Newest CD/Album Reviews

Hard Rock Cafe: Great Balls of Fire
Various Artists
Hard Rock Cafe: Great Balls of Fire
Label: Rhino / Wea
Original Release Date: 6/15/1999
Release Date: 6/15/1999
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 2/19/2017 10:38 AM


"1. Great Balls Of Fire - Jerry Lee Lewis 2. (We're Gonna) Rock Around The Clock - Bill Haley & His Comets 3. Lucille - Little Richard 4. Blue Suede Shoes - Carl Perkins 5. Johnny B. Goode - Chuck Berry 6. Chantilly Lace - The Big Bopper 7. That'll Be The Day - The Crickets 8. Come On, Let's Go - Ritchie Valens 9. Splish Splash - Bobby Darin 10. C'mon Everybody - Eddie Cochran 11. Be-Bop-A-Lula - Gene Vincent & His Blue Caps 12. Ooby Dooby - Roy Orbison & Teen Kings 13. I'm Ready - Fats Domino 14. Shake, Rattle And Roll - Joe Turner & His Blues Kings 15. Raw-Hide - Link Wray & The Wraymen 16. Rebel-Rouser - Duane Eddy"

Acoustic Mood
Eva Cassidy and others
Acoustic Mood
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 2/19/2017 9:22 AM


"Songs appearing on the compilation are: 1) Field of Gold - Eva Cassidy, 2) Tampa To Tulsa (Acoustic Version) - The Jayhawks, 3) Possession (Piano Version) - Sarah McLachian, 4) Hallelujah - Jeff Buckley, 5) Hold You In My Arms - Ray LaMontagne, 6) California - Josh Ritter, 7) A Long Time Ago - David Ford, 8) Honey & the Moon - Joseph Arthur, 9) Waiting - Kyle Riabko, 10) Moon - David Poe, 11) Sweetest Decline - Beth Orton, 12) Never Saw A Blue Like That - Shawn Colvin, 13) Thank You - Huston, 14) Cry Ophelia - Adam Cohen, 150 Dizzy - Jake Incao, 16) Leave This City - The Sundays and 17) Ghost - Howie Day."

Readers Digest: Moon River (4CD)
Readers Digest: Moon River
Readers Digest: Moon River (4CD)
Label: Time Life/WEA
Release Date: 5/4/2015
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 2/19/2017 7:53 AM


"CD 1: 1. Moon River - Henry Mancini 2. Born Free - Gordon Langford 3. Climb Ev'ry Mountain - Ronnie Aldrich 4. Smoke Gets In Your Eyes - Henry Mancini 5. Theme from Exodus - RCA Symphony Orchestra 6. Tara's Theme - Ronnie Aldrich 7. Swinging on a Star - Johnny Gibbs 8. Night and Day - Romantic Strings Orchestra 9. I'm Always Chasing Rainbows - Henry Mancini 10. You Light Up My Life - Gordon Langford 11. The Sound of Music - Don Baker 12. Love Me Tender - Larry Dalton 13. Mona Lisa - Francis Goya 14. Whatever Will Be, Will Be - Richard Alden 15. Three Coins in the Fountain - Romantic Strings Orchestra 16. You Were Meant for Me/Singin' in the Rain - Frankie Carle 17. Blue Hawaii - Billy Vaughn 18. My Favorite Things - Ken Thorne 19. The Wind Beneath My Wings - Romantic Strings Orchestra 20. Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head - Gordon Langford CD 2: 1. Somewhere, My Love - Frankie Carle 2. Love Is a Many-Splendored Thing - Nick Ingman & Ronnie Price 3. Unchained Melody - Roger Williams 4. Can't Help Falling in Love - Floyd Cramer 5. The Way You Look Tonight - Gordon Langford 6. When I Fall in Love - Romantic Strings Orchestra 7. Summer of '42 Theme - Peter Nero 8. I Only Have Eyes for You - Gordon Langford 9. It Had to Be You - Larry Dalton 10. You Made Me Love you - Romantic Strings Orchestra 11. Be My Love - Gordon Langford 12. That's Amore - Larry Dalton 13. For Sentimental Reasons - Romantic Strings Orchestra 14. I'll Get By - Gordon Langford 15. Love Story Theme - Henry Mancini 16. Love Theme from Romeo & Juliet - Floyd Cramer 17. The Greatest Love of All - Royal Philharmonic Orchestra 18. I Just Called to Say I Love You - Romantic Strings Orchestra 19. My Heart Will Go On - Damian Luca CD 3: 1. Some Enchanted Evening - Ronnie Aldrich 2. I Could Have Danced All Night - London Promenade Orchestra 3. Oh! What a Beautiful Mornin' - Romantic Strings Orchestra 4. You'll Never Walk Alone - Nick Ingman 5. Hello, Dolly! - Gordon Langford 6. Almost Like Being in Love - London Promenade Orchestra 7. Sunrise, Sunset - Don Baker 8. The Impossible Dream - Henry Mancini 9. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You - Gordon Langford 10. I'm in the Mood for Love - Ken Barrie with Johnny Gibbs 11. Hello, Young Lovers - Henry Mancini 12. People Will Say We're In Love - Robert Bentley 13. On the Street Where You Live - London Promenade Orchestra 14. Seventy Six Trombones - Gordon Langford 15. If I Loved You - Nick Ingman 16. If Ever I Would Leave You - London Promenade Orchestra 17. On a Clear Day - Roger Williams 18. Stranger in Paradise - London Promenade Orchestra CD 4: 1. The Way We Were - Floyd Cramer 2. Days of Wine and Roses - Henry Mancini 3. That Old Black Magic - Romantic Strings Orchestra 4. I'll Walk Alone - Terry Harrington 5. By the Light of the Silvery Moon - Romantic Strings Orchestra 6. My Funny Valentine - Peter Nero & Doc Severinsen 7. Try to Remember - Ken Thorne 8. Do Not Forsake Me - Malcom Lockyer 9. Till the End of Time - RCA Symphony Orchestra 10. As Time Goes By - RCA Symphony Orchestra 11. Edelweiss - Romantic Strings Orchestra 12. Over the Rainbow - Larry Dalton 13. When You Wish Upon a Star - Joe Reisman 14. Beauty and the Beast Theme - Roger Williams 15. Theme from A Summer Place - Billy May 16. People - Romantic Strings Orchestra 17. Blue Velvet - Romantic Strings Orchestra 18. Our Love Is Here to Stay - National Philharmonic Orchestra"

The Ultimate Jukebox Hits of the 60's-volume 2
The Chiffons, Jan & Dean, The Beach Boys, the hollies (+ more/compilation )
The Ultimate Jukebox Hits of the 60's-volume 2
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 2/18/2017 8:40 PM


"Disc: 1 1. Nobody but Me 2. Hippy Hippy Shake 3. Do Wah Diddy Diddy 4. I'm Telling You Now 5. Gimme Some Lovin' 6. This Diamond Ring 7. The Little Old Lady from Pasadena 8. Don't Let the Sun Catch You Crying 9. A World Without Love 10. Spooky 11. A Little Bit o' Soul 12. I Get Around 13. The Wanderer 14. Tell Him 15. He's So Fine 16. Mockingbird 17. Bus Stop 18. Bad to Me 19. Let's Lock the Door (And Throw Away the Key) 20. You Turn Me On (Turn on Song)"

The Ultimate Jukebox Hits of the 60s
The Ultimate Jukebox Hits of the 60s
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 2/18/2017 8:28 PM


"Ultimate Jukebox Hits Of The 60S - Vol.4 & 5 Disc 1: "Motown Legends" 1. Shop Around 2. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave 3. My Guy 4. For Once in My Life 5. Come See About Me 6. I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch) 7. Ain't That Peculiar 8. You Keep Me Hangin' On 9. Beauty Is Only Skin Deep 10. Shoo-Be-Doo-Be-Doo-Da-Day 11. Love Child Disc: 2: "Soul Hits of the 60s" 1. A Rockin' Good Way (To Mess Around and Fall in Love) 2. Handy Man 3. Harbor Lights 4. (You're My) Soul and Inspiration 5. Sunny 6. It's a Man's Man's Man's World 7. Only the Strong Survive 8. Hey Leroy, Your Mama's Callin' You 9. Ta Ta 10. My True Confession"

Restart
Newsboys
Restart
Label: Sparrow (Universal)
Release Date: 5/27/2014
Review by: Bonny G.. - 2/18/2017 1:03 PM


"I love this CD"

20 Greatest Hits
Conway Twitty
20 Greatest Hits
Label: Tgg Direct
Release Date: 1/26/2010
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 2/17/2017 6:51 PM


"20 hits, from several different labels. All original hit versions. Could have fit on a single disc, but you can not dispute the great content! It's Only Make Believe Mona Lisa Lonely Blue Boy Hello Darlin' How Much More Can She Stand Fifteen Years Ago You've Never Been This Far Before Linda On My Mind Touch The Hand I Love You More Today The Image Of Me (Lost Her Love) On Our Last Date I Can't Stop Loving You Don't Take It Away Tigth Fittin' Jeans That's My Job Crazy In Love Play, Guitar Play Next In Line To See My Angel Cry"

Boypower
Boypower
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 2/17/2017 6:28 PM


"Show Credits 1 –Backstreet Boys Everybody (Backstreet's Back) (7" Version) 3:44 2 –Touché (3) I Can't Get No Sleep (Radio Edit I) 3:48 3 –Marcel Romanoff Stay The Night 3:19 4 –Damage Love 2 Love (Radio Mix) 4:05 5 –No Mercy Please Don't Go (Radio Edit) 4:14 6 –Boyzone Isn't It A Wonder (Radio Edit) 3:37 7 –'N Sync* Tearing Up My Heart (Radio Edit) 3:26 8 –Lyte Funkie Ones Step By Step (Radio Edit) 3:59 9 –3T Anything (Album Version) 4:34 10 –Bed & Breakfast, Mola Adebisi, Sqeezer Get It Right (Radio Version) 3:52 11 –911 (4) Bodyshakin' 3:36 12 –Worlds Apart Rise Like The Sun (Radio Edit) 3:41 13 –Caught In The Act (2) Do It For Love (Radio Version) 3:35 14 –The Boyz (2) Round & Round (Single Edit) 3:31 15 –Mark Owen Clementine (Radio Edit) 4:05 16 –Human Nature Tellin' Everybody 4:02 17 –Together (3) Wonderland (Radio Version) 3:07 18 –Gute Zeiten It's A Party (Radio Mix) 3:45 19 –Backstreet Boys Boys Will Be Boys 4:05 20 –Take That Back For Good (Radio Mix)"

Noised
Plastic Noise Experience
Noised
Label: Van Richter Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2005
Re-Release Date: 9/27/2005
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 4:25 PM


"Plastic Noise Experience is from Germany. This music is ominous industrial music with lots of factory type sound effects. The song Digital Noise kind of describes the album. In Your Mind is another chorus that stands out. It sounds like a robot voice is singing these songs. chorus but this fear is just in you mind, are you blind, are you blind? repeat"

Cow Hear This 3
Various Artists
Cow Hear This 3
Label: Cbuj Ent
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 3/14/2006
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 4:15 PM


"Most every song on this compilation is good. Honky tonk country, outlaw country from the Texas panhandle region and red dirt music from Oklahoma. House of Negotiable Affections, Your Heart Turned Left, and Buckaroo Tattoo are favorites. Willie Nelson's version of the song Crazy which he originally wrote is on this CD and he sings it well. The CD ends with Cowboy Song by The Great Divide a darn good Red Dirt music band from Oklahoma."

Naked Without You
Taylor Dayne
Naked Without You
Label: Neptune/River North
Original Release Date: 10/6/1998
Release Date: 10/6/1998
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 4:09 PM


"Music videos rather than continuing to sell the artist have in a way created one hit wonders. This album is evidence that Taylor Dayne was far more than her hit song Tell It to My Heart from the 1980s. These songs are big from a woman with a grand voice."

Do You Know
Michelle Williams
Do You Know
Label: Music World
Release Date: 2/8/2005
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 4:05 PM


"It might be helpful for fans to know that this album is a black gospel album as well as R & B. For instance from the title song Do You Know: Just know that God is faithful and He'll heal your wounded heart. She also could have been a model."

Heaven & A Dixie Night
Pirates of the Mississippi
Heaven & A Dixie Night
Label: Cbuj Ent
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 11/7/2006
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 3:58 PM


"I like Fish Bait and Is That Country of What. If you have not gone country yet, this album might convert you."

It's All About the Ride
Clint Clymer
It's All About the Ride
Label: Big Bender Records
Release Date: 5/2/2006
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 3:51 PM


"This album by Utahan Clymer has some excellent acoustic guitar work. In that region they call it cowboy country. He ends on a gospel song called He Believed with this chorus: I sing glory, glory I sing glory Jesus Christ is the reason that I ride for glory. It seems to be more common that rather than have a separate album of country gospel music, he has integrated that into this album."

Confessions
Billy Hufsey
Confessions
Label: Blaster Records
Release Date: 3/17/2009
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 3:44 PM


"2 songs stand out on this CD, Better Man and Summer Breeze, Mr. Hufsey's version of the Seals and Crofts classic. This album could stand in for 1970s easy going classic rock, but I don't feel that the public is willing to change their tastes to newer artists from classic rock."

Welcome to the Future
Believable Picnic
Welcome to the Future
Label: Absolute
Original Release Date: 10/26/1999
Release Date: 10/26/1999
Review by: Louis G.. - 2/17/2017 3:40 PM


"Actually this CD is very good. Songs like Roller Coaster, Superstar, Sugar, Goodbye Girl, Easy Chair and others are exercises in moral restraint which seems to be sorely needed today in the media and real life. Christian rock at its best."

Cherry Picking Apple Blossom Time
Cherry Picking Apple Blossom Time
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 2/17/2017 11:48 AM


"by David Greenberger, with music by Paul Cebar. "[David] Greenberger is a musician – former bassist in the Boston-based Men & Volts – intimately aware of the power of music. And over the years, he’s created an amazing collection of spoken-word projects – including collaborations with Los Lobos, NRBQ’s Terry Adams, John Sebastian, members of the Sun Ra Arkestra, Birdsongs of the Mesozoic, 3 Leg Torso and the Shaking Ray Levis. He doesn’t play an instrument on the CDs, though. He doesn’t sing. He doesn’t write the material. He simply speaks. Reciting the words of others that he’s collected in interviews over the years, allowing his voice to be heard as the voice of the hundreds of everyday elderly people who we somehow never get a chance to hear. The tales that he tells are in equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, and it takes a very empathetic, versatile batch of musicians to find the proper musical balance to match the stories. Milwaukee music scene veteran Paul Cebar and his band of fellow Milwaukeeans play jump blues, jazz and R&B. And it just so happened that last year, Greenberger found himself as the artist in residence under the auspices of the Center on Aging and Community at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. The collaboration is sublime. The music swings and clatters and echoes deep in the recesses of the mind of the listener, reinforcing anecdotes and stories pulled into the light and set in front of the microphone, often for the very first time. This is sweet, sweet stuff." https://web.archive.org/web/20121130111346/http://www.nippertown.com/2009/08/25/david-greenberger-and-paul-cebars-cherry-picking-apple-blossom-time/#more-8569 from 2009."

Quickening
Spiral Dance
Quickening
Release Date: 10/31/2006
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 2/16/2017 11:31 PM


""Award-winning group and Australia's premier pagan folk-rock band Spiral Dance have announced the release of their latest album "The Quickening". After the success of "Notes of Being" the band used many of the same ingredients to produce the recording; David Lokan at Big Sound Studios in Adelaide engineered it, Adrian Cowell again did the artwork and though the whole band had a hand in production, it was Nick Carter that was responsible for sculpting the sound of the entire project. The album itself features 14 tracks, the first eight forming a song cycle of the sabbats that make up the Wheel of the Year in the Celtic calendar. The song for the festival of Imbolc called "The Quickening" became the title track for the album as it conveyed a positive energy associated with fertility and the spark of new life that reveals the coming of Spring." http://www.whitemagic.com.au/magickmusic/spiraldance.htm "…the maturity in playing and arrangements has noticeably progressed, as has the willingness to add different textures to the music…the title track 'The Quickening' is a perfect example of the thought put into arrangement and production on this album, and is a mature, melodic and powerful piece of music…there is plenty of light and shade throughout the CD…this is still distinctively Spiral Dance but with more of an edge and it is all the better for it…" Michael Hunter, dB Magazine (#385; May 2006)"

Music From the Edge
Wham
Music From the Edge
Label: Columbia/CBS/Sony BMG
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Mark H. (DJRetro). - 2/16/2017 5:46 PM


"Really enjoyed this trip back in time. G M. And I are the same age, and his music was a staple in my 20's. These songs has bubble gum like as they were brought back a lot of memories."

Smooth Sounds
Various Artists
Smooth Sounds
Label: Razor & Tie
Original Release Date: 1/12/1999
Release Date: 1/12/1999
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 2/15/2017 2:16 PM


"1. Breezin' - George Benson 2. Am I The Same Girl? - Swing Out Sister 3. Linus & Lucy - David Benoit 4. Dreamwalk - Peter White 5. Save The Best For Last - Vanessa Williams 6. Feels So Good - Chuck Mangione 7. 101 Eastbound - Fourplay 8. Valentine - Jim Brickman/Martina McBride 9. You Make Me Smile - Dave Koz 10. Chris - Pat Metheny Group 11. Street Life - The Crusaders 12. Theme From Seinfeld - Jonathan Wolff 13. Mr. Magic - Grover Washington, Jr. 14. Simple Pleasure - Bobby McFerrin 15. Let's Stay Together - The Rippingtons/Carl Anderson 16. Get Here - Oleta Adams 17. Theme From St. Elsewhere - Dave Grusin 18. Shaker Song - Spyro Gyra"

Close to You
Carpenters
Close to You
Label: A&M
Release Date: 1/12/1999
Review by: Kim K.. - 2/13/2017 7:55 PM


"I love this cd! Karen Carpenter's smooth alto/tenor voice is so soothing and rich. I tend to play certain favorite songs over and over in my car. This album contains the classic Carpenters hits, "Close to You" and, "We've only just begun" in addition to other popular songs like the Beatle's 'Help' and Burt Bacharach's "I'll never fall in love again". If you are a fan you MUST own this album. If you aren't you'll become one by listening to it."

Home for Christmas
N-Sync
Home for Christmas
Label: RCA
Original Release Date: 11/10/1998
Release Date: 11/10/1998
Review by: Mark T.. - 2/12/2017 11:50 AM


"This drivel is for those with a total lack of taste and class. Moron hall of fame. Noone should have Christmas ruined by this crap."

Mining The Soul
Rita MacNeil with The Men of The Deeps
Mining The Soul
Label: Luprock
Original Release Date: 11/15/2000
Re-Release Date: 4/15/2001
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 2/11/2017 9:10 PM


""MINING THE SOUL is an emotionally uplifting marriage of two of Canada’s most unique and distinctive artists, a celebration of home, heritage and song – a celebration of all. From Cape Breton Island comes the magic of two internationally acclaimed performers; multi-award winning singer-songwriter Rita MacNeil and The Men of the Deeps, North America’s only coal miners’ chorus for a heart-felt performance of MINING THE SOUL. Far beneath the surface of the earth, some say, the heart and soul of Cape Breton beats. A Tumultuous industry has given character to this part of the country, character that is reflected in its people and their music. The island speaks of working class values, strong friendships, unfailing courage and unwavering faith. These emotions have found their voice in MINING THE SOUL." Samples: http://www.ritamacneil.com/products/mining-the-soul"

Old Street
Cascade Folk Trio
Old Street
Label: Bandaz Records
Original Release Date: 9/19/2003
Release Date: 9/19/2003
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 2/11/2017 9:07 PM


""Cascade Folk Trio represents the collaboration of three of Armenian music's most talented vocalists, Arman Aghajanyan , Ohanna Mtghyan and Armen Papikyan. Already acclaimed individually as artists, their union has resulted in the creation of one of the most popular musical groups in today's worldwide Armenian Diaspora. The trio, based in New York and Los Angeles, has created a musical force whose chemistry, stage presence, unique image and fresh interpretation of Armenian music have not previously been witnessed in the music world." Sharp and brisk with urgent, passionate vocals and complex, "real" percussion. Samples: https://www.cdbaby.com/cd/cascade"

Gaither Gospel Series: Terry & Jake
Terry Bradshaw, Jake Hess
Gaither Gospel Series: Terry & Jake
Label: Chordant
Release Date: 11/12/1996
Review by: Mark T.. - 2/11/2017 6:06 PM


"This sounds like cats in a grinder! Uncontrollable puking!"