Newest CD/Album Reviews

Favorite TV Themes
Various Artists
Favorite TV Themes
Review by: Daniel T. (djtal). - 11/19/2018 5:03 PM


"I gave this a neutral rating of three stars, because I have not heard it. The back insert of the CD says "...newly-recorded...""

Southern Gospel Classcs, Vol.1
Southern Gospel Classcs, Vol.1
Label: Madacy
Release Date: 1/1/2003
Review by: Kathleen R. (Katchie). - 11/15/2018 9:12 PM


"This CD had song "Uncloudy Day" it was great. I liked many of the spirtuals too."

Surf's Up, Dude!
The Beach Boys
Surf's Up, Dude!
Label: EMI Special Products
Release Date: 3/21/1995
Review by: Bobby K. (roulduke). - 11/15/2018 6:19 PM


"The Beach Boys are just one of the artists. Here are all of them: 1 傍he Beach Boys Surfin' Safari 2:08 2 傍he Ventures Hawaii Five-O 1:53 3 褒an & Dean Surf City 2:29 4 傍he Marketts Surfer's Stomp 1:59 5 傍he Fantastic Baggys Tell 'Em I'm Surfin' 2:04 6 傍he Sandals Theme From "Endless Summer" 2:53 7 褒an & Dean Ride The Wild Surf 2:21 8 褒erry Cole Pipeline 2:29 9 傍he Beach Boys Surfer Girl 2:29 10 傍he Ventures Wipe Out 3:00 11 傍he Beach Boys Surfin' 2:13 12 傍he Marketts Balboa Blue 2:28"

Black Candy
Beat Happening
Black Candy
Label: Sub Pop
Release Date: 3/14/1994
Review by: SV S. (Sphinx). - 11/15/2018 2:02 AM


"This delightful little record has become one of my all-time favourite albums. What Beat Happening lack in sophistication and virtuosity, they more than make up for with charm, attitude, and ear-tickling melodies. Calvin Johnson's voice is probably one that you will either love or hate, and I love it! A charismatic, rumbly baritone with a lot of sensuality and personality, though he's not always on-key. Though some of the songs are fairly erotic (particularly the title track), most everything on the album somehow maintains a shimmer of elementary school innocence; you can tell the band is truly having fun and being playful and creative. I often get songs from this album stuck in my head, and I'm never annoyed about it - they always make me happy. This is a very sweet, funny, cute, catchy, and uplifting record. Enjoy. 5 stars."

Cut
Slits
Cut
Label: Koch Records
Release Date: 1/25/2005
Review by: SV S. (Sphinx). - 11/15/2018 1:42 AM


"I find this album incredibly irritating. If you're a fan of Bjork's "Post", you might enjoy this one, but I cannot get past the unsinging, unplaying, and unbeat of this music. There aren't any real melodies to be detected, or much of anything memorable. I can't recall any of the songs, despite having just listened to them, because there was nothing to latch on to. This music unfortunately reminds me of a slightly more competent Shaggs."

Seas Drain Into Space
Facing Winter
Seas Drain Into Space
Label: CDBY
Release Date: 4/28/2009
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/13/2018 12:30 PM


""Facing Winter sounds somewhat like a blend of Elliott Smith, Radiohead, and Sunny Day Real Estate. Their music combines inviting vocals and crisp guitars with an earthy rhythm section for a textured, yet simple sound. Frontman Justin Birchard痴 smooth, genuine voice and artistically crafted acoustic-guitar sounds are complimented by drummer Jeff Goluszka and bassist Liam Doyle. The trio is based in Glendale Heights, Illinois. The new album "Seas Drain Into Space" showcases Facing Winter's dynamic creativity. The result is a collection of musical realms ranging from passionately melodic ("Pocket of Change", "Drift") and energetically upbeat ("Moonshine", "New Explosion") to unabashedly edgy ("Colorful", "Killshot")." Hear samples here: https://store.cdbaby.com/cd/facingwinter2"

Reckoning
Grateful Dead
Reckoning
Label: Arista
Release Date: 11/27/1990
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 11/13/2018 10:45 AM


"The conversion from a casual fan to a appreciative listener started with this on the Walkman. Casey Jones aside , had not been exposed to the subtle roots influence. Had not envisioned jamming roots music style and the almost delicate string work Jerry offered. And yes , I would rather be in some cold dark hallow in the hills then in a room in the city dreaming of a girl. Hill ballads , hard luck and haunting play your reward....and the girl with the ribbons in her hair awaits ...."

Atlantic Standards
Various Artists
Atlantic Standards
Label: Wea Int'l
Release Date: 6/5/2006
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/11/2018 12:50 PM


"An excellent compilation from Warner Music Canada, featuring Canadian artists in the Celtic tradition. The mood of the collection is "seaward-looking" but this is a diverse and subtle project that covers a ...great big sea. Note especially the joyful, raw call-and-response holler of "General Taylor" that starts things out with a bang, contrasted with a heartrending cover of Tom Waits' "Briar and the Rose" that closes the collection with dignity. Very nicely done. Tracklisting: 1. Great Big Sea: General Taylor (Trad.) 2. J.P. Cormier : Kelly's Mountain (J.P. Cormier) 3. Celtic Connection: Last Shanty (Tom Lewis) 4. Barra MacNeils : Misty Moisty Morning (Trad.) 5. The Rankin Family: North Country (Jimmy Rankin) 6. Rawlins Cross: Macphersons Lament (Trad.) 7. Rita MacNeil: Working Man (Rita MacNeil) 8. Ashley MacIsaac : Sleepy Maggie (Mary Jane Lamond / Ashley MacIsaac / Peter Prilesnick / Gordie Sampson) 9. The Irish Descendants : Barrett's Privateers (Stan Rogers) 10. Ron Hynes : Sonny's Dream (Ron Hynes) 11. Natalie MacMaster : Drunken Piper (Jerry Holland) 12. Shanneygannock : Whiskey In The Jar (Trad.) 13. The Fables : Heave Away (Trad.) 14. Lennie Gallant : Which Way Does The River Run? (Lennie Gallant) 15. The Cottars : Briar & The Rose (Tom Waits)"

Espana Celta
Avalon
Espana Celta
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 11/9/2018 4:00 PM


"Avalon discs showcase unusual, small-label Celtic artists from within Europe, not only traditional Irish folk, but the wealth of Celtic music rooted in Scottish, English traditions, and beyond, wherever Celtic musical influences take root. Here we hear the influence of Celtic traditions in Portugal and Spain. Very unusual, very enjoyable. Tracklisting: Berroguetto - Cancro cru (1996) Brenga Astur - Cau'l Chouzano (1998) Fla Na Roca - Sara (1997) Xeue Mate - Canto De Reis (1997) Na Lua - Os Tempos son chegados (year?) Balandran - El Vixe (1997) Fla Na Roca - A Mesquita (1997) Xeque Mate - Santa Compana (1997) Berroguetto - Anubia (1996) Baloandran - Onde la mar (1997) Xos Manuel Budio - Marcha de Breixo (1998)"

Sanctuary By The Sea
Jim Wilson
Sanctuary By The Sea
Label: Green Hill
Release Date: 4/19/2011
Review by: Mark G. (markg731). - 10/29/2018 2:28 PM


"NOTE: This is the SAME CD as "A Place in My Heart." It was re-issued on the Green Hill music label. Same tracks, same order."

Santana
Santana
Santana
Label: Import
Release Date: 10/24/2006
Review by: Otheriver W. (Otheriver). - 10/29/2018 1:18 PM


"Track list: 1. Soul Sacrifice 2. Jingo 3. Evil Ways 4. La Puesta Del Sol 5. With a Little Help From My Friends 6. Latin Tropical (short version) 7. Persuasion 8. Jam in E 9. Let's Get Ourselves Together 10. Travelin' Blues 11. As The Years Go By 12. Acapulco Sunrise"

Rose of Bethlehem
Selah
Rose of Bethlehem
Label: Curb Special Markets
Release Date: 10/29/2002
Review by: Judy G.. - 10/25/2018 9:28 AM


"I love this CD. I love Selah and the way they keep the integrity of the classic hymns and make them so alive with passion. The new Christmas songs on this cd are excellent as well. It's a 10 in my book."

Christmas Rap Music
Crew X
Christmas Rap Music
Review by: John C. (jac27187). - 10/24/2018 12:07 PM


"1 The First Noel 2 Up On The Housetop 3 We Three Kings 4 Jingle Bells 5 O Little Town Of Bethlehem 6 Deck The Halls 7 Joy To The World 8 It Came Upon A Midnight Clear 9 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing 10 Twelve Days Of Christmas 11 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen 12 The Christmas Rap"

Greatest Hits Roe Tommy
Roe Tommy
Greatest Hits Roe Tommy
Label: Rectrack
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 10/23/2018 7:27 PM


"the cd that matches this upc are ALL ORIGINAL VERSIONS, from his ABC period. Track listing not as listed. Picture the same. Sheila Dizzy Hooray For Hazel Stir It Up And Serve It Your Touch Is The Best Thing In Life Everybody Sweet Pea Jam Up Jelly Tight Heather Honey Snowman"

Modern imMaturity
Modern Man
Modern imMaturity
Label: Inverted turtle
Review by: Derek J. (stabthefreak). - 10/21/2018 9:41 PM


"According to CDBaby: Songs and comedy trio, filling the gap between the Three Tenors and the Three Stooges."

Borders Presents Award Winning Blues On Alligator Records
Various Artists
Borders Presents Award Winning Blues On Alligator Records
Label: Alligator
Review by: Daniel T. (djtal). - 10/19/2018 8:15 AM


"01. Shemekia Copeland - It's 2 A.M. 02. Rusty Zinn - The Big Eye 03. Elvin Bishop & Little Smokey Smothers - That's My Partner (Live) 04. Koko Taylor with B.B. King - Blues Hotel 05. Coco Montoya - I Need Your Love in My Life 06. Katie Webster - Two-Fisted Mama 07. Luther Allison - What's Going on in My Home 08. Sonny Terry with Johnny Winter and Willie Dixon - Roll Me, Baby 09. Little Charlie and The Nightcats - Dump That Chump 10. Corey Harris, Henry Butler - If You Let a Man Kick You Once 11. Lil' Ed and The Blues Imperials - I'm Your Santa 12. William Clarke - Saturday Night Blues 13. Carey Bell and Junior Wells - Second Hand Man 14. Albert Collins and The Icebreakers - Ego Trip 15. Hound Dog Taylor & The House Rockers - Ain't Got Nobody"

Loveless Fascination
Starship featuring Mickey Thomas
Loveless Fascination
Label: Loud & Proud Records
Release Date: 9/17/2013
Review by: David P.. - 10/18/2018 7:51 AM


"2013 album by Starship (featuring Mickey Thomas). 1st Starship album since 1989. Rockier than earlier albums with more emphasis on guitars than keyboards. Thomas is in good voice and the material (all written by Jeff Pilsen of Foreigner) is solid."

L.a. Woman
Doors
L.a. Woman
Label: Wea/East West
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 10/17/2018 6:18 AM


"Long time favorite and one of the two essential DOORS albums, 'The Doors', and this . Three essentials , Riders of the Storm, incredible atmospheric and Manzarek's best work, Crawlin King snake cover , raunchy Morrison letting his inner funk , and the title cut LA Woman. If in need a rocker let loose with MR MOJO RISIN and see if the speedometer isn't topped out. A balanced album that sets the tone and lets it rip."

Dark Clouds
Stu Goldberg & Cassius Khan, Jennifer Lauren Goldberg
Dark Clouds
Label: Dedication Records
Release Date: 10/17/2006
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 10/12/2018 3:51 PM


"Very elegant, spacious free-form piano and tabla/frame drum improvisations - with more than a hint of India in the music. In spirit, an instrumental album, but two tracks include vocal "instruments": Jennifer Lauren Goldberg brings a cool and light, nuanced and soulful voice that weaves between the other two comfortably on "Rain", and Cassius Khan joins on the final track, "Dark Clouds": Khan sings in Hindi and Goldberg "replies" in English. Beautiful, original music. --icb Below is a little more information, borrowed from elsewhere. Stu Goldberg, former keyboardist with the Mahavishnu Orchestra, John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola, Wayne Shorter, Billy Cobham, Jack Bruce, Freddie Hubbard and others leads this spirited album on piano and percussion featuring Cassius Khan on tabla and vocals with Jennifer Lauren Goldberg on vocals. Innovative, all acoustic, multicultural World Music featuring inspired solos, duos, trios and ensembles combining elements of Jazz, Indian, Ghazals, New Orleans and Blues. Recorded & mixed in pristine high resolution stereo and 5.0 multichannel surround. Track listing: "Ragamala" 21:13 Piano - table duo. An intense magicaljourney through many musical styles and cultures. "Rain" 6:59 Soulful vocals, piano and percussion. "Keherwa" 6:30 Spirited hand percussion duo. "Dark Clouds" 19:43 A symphony of haunting vocals, piano and a table tour de force."

Maria Falling Away
Rick Cox
Maria Falling Away
Label: Cold Blue Label
Original Release Date: 1/1/1990
Re-Release Date: 10/30/2001
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 10/12/2018 2:12 PM


"There's a kind of hazy halo like an urban streetlight to this music. Jazz? If so, in spirit, not strict form -- featuring a sweet muted solo jazz trumpet, but also some soft glowing washes of sound underneath, and just the occasional touch of slow-handed percussion. A beautiful hybrid, minimal on both sides: worthy of the best ambient music, but hip, offhand and occasionally jazzy, too. Anything but trendy. From elsewhere around the web: "A quietly meditative, thought-provoking experience." -- International Record Review "Chilling atmospheres . . . its tones and timbres are subtle and suggestive. -- Incursion Music Review "His enveloping harmonies are less innocent than they first appear. Prettiness with a tough core." -- The Wire "Rick is a hidden master of the crepuscular and the diaphanous." -- Ry Cooder "Very cinematic, it seems structured in tableaux of varying densities and hues. . . . rich but still accessible music." -- All-Music Guide"

Tac-Tic
Teria
Tac-Tic
Label: CD Baby
Release Date: 8/5/2016
Review by: Steve P. (zombiewarrior). - 10/9/2018 2:30 PM


"French Canadian folk rock from Montreal with some very nice electric guitar harmonies here and there. The harmony at the beginning of 'Amour Libre' is simply amazing and almost Maidenesque but sadly after a few minutes the band continues with their traditional Cowboys Fringants sound (not a rip-off but very similar). I wish the electric guitars were throughout the whole album but fans of folk rock, which I'm not thus the reason of my low score, will still enjoy. PS : My copy isnt the CD Baby one but the privately made by the band itself so rarer ;)"

Coming Home
Kristin Chenoweth
Coming Home
Label: 10 Spot
Release Date: 11/18/2014
Review by: Lucille C.. - 10/7/2018 11:58 AM


"Not super fond of 斗ive cds, where the artist talks to the audience. But having said that, this cd has some great selections and I am enjoying it."

Are You Hep to Jive
Cab Calloway
Are You Hep to Jive
Label: Sony
Original Release Date: 8/9/1994
Release Date: 8/9/1994
Review by: Kevin G. (kkg-ct). - 10/3/2018 6:09 AM


"As a Cab fan, a tremendous compilation of the master of hipster pitter patter. Original and unmistakable style throughout leaves you feeling AL REET. The level of recording is very good and the song versions are wonderful. So put on that wide brimmed hat , keep hep and get in step ! If this doesn't have you moving , check, you might be dead"

I Walk The Line-2 CD Box
Patsy Cline, Ferlin Husky, Don Gibson, Faron Young, and more Johnny Cash
I Walk The Line-2 CD Box
Review by: Shirl P.. - 10/2/2018 7:29 PM


"Original Artists Good Sound Disk 1 1. I WALK THE LINE ~ JOHNNY CASH 2. SEND ME THE PILLOW YOU DREAM ON ~ HANK LOCKLIN 3. WALKIN' AFTER MIDNIGHT ~ PATSY CLINE 4. CRAZY ARMS ~ RAY PRICE 5. I DON'T BELIEVE YOU'VE MET MY BABY ~ THE LOUVIN BROTHERS 6. WATERLOO ~ STONEWALL JACKSON 7. NO HELP WANTED ~ BILL CARLISLE 8. GONNA FIND ME A BLUEBIRD ~ MARVIN RAINWATER 9. DOWN YONDER ~ DEL WOOD 10. GONE ~ FERLIN HUSKY Disk 2 1. OH, LONESOME ME ~ DON GIBSON 2. THE FOOL ~ SANFORD CLARK 3. THE WILD SIDE OF LIFE ~ HANK THOMPSON 4. IT WAN'T GOD WHO MADE HONKY TONK ANGELS ~ KITTY WELLS 5. SLOW POKE ~ PEE WEE KING 6. COUNTRY GIRL ~ FARON YOUNG 7. MY SPECIAL ANGEL ~ BOBBY HELMS 8. LOOSE TALK ~ CARL SMITH 9. A SATISFIED MIND ~ PORTER WAGONER 10. BIG MIDNIGHT SPECIAL ~ WILMA LEE AND STONEY COOPER"

The Folk Years
Various
The Folk Years
Review by: Scott P. (Garoadrunner). - 10/1/2018 8:30 PM


"Some info would be nice."