Jose Luis Reynolds on charango, and Fernando de San jinez, Lalo Izquierdo and Raul Ramirez on percussion. Also featureing Flamenco guitarist Choscales, hailed as one of the best flamenco puro players in North America" by guitar luminary Jesse Cook." Oscar Reynolds writes in Spanish in the liner notes (this is a translation): "River of Light represens my childhood because I grew up near a river, and I clearly remember that I was always playing with the water, stones and sand. The river to me is a source of love, life and energy, always moving, always flowing, with a deep clarity that goes further than imagination. The fresh crystalline waters of the river, together with the energy of light, illuminates the lives of everyone who lives on earth. My music is a flow of melodies that glide along like a river of light. A river tha was once part of my childhood, now being born again.""

Rio De Luz (River of Light)
Rio De Luz (River of Light)
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/20/2017 10:01 PM


"A musical setting for the unique beauty of the South American panpipes known as the Antara. Oscar Reynolds is a multi-instrumentalist who leads a gathering of the "best South American musicians in the San Francisco Bay Area: Enrique Coria of David Grisman's Quintet on guitar, Jose Luis Reynolds on charango, and Fernando de San Jinez, Lalo Izquierdo and Raul Ramirez on percussion. Also featureing Flamenco guitarist Choscales, hailed as one of the best flamenco puro players in North America" by guitar luminary Jesse Cook." Oscar Reynolds writes in Spanish in the liner notes (this is a translation): "River of Light represens my childhood because I grew up near a river, and I clearly remember that I was always playing with the water, stones and sand. The river to me is a source of love, life and energy, always moving, always flowing, with a deep clarity that goes further than imagination. The fresh crystalline waters of the river, together with the energy of light, illuminates the lives of everyone who lives on earth. My music is a flow of melodies that glide along like a river of light. A river tha was once part of my childhood, now being born again.""

I Am Gypsy
Casta
I Am Gypsy
Label: Alula
Original Release Date: 10/6/1998
Release Date: 10/6/1998
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/20/2017 9:40 PM


"What a voice! Smoky and lean and feral, with a quality like coarse-ground coffee over a campfire. Brothers Lorenzo, Paco, and Juan Antonio Salazar are part of a Spanish Gypsy family that also includes flamenco singer Porrina de Badajoz (their uncle) and members of the hit female Latin pop duo Azucar Moreno (their cousins), according to AllMusic, and they've invited in Jose Miguel and Antonio Carmona (both of Ketama fame) and guitarist Gerardo Nunez as well. While this isn't a recording for flamenco purists, that strong coffee quality goes very well with the slinky soft cream that winds through this recording: elements of Latin pop and salsa give this record a contemporary feel. But ohhhh that voice. That voice. AllMusic says "Highly recommended". Try it."

8
Incubus
8
Label: Island
Release Date: 4/21/2017
Review by: Suzi H. (Bookmom). - 6/20/2017 1:22 PM


"What happened to Incubus' original style? Do they have two lead singers now? Some tracks sound like original singer and others sound like someone different. I didn't like that. Their funky edge is gone, no more scratching. Maybe it's a more mature Incubus but they've lost their appeal to me."

Magic Moments
Various with original Artists
Magic Moments
Label: Warner-Heartland Music
Review by: Shirl P.. - 6/17/2017 6:14 PM


"Good sound…original artists DISC 1: 1. Islands In The Stream Kenny Rogers & Dolly Parton 2. This Old Heart Of Mine Rod Stewart 3. How Sweet It Is To Be Loved By You James Taylor 4. I Don't Want To Live Without You Foreigner 5. Keep On Loving You REO Speedwagon 6. A Groovy Kind Of Love Phil Collins 7. If Bread 8. Lost In Love Air Supply 9. Africa Toto 10. Endless Love Diana Ross & Lionel Ritchie 11. What's Love Got To Do With It Tina Turner 12. Just The Two Of Us Grover Washington Jr 13. It Might Be You Stephen Bishop 14. Arthur's Theme Christopher Cross 15. Unchained Melody Righteous Brothers 16. All My Life Linda Ronstadt And Aaron Neville 17. Looks Like We Made It Barry Manilow 18. Lady In Red Chris De Burgh 19. Lead Me On Maxine Nightingale 20. Eternal Flame The Bangles DISC 2. Release Me/Kiss You All Over/I Need You/Let Me Love You Tonight/Biggest Part Of Me/Wicked Game/You're In My Heart/You're The Inspiration/Misty Blue/Fire And Rain/Sara/Eye In The Sky/We'll Never Have To Say Goodbye Again/Falling/I Go Crazy/Love Will Lead You Back/Make Me Lose Control/Second Chance/Muscrat Love/Just A Song Before I Go"

Legendary Sun Records Story
Various Artists
Legendary Sun Records Story
Label: Castle/Pulse
Release Date: 12/2/2003
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 6/17/2017 8:43 AM


"Terrific compilation of the familiar and truly new, not sure I've heard 'Flying Saucer Rock and Roll' before. Rich diversity of artists with hefty helpings of Carl Perkins. The SUN sound is a hybrid of twangy electric proto country meeting blues ,very tasty!"

Creataive Movement and Rhythmic Exploration
Hap Palmer
Creataive Movement and Rhythmic Exploration
Label: Educational Activities, Inc.
Release Date: 9/1/1998
Review by: Sarina C.. - 6/17/2017 7:33 AM


"This CD does not work. Unfortunately, I did not check it as soon as it arrived."

Best of Country
Various Artists
Best of Country
Label: Madacy Records
Release Date: 6/3/1997
Review by: Raymond T.. - 6/15/2017 3:30 PM


"Lots of good material, I fully enjoy it."

Live Like You Were Dying
Tim Mcgraw
Live Like You Were Dying
Label: Pid
Original Release Date: 4/24/2007
Release Date: 4/24/2007
Review by: Raymond T.. - 6/15/2017 3:29 PM


"Some really good tracks, others only good. Average."

Bop Boys
Various Artists
Bop Boys
Label: Priority Records
Release Date: 6/30/1998
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 6/14/2017 4:26 PM


"1. 'Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)' - Backstreet Boys 2. 'Bodyshakin' - 911 3. 'Invisible Man' - 98 Degrees 4. 'All Night All Right' - Peter Andre 5. 'I'm Gonna Miss You Forever' - Aaron Carter 6. 'Everybody Get Down' - Ricky 7. 'When I Fall In Love' - Ant & Dec 8. 'The Way You Want It' - Steve Best 9. 'When Susannah Cries' - Epsen Lind 10. 'Crazy Chance' - Kavana 11. 'I Got What You Need' - Imajin 12. 'Love Me For A Reason' - Boyzone 13. 'Will You Be My Baby' - G Squad 14. 'Baby Come Back' - Worlds Apart worth it for the Peter Andre, and boyzone songs, which are pretty good and not easily available in US"

Pop Rock Music That Changed our Lives
Pop Rock Music That Changed our Lives
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 6/14/2017 2:42 PM


"Carole King I Feel the Earth Move Bill Withers Lovely Day Stevie Ray Vaughn and Double Trouble Pride & Joy Santana Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen Cheap Trick I Want You to Want Me Earth Wind & Fire September Boston More than A Feeling Blood Sweat & Tears Spinning Wheel Kansas Carry on Wayward Son MFSB Family Affaiar The Byrds Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There is a Season) Men at Work Who Can It Be Now Cyndi Lauper Girls Just Want to Have Fun Eddie Money Two Tickets to Paradise Ted Nugent Cat Scratch Fever Bonnie Tyler Total Eclipse of the Heart Paul Young Everytime You Go Away"

Jammin With the Blues
Vas
Jammin With the Blues
Label: Vas
Release Date: 1/28/2003
Review by: Robert P. (Boberty). - 6/13/2017 9:58 PM


"Not Azam Ali and Gregg Ellis."

Music from the film Hell House
Matt & Bubba Kadane
Music from the film Hell House
Label: Pleximusic
Original Release Date: 1/1/2003
Re-Release Date: 3/30/2004
Review by: Joshua B. (littleborge). - 6/8/2017 10:34 AM


"for fans of bedhead and the new year and, even then, for the strictest kind of completists among those people. this is instrumental/incidental music for the movie "hell house" and is not in any sense a set of "songs." even though these 8 pieces are titled and separated out into tracks some are extremely slight while others are pretty and repetitive. there doesn't seem to be enough music here to soundtrack an entire 90 minute documentary but, despite that, some of the music is very interesting and, you would assume, perfect for rumination about God, the devil, american christianity in all it's forms, and a community of bible-thumping texans' ill-conceived form of proselytizing. still, it's not bad - just slight. wish it was longer than 18 minutes because the kadane brothers are geniuses of understatement."

Noise of Welcome
Zachary Cale
Noise of Welcome
Label: All Hands Electric
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/4/2017 11:16 AM


""Zachary Cale is an American songwriter/musician originally hailing from the small town of Enon, Louisiana. His music ranges from acoustic balladry and American Primitive inspired guitar instrumentals to Cosmic Country and Folk Rock song forms. He resides in New York City." --From Zachary Cale's bandcamp site. Hear samples: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Zd4cl9ot0E"

Omnis by Anuna
Anuna
Omnis by Anuna
Label: ANUNA
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 6/4/2017 11:12 AM


"Borrowed from Anuna's Bandcamp site, a newspaper review: "Angels high in the heavens must be confused, wondering how some mere mortal was able to bootleg one of their singing sessions and release it under the name Anúna. But such confusion would be understandable after hearing Omnis, the hauntingly beautiful new album by Anúna... ...Some of the works on Omnis feature the actual music of centuries past. Some of the works feature the texts of ancient prayers and poems, but with medieval-like music composed by Anúna founder Michael McGlynn (perhaps “reconstructed and re-imagined” is a better way to describe McGlynn’s approach.) In either event, the voices of Anúna are profoundly striking. At times this music is ethereal and soothing. At times...this music is soul-disturbing, almost chilling-like encountering a melancholy banshee at midnight on a country road, quietly singing to itself. But don’t worry about those angels in heaven being confused - or jealous. They’ll be too charmed and mesmerized by Anúna for anything other than joy for their music.""

The Roots of Swing N' Jive ~ 14 Swingin' Hits
The Roots of Swing N' Jive ~ 14 Swingin' Hits
Review by: Shirl P.. - 6/3/2017 3:08 PM


"Good sound on cd • Chatanooga Choo Choo Glen Miller • Jumpin’ At The Woodside Count Basie • Love Me Or Leave Me Les Brown • Taking A Chance On Love Tommy Dorsey • Jersey Bounce Benny Goodman • Minnie The Moocher Cab Calloway • Pennsylvania 6-5000 Glen Miller • Cherokee Charlie Barnet • Take The “A” Train Duke Ellington • Swingin’ The Blues Count Basie • Butter And Egg Man Louis Armstrong • Begin The Bequine Artie Shaw • Stompin’ At The Savoy Benny Goodman • The Calloway Boogie Cab Calloway"

Decoration Day
Drive By Truckers
Decoration Day
Label: New West Records
Release Date: 6/17/2003
Review by: Len S. (3). - 5/30/2017 2:07 PM


"Having worked my way into the Drive By Truckers in a backwards fashion... John Prine to Jason Isbell to DBT, it's no surprise that I gravitated to the tracks "Decoration Day" and "Outfit"--two Isbell concert standards. This was DBT's initial offering with Isbell in the band and the two previously mentioned songs surely opened many eyes to his songwriting talent. However, this CD was also Mike Cooley's time to shine. "Sounds Better In The Song" and "When The Pin Hits The Shell" are two masterfully written songs that fit Cooley's voice perfectly. There's plenty to enjoy from the band's fearless leader as well... Patterson Hood really stepped up his game when pulled by Isbell and Cooley. Finally, Isbell fans will appreciate comparing his older tracks to modern-day renditions of the same songs. His leaving the bottle behind and getting in shape have clearly produced better lyrical pacing and much-improved lung power. I highly recommend this CD."

Nordstrom Loves Shoes
Nordstrom Loves Shoes
Review by: Chris P.. - 5/29/2017 9:43 PM


"Tracks: 1) Blue Suede Shoes - Carl Perkins 2) Shoes - Patsy Cline 3) Shine On Your Shoes - Mel Torme 4) These Boots Are Made For Walking - The Supremes 5) Shoe Soul - Smokey Robinson 6) Ruby Shoes - Jessica Andrews 7) Shoes N Hats - Smash Mouth 8) Boogie Shoes - KC Sunshine Band"

Tellin' Stories
Charlatans
Tellin' Stories
Release Date: 9/4/2007
Review by: Jeramy F. (middle7). - 5/28/2017 5:45 AM


"Amazing cd, my favorite from them easily"

American Songs Of Revolutionary Times... (Laserlight)
Various Artists
American Songs Of Revolutionary Times... (Laserlight)
Label: Delta
Release Date: 11/30/1993
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 5/25/2017 8:05 AM


"Nice compilation of 18/19th century American folk songs. More impressive, the stories relyed by a narrator who recalls tale tales with a wry wit that puts you at the general store stove. Long before the electronic means of story, some old coot kept rapt attention when telling his tall tales of toothpicks and reluctant mules. Strong traditional songs with an definite extra kick"

Presents MONK'estra, Vol. 1
John Beasley
Presents MONK'estra, Vol. 1
Label: Mack Avenue
Release Date: 8/19/2016
Review by: Ken D. (Allthatjazz). - 5/24/2017 3:12 PM


"I can't say that I've enjoyed John Beasley's earlier work, but this CD is the pits. By the time I got to "'Round Midnight," I was fed up with the dumbed down, bland arrangements. His treatment of that jazz standard sounded like something you'd expect to hear in a third rate 1970s lounge. The beauty of Monk's music is in its dissonance, playfulness and sudden twists. Unfortunately, many of these timeless songs are diluted in John Beasley's charts."