Newest CD/Album Reviews

Play It Loud
Various Artists
Play It Loud
Label: Universal
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 4/2/2007
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 1/19/2017 10:08 PM


"40 tunes on this two-disc import from Universal Music TV (2007). DISC ONE KAISER CHIEFS Ruby KLAXONS Golden Skans KILLERS Bones FALL OUT BOY This Ain't a Scene.. FRATELLIS Chelsea Dagger AUTOMATIC Raoul OASIS Live Forever STONE ROSES I Am the Resurrection HARD-FI Living for the Weekend MAXIMO PARK Going Missing FEEDER Just the Way I'm Feeling OCEAN COLOUR SCENE Riverboat Song ASH Burn Baby Burn HAPPY MONDAYS Kinky Afro STEREOPHONICS Dakota GOMEZ Whippin' Piccadilly LITTLE MAN TATE Sexy in Latin DIRTY PRETTY THINGS Bang Bang You're Dead JANE'S ADDICTION Been Caught Stealing FAT BOY SLIM Praise You DISC TWO RAZORLIGHT Before I Fall to Pieces SNOW PATROL Run BLOC PARTY The Prayer FEELING Love It When You Call TRAVIS Writing to Reach You CHARLATANS My Beautiful Friend ORDINARY BOYS Boys Will Be Boys ECHOBELLY Great Things LIBERTINES What Became of the Lonely Lads SUPERGRASS Going Out SHED SEVEN Going for Gold YOUNG KNIVES She's Attracted To PULP Common People PAUL WELLER The Changingman FAITH NO MORE Epic BOY KILL BOY Suzie SLEEPER Inbetweener GENE As Good As It Gets RAKES We Danced Together JET Rollover DJ"

90's Pop Hits
Various Artists
90's Pop Hits
Label: Sony Cmg Mkt Group
Release Date: 10/1/2002
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 1/19/2017 6:09 PM


"40 Hits, all original versions as you remember them from radio, etc. DISC ONE WILL SMITH Gettin' Jiggy Wit It EAGLE-EYE CHERRY Save Tonight DES'REE You Gotta Be SHAWN MULLINS Lullabye CLIVILLES & COLE Pride (In the Name..) TOAD THE WET SPROCKET All I Want JIMMY CLIFF I Can See Clearly Now BROWNSTONE If You Love Me DOG'S EYE VIEW Everything Falls Apart XSCAPE Just Kickin' It GROOVE THEORY Tell Me LUTHER VANDROSS Power of Love/Love Power PAUL YOUNG Oh Girl DISC TWO LAURYN HILL Doo Wop (That Thing) DIONNE FARRIS I Know SPIN DOCTORS Two Princes GENERAL PUBLIC Take You There INI KAMOZE Here Comes the Hotstepper PRESIDENTS OF THE USA Lump C+C MUSIC FACTORY Gonna Make You Sweat DIANA KING Shy Guy M PEOPLE Moving on Up NKOTB Step By Step DA BRAT Funkdafied SUNSCREEM Love You More SPONGE Molly (Sixteen Candles) DISC THREE DESTINY'S CHILD No, No, No Part II LEN Steal My Sunshine LORD TARIQ & PETER GUNZ Deja Vu BLAQUE 808 KRIS KROSS Jump COVER GIRLS Wishing on a Star MANDY MOORE Candy BIG AUDIO DYNAMITE Rush PRIMITIVE RADIO GODS Standing Outside.. LISA LISA Let the Beat Hit'Em BABYFACE This Is for the Lover in You JOE PUBLIC Live and Learn BIZARRE INC I'm Gonna Get You FIREHOUSE Love of a Lifetime"

Mojo the New Dictionary of Blues and Soul
Various Artists
Mojo the New Dictionary of Blues and Soul
Label: Mojo
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 1/18/2017 12:19 PM


"Tracklist 1 –Eli "Paperboy" Reed & The True Loves (Doin' The) Boom Boom 3:19 2 –Edgar 'Jones' Jones* Necessary Evil 3:20 3 –Sugarman 3, The* Chicken Half 3:22 4 –Naomi Shelton & Gospel Queens, The What Have You Done? 3:27 5 –Nicole Willis & The Soul Investigators If This Ain't Love 3:27 6 –James Hunter No Smoke Without Fire 3:01 7 –New Mastersounds, The Return To Gíjón 3:21 8 –Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings 100 Days, 100 Nights 3:42 9 –Watermelon Slim Hard Times 4:11 10 –Black Keys, The So He Won't Break 4:09 11 –José James Blackeyedsusan 4:46 12 –Beth Rowley Nobody's Fault But Mine 3:45 13 –Seasick Steve Things Go Up 3:29 14 –Pete Molinari I Don't Like The Man I Am 3:23 15 –Marie Knight Let Us Get Together 3:14"

Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits
Stevie Ray Vaughan
Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble: Greatest Hits
Label: Sony
Original Release Date: 10/31/1995
Release Date: 10/31/1995
Review by: Sandra K.. - 1/16/2017 9:31 AM


"This is a great CD!"

Untold
John Mccutcheon
Untold
Label: Appalsongs
Release Date: 11/10/2009
Review by: Pam M.. - 1/14/2017 9:52 PM


"This is a glorious CD. The first disc highlights John's wonderful storytelling and the second disc has 12 beautiful songs. John is one of the most talented singer songwriters out there. His voice is warm and resonant and he'said a talented multi instrumentalist. His beautifully crafted work will warm your soul."

Bullet With Butterfly Wings
Smashing Pumpkins
Bullet With Butterfly Wings
Label: Hut
Review by: Robert P. (Boberty). - 1/13/2017 9:25 AM


"7 song ep: 1. Bullet with Butterfly Wings 2. ... Said Sadly 3. You're All I've Got Tonight 4.clones (We're All) 5. A Night Like This 6. Destination Unknown 7. Dreaming"

Stand
Ken Mickey
Stand
Release Date: 8/12/2008
Review by: Len S. (3). - 1/11/2017 11:36 AM


"The debut from this High Point, N.C. artist expresses familiar laments on life in a refreshing way. The collection feels a bit like looking back onto a period of depression with the sharpened tools of one who has survived and even flourished thanks to the lessons learned. That's not to say that this is a depressing CD, though some songs will definitely knock on that door. As a true representative of the Americana art form, Ken intersperses hopefulness and celebration on the roller-coaster of storytelling. As far as similarities to known artists, Ken seems that he would feel right at home in the post-Haight-Asbury invasion that predated punk or the mid-80s return from Electronica. Bands like The Plimsouls and The Pixies come to mind. Ken's voice melds perfectly with the tone and style of his music -- a deceptively low-priced ticket to join the ranks of Americana artists. Further releases will determine if he can build on a solid foundation with lyrics that touch us all. This debut is a fine start."

Disco Fever
Disco Fever
Disco Fever
Label: Madacy
Original Release Date: 4/26/2000
Re-Release Date: 8/28/2002
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 1/8/2017 6:52 PM


"The database indicates this as a Madacy release, but I have it as a German Sony set. It is correctly a 3-disc affair, as properly noted in "CD Details" on this page. They also messed up the track lists, so I'm providing a list below. There are a few welcome oddities here, including Unidisc tracks by Bohannon, Nick Straker, Indeep, Shannon, Musique, and Sharon Redd. Legendary O Records is represented by the Flirts and Divine. Most of the rest of the content is from the Sony Family, with too-familiar stuff from Labelle, Cheryl Lynn, etc., though you do get Billy Paul's seldom-seen 1977 revival of Jerry Butler's "Only the Strong Survive." There are a few odd-label choices like Evelyn Thomas, Imagination, Shirley & Co., John Paul Young, and Timex Social Club. ALL of the above-mentioned are the original versions you heard at the time they were popular. Then...unfortunately...THERE ARE SOME REMAKES. The tracks by Gloria Gaynor, Amii Stewart, George McCrae, Scotch, Kano, and Tony Esposito are all re-recordings done in the 1990s. All songs except three are the "single edit" versions that would have been used for 7" singles releases and radio play. You do get a 5:41 version of Indeep's great "Last Night a DJ Saved My Life." The O records tracks by Divine (6:26) and The Flirts (5:00) are possibly the 12" single tracks? DISC ONE PATRICK HERNANDEZ Born to Be Alive SYLVESTER You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real) OTTAWAN D.I.S.C.O. CARL DOUGLAS Kung Fu Fighting MICHAEL ZAGER BAND Let's All Chant ODYSSEY Going Back to My Roots EARTH WIND & FIRE Boogie Wonderland DAN HARTMAN Relight My Fire JACKSONS Can You Feel It BILLY PAUL Only The Strong Survive WEATHER GIRLS It's Raining Men REAL THING You to Me Are Everything TINA CHARLES I Love to Love SHAREN REDD Can You Handle It GLORIA GAYNOR Never Can Say Goodbye (RE) DISC TWO LABELLE Lady Marmalade WILD CHERRY Play That Funky Music CHERYL LYNN Got to Be Real EARTH WIND & FIRE Let's Groove BILLY OCEAN Stay the Night JACKSONS Blame It on the Boogie SHIRLEY & CO. Shame, Shame, Shame BOHANNON Disco Stomp ANITA WARD Ring My Bell SHALAMAR Second Time Around AMII STEWART Knock on Wood (RE) GEORGE McCRAE Rock My No. 1's Medley (RE) JOHN PAUL YOUNG Love Is In the Air NICK STRAKER BAND A Walk in the Park EARTH & FIRE Weekend DISC THREE HOT CHOCOLATE You Sexy Thing INDEEP Last Night a DJ Saved My Life MUSIQUE In the Bush EVELYN THOMAS High Energy ELECTRIC LIGHT ORCH Don't Bring Me Down FLIRTS Passion DIVINE Shoot Your Shot SCOTCH Disco Band (RE) KANO Another Life (RE) M Pop Musik SHANNON Let the Music Play TIMES SOCIAL CLUB Rumors TONY ESPOSITO Kalimba de Luna (RE) IMAGINATION Just an Illusion THREE DEGREES Dirty Ol' Man"

Disco Fever
Disco Fever
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 1/7/2017 8:21 PM


"McFadden & Whitehead Ain't No Stopping Us Now 3:35 1-2 –Lou Rawls Lady Love 4:02 1-3 –Santa Esmeralda Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood 3:24 1-4 –Hot Chocolate Sexy Thing 3:45 1-5 –Suzi Quatro If You Can't Give Me Love 3:56 1-6 –Dr. Hook When You're In Love With A Beautiful Woman 2:57 1-7 –Harpo Movie Star 3:21 1-8 –Tavares Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel 6:34 1-9 –La Bionda One For You, One For Me 3:33 1-10 –Racey Some Girls 3:27 1-11 –Viola Wills Goona Get Along Without You Now 3:19 1-12 –Gerry Rafferty Baker Street 4:09 1-13 –KC & The Sunshine Band That's The Way I Like It 5:06 1-14 –Average White Band Pick Up The Pieces 3:58 1-15 –Delegation Where Is The Love 5:13 2-1 –Spargo You And Me 4:09 2-2 –Kelly Marie Feels Like I'm In Love 4:00 2-3 –Dr. Hook Sexy Eyes 3:01 2-4 –Hot Chocolate Every 1's A Winner 4:01 2-5 –Moments* & Whatnauts* Girls 3:09 2-6 –Sugarhill Gang Rapper's Delight 4:50 2-7 –The Real Thing You To Me Are Everything 3:27 2-8 –George McCrae Rock Your Baby 3:16 2-9 –Marshall Hain Dancing In The City 3:45 2-10 –KC & The Sunshine Band Please Don't Go 3:51 2-11 –Carl Douglas Kung Fu Fighting 3:08 2-12 –The Trammps Hold Back The Night 3:54 2-13 –Leo Sayer You Make Me Feel Like Dancing 3:41 2-14 –Viola Wills If You Could Read My Mind 2:58 2-15 –Frankie Miller Darlin'"

Yo Mtv Raps
Various Artists
Yo Mtv Raps
Label: Jive
Release Date: 5/25/1989
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 1/6/2017 8:01 PM


"JAZZY JEFF/FRESH PRINCE Parents Just.. (5:38) ROB BASE & DJ E-Z ROCK It Takes Two (5:00) SALT 'N' PEPA Shake Your Thing (5:16) ICE-T High Roller (4:36) TOO SHORT Life Is...Too Short (Clean 8:16) DE LA SOUL Potholes in My Lawn (3:49) KID N' PLAY Gittin' Funky (4:41) KOOL MOE DEE Wild Wild West (5:32) BOOGIE DOWN PRODUCTIONS My Philosophy (6:36) STETSASONIC Talkin' All That Jazz (7:00) STEADY B Serious (4:27)"

Life By Stereo
J.R.
Life By Stereo
Label: Cross Movement
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 1/2/2008
Review by: Roslyn J. (Hlyfavored1). - 1/2/2017 8:55 AM


"I like just certain songs on this CD and not totally blown away like I thought I was going to be"

Gap Gold
Gap Band
Gap Gold
Label: Polygram Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/1987
Re-Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Teresa R. (galleywench). - 12/22/2016 4:34 PM


"I love funk. This is funk!"

Axes and Saxes: The Great Instrumentals (The Rock N Roll Era)
Various Artists
Axes and Saxes: The Great Instrumentals (The Rock N Roll Era)
Label: TIME LIFE
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/20/2016 8:56 PM


"This 22-track disc from Time-Life has a solid lineup of hit instrumentals, all but one a Billboard chart item during the period 1958-1964. The one non-charted song is "Apache," which WAS a top 10 hit in 1961, for Danish guitarist Jorgen Ingmann. The compiler(s) of this CD chose to include an earlier recording of the song by The Shadows, Cliff Richard's back-up band. They had recorded the song after hearing an earlier version by British guitarist Bert Weedon. The Shadows' recording reached #1 in England but did nothing when released here in the USA. Jorgen Ingmann released the song as the intended B-side of a 45 but deejays "flipped" over it and it became a #2 hit for Ingmann. The "Apache" saga is covered in detail in a fine book by Steve Otfinoski, "The Golden Age of Rock Instrumentals," a Billboard book from 1997. One barely-charted entry here is "Baja" by The Astronauts, a Colorado group that adopted a surf music style through four albums and a dozen singles for RCA Records in 1963-64, when the label was hoping for a discovery like Capitol Records had with the Beach Boys at the time. But "Baja" was the only single that charted for them...debuting at #94 the last week of July, 1963...and disappearing forever the week after. Here's the track list for "Axes and Saxes": DICK DALE & HIS DEL-TONES Misirlou LONNIE MACK Wham! BILL BLACK'S COMBO Smokie Part 2 FREDDY KING Hide Away RUMBLERS Boss COZY COLE Topsy Part 2 LEE ALLEN & HIS BAND Walkin' With Mr. Lee VENTURES Slaughter on Tenth Avenue SANDY NELSON Let There Be Drums PYRAMIDS Penetration VISCOUNTS Harlem Nocturne SHADOWS Apache PHIL UPCHURCH COMBO You Can't Sit Down Part 1 RAMRODS (Ghost) Riders in the Sky CHAMPS El Rancho Rock ASTRONAUTS Baja LES COOPER & THE SOUL ROCKERS Wiggle Wobble WILLIE MITCHELL 20-75 DUANE EDDY Peter Gunn JACK NITZSCHE Lonely Surfer BILLY JOE & THE CHECKMATES Percolator (Twist) ACE CANNON Tuff"

Dancing the Night Away Groovy Disco Hits
Pier 1 Import
Dancing the Night Away Groovy Disco Hits
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/20/2016 4:39 PM


"This disc, sold at Pier One stores in 2004, offers a dozen danceable hits from 1974-1980. Most are in the shorter, radio-friendly versions you heard on Top 40 and Urban stations back then (though you do get a 6:39 version of "Love Machine" and 5:33 worth of "Turn the Beat Around"). Actually, I was happy to find this for the edit of LTD's "Back in Love Again," since most LTD/Jeffrey Osborne compilations seem to use an unnecessarily long 8:39 version. This version, at 4:39, is still longer than the original 45 rpm single, which was cut down to 3:40. These are all original recordings, no remakes. EARTH WIND & FIRE September (3:36) EMOTIONS Best of My Love (3:41) LOVE AND KISSES Thank God It's Friday (3:13) DIANA ROSS Upside Down (4:04) LTD Back in Love Again (4:39) EVELYN CHAMPAGNE KING Shame (2:58) KOOL & THE GANG Ladies' Night (3:28) GLORIA GAYNOR Never Can Say Goodbye (2:57) PEACHES & HERB Shake Your Groove Thing (3:25) MIRACLES Love Machine (6:49) YVONNE ELLIMAN If I Can't Have You (2:55) VICKI SUE ROBINSON Turn the Beat Around (5:33)"

Lost in Love 2 Cd SET
The Cars, Eric Carmen, Sheriff, Johnny Hates Jazz, Elton John, Glenn Frey, Billy Vera & The Beaters, The Jets, Nicolette Larson, Dan Hill
Lost in Love 2 Cd SET
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/20/2016 4:16 PM


"There are 36 Top 40 hits from 1974-1990 on this 2-disc set, a "seen on TV" package from Heartland Music/Warner Special Products. All tracks are the original versions you remember from the radio...no remakes or re-recordings! DISC ONE CARS Drive ERIC CARMEN Hungry Eyes SHERIFF When I'm With You JOHNNY HATES JAZZ Shattered Dreams MEAT LOAF Two out of Three Ain't Bad L RONSTADT/A NEVILLE Don't Know Much DOOBIE BROTHERS Real Love SPANDAU BALLET True REO SPEEDWAGON Can't Fight This Feeling ELTON JOHN Sacrifice LOU GRAMM Just Between You and Me BANGLES Eternal Flame GLENN FREY True Love BILLY VERA/BEATERS At This Moment ELO Can't Get It Out of My Head JETS You Got It All CHAMPAIGN How 'Bout Us RICHARD MARX Right Here Waiting DISC TWO FOREIGNER Don't Want to Live W/Out You KANSAS All I Wanted ATLANTIC STARR Secret Lovers ALAN PARSONS PROJECT Eye in the Sky MOODY BLUES Your Wildest Dreams CHRISTOPHER CROSS Arthur's Theme NICOLETTE LARSEN Let Me Go, Love DAN HILL Can't We Try ROBBIE DUPREE Steal Away DAN HARTMAN I Can Dream About You DONNY OSMOND Sacred Emotion BOY MEETS GIRL Waiting for a Star to Fall AIR SUPPLY Making Love Out of Nothing... EXPOSE Seasons Change STARSHIP Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now KINKS Don't Forget to Dance DEBBIE GIBSON Foolish Beat RESTLESS HEART I'll Still Be Loving You"

H.M.S. Mondegreen
H.M.S. Mondegreen
Label: Skin and Bone
Original Release Date: 1/1/2004
Re-Release Date: 8/17/2004
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 12/16/2016 9:09 PM


"The musican here is English singer/songwriter Kennedy Greenrod, aka the Thin Man. This is a warm, earthy record, with witty, surprising lyrics set against a kind of rowdy, raunchy, crunchy carny-sideshow sound that made me think of No Smoking Orchestra. The singer's vocal style is perfect for the clever lyrics: he offers them up in a dry, almost laconic delivery that has some of the stretchy twang of Mick Jagger, but is delivered about an octave lower. I have to like the real-instruments lineup backing him up, too. Again, this is more like an Eastern European bar band with some punk rowdyness, featuring woozy horns, a banjo, a concertina, and maybe even a cello in there to class things up a bit. I read a review that offered a few references to get you in the right wheelhouse for this record. The review mentions "Transylvanian tin pan alley" (check) and "Rain Dogs era Tom Waits"(yep) and says this: "[H.M.S. Mondegreen] glows with the warmth of near-drunk musicians gathered around a gypsy campfire, and the fact that it feels as accessible to the weary traveler as it does a twelve-toed carny makes it that much more unique." Yes and yes. Enjoyable, smart, upbeat and highly unusual."

Och Resan Fortsatter Har
Pluxus
Och Resan Fortsatter Har
Label: Rocket Girl Records
Release Date: 6/25/2002
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 12/16/2016 8:24 PM


"Borrowing heavily from Bandcamp:

Award winners in their native Sweden, Pluxus are now set to release their UK debut och resan fortsätter här. From pulsing title track to introspective finish, these nine songs are both uplifting and engaging - electronica with a naive touch.

‘Kraftwerk hid behind a cold ironic pose, Pluxus removes the distance intrinsic to electronic music and playfully acknowledges its musical ancestry, integrating everything from polka to traditional choral music. It’s impossible not to get sucked into Pluxus¹ dreamy soundscapes and quirky sense of humour.’ Drawer B

‘Pluxus take their direction from early 80s synth pop, think Human League and Depeche Mode. Many of the tracks are short , which makes this a lively affair, with quick changing moods, from child-like happiness to an unsettling atmosphere followed by happy hammond.’ Earlabs

‘Pluxus comes from Sweden but lives in Pluxemburg, a usually lively world filled with playful inventiveness and tons of electronic charm. On "Och resan fortsätter här" ("The Journey Continues Here") you're given the opportunity to go on an imaginative tour around Pluxemburg, riding on some of the sweetest melodies and funniest sounds ever combined. Watch "Djurens kavalkad" ("The Cavalcade of the Animals") pass by or experience "Magnetiska fält" ("Magnetic Fields") or perhaps take some time to just "Hacka, gräva, skotta, så ga" ("Hoe, Dig, Shovel, Saw") - visit Pluxembourg I’m sure you¹ll enjoy every second of your stay’ Release

https://pluxus-och-resan-forsatter-har-rocketgirl.bandcamp.com

"

Standard Songs for Average People
John Prine & Mac Wiseman
Standard Songs for Average People
Label: Oh Boy
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 4/24/2007
Review by: Bill K. (jukebox). - 12/12/2016 8:52 AM


"Pretty low energy performance by two artists that I've really enjoyed on other recordings."

Country Christmas (Time-Life)
Various Artists
Country Christmas (Time-Life)
Label: Time-Life Music
Review by: Shirl P.. - 12/11/2016 8:02 PM


"Disc 1 Loretta Lynn - Country Christmas George Strait - Santa Claus Is Coming To Town Elvis Presley - I'll Be Home For Christmas Gene Autry - Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer Buck Owens - Santa's Gonna Come In A Stagecoach Merle Haggard - If We Make It Through December Roy Orbison - Pretty Paper Marty Robbins - Christmas Prayer George Jones & Tammy Wynette - Mr. And Mrs. Santa Claus Jim Reeves - An old Christmas Card Willie Nelson - Jingle Bells Bill Monroe - Christmas Time's a Comin' Statler Brothers - Carols Those Kids Used to Sing Reba McEntire - Away in a Manger Alabama - Tennessee Christmas Roger Miller - Old Toy Trains Elvis Presley - Blue Christmas Chet Atkins - Jingle Bell Rock Charley Pride - Christmas In My Hometown Ernest Tubb - I'll Be Walkin' The Floor This Christmas Disc 2 Dolly Parton - Winter Wonderland Buck Owens - Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy Dwight Yoakam - Santa Claus Is Back In Town Elvis Presley - If Everyday Was Like Christmas The Louvin Brothers - It Came Upon A Midnight Clear Gene Autry - Here Comes Santa Claus George Strait - When It's Christmas Time In Texas Hank Snow - Reindeer Boogie Ronnie Milsap - It's Christmas Loretta Lynn - It Won't Seem Like Christmas George Jones - My Mom And Santa Claus Tammy Wynette - White Christmas Johnny Cash - The Little Drummer Boy Alabama - Christmas In Dixie Charley Pride - Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow Eddy Arnold - C-H-R-I-S-T-M-A-S Dolly Parton - Hard Candy Christmas Merle Haggard - Going Home For Christmas John Anderson - The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire) Reba McEntire - Silent Night"

Shimmy Down the Chimney: A Country Christmas
Various Artists
Shimmy Down the Chimney: A Country Christmas
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 10/12/2004
Review by: Sirry D. (SirryD). - 12/9/2016 9:39 AM


"Very special cd. Sure to make your Christmas bright. Front insert is a complete booklet highlighting all 18 songs and artists. Amazing and varied collection of holiday music. Check the 18 tracks; some new songs, some old, all exceptional. Belongs in your Christmas library."

Best Of: Softly With These Songs
Roberta Flack
Best Of: Softly With These Songs
Label: Atlantic UK
Original Release Date: 6/22/1993
Release Date: 6/22/1993
Review by: Sirry D. (SirryD). - 12/5/2016 6:49 PM


"Beautiful clear recordings. My favorite compilation which includes her big hits. Could listen all day! 17 songs!"

Best Rock-a-Boogie Red Hot Xmas Ever
Best Rock-a-Boogie Red Hot Xmas Ever
Best Rock-a-Boogie Red Hot Xmas Ever
Label: Indie Europe/Zoom
Release Date: 1/6/2009
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/4/2016 5:32 PM


"Great old-timey Christmas stuff. The Voices were an LA doo-wop group including Bob & Earl. Both sides of their 1955 holiday single on Cash Records are here, along with the Nic Nacs (AKA the Robins or the Coasters), who added female blues belter Mickey Champion to their lineup and recorded "Gonna Have a Merry Christmas" as the b-side to a 1950 single for the RPM label. The Cameos' record was an early release on the Cameo label (naturally) and is a fine uptempo doo-wop tune from 1957. Also of note: both sides of the Moonglows' 1953 Chance Records offering, and the duo of Louis Jordan & Ella Fitzgerald on "Baby It's Cold Outside." This was one of at least four recordings of that song to reach the charts in the SUMMER, not the winter, of 1949. ELVIS PRESLEY Santa Claus Is Back in Town VOICES Santa Claus Boogie OSCAR McLOLLIE Dig That Crazy Santa Claus ELVIS PRESLEY Here Comes Santa Claus JOHNNY MOORE'S 3 BLAZERS Merry Christmas Baby MOONGLOWS Just a Lonely Christmas PAT BOONE Jingle Bells VOICES Santa Claus Baby MOONGLOWS Hey Santa Claus CAMEOS Merry Christmas ELVIS PRESLEY I'll Be Home for Christmas FRANKIE LAINE You're All I Want for Christmas DRIFTERS White Christmas NAT KING COLE Frosty the Snowman BRENDA LEE Christy Christmas FATS WALLER Swingin' Them Jingle Bells NIC NACS Gonna Have a Merry Christmas ELVIS PRESLEY Santa Bring My Baby Back to Me FRANK SINATRA Jingle Bells LOUIS JORDAN/ELLA FITZGERALD Baby, It's Cold.. ORIOLES Oh Holy Night ELVIS PRESLEY Blue Christmas"

Christmas Rappin
Various Artists
Christmas Rappin
Label: Essex
Release Date: 12/14/1992
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/4/2016 4:12 PM


"MC GLOBE Jingle Bells AFRIKA BAMBAATA Deck the Halls RONDU O Come All Ye Faithful MC GLOBE Twas the Night Before Xmas POW WOW We Wish You a Merry Xmas POW WOW Twelve Days of Xmas LASHEYTA THOMAS Silent Night JERMAINE THOMAS The First Noel POW WOW Hark the Herald Angels Sing POW WOW Christmas to a Go-Go"

Twogether Disco Funk : 30 Tubes Disco Funk
Twogether Disco Funk : 30 Tubes Disco Funk
Review by: Eric K. (SoulfulStuff). - 12/3/2016 4:47 PM


"Two-disc import set has some unusual choices for this kind of compilation...along with a lot of the usual suspects (Ladies' Night, Ring My Bell, We Are Family, etc). For some reason, they chose to include L-O-N-G versions of the Boys Town Gang and Michael Zager tunes. DISC ONE BARRY WHITE You're the First, The Last.. (3:22) DONNA SUMMER Hot Stuff (3:46) DIANA ROSS Upside Down (4:05) KOOL & THE GANG Ladies' Night (5:40) CHIC Le Freak (3:30) SISTER SLEDGE We Are Family (3:17) GLORIA GAYNOR I Will Survive (3:17) IRENE CARA Flashdance...What a Feeling (3:49) BOYS TOWN GANG Can't Take My Eyes Off.. (9:29) MICHAEL ZAGER BAND Let's All Chant (8:01) TINA CHARLES I Love to Love (3:18) LIPPS INC. Funkytown (3:56) KAREN YOUNG Hot Shot (4:01) CARL DOUGLAS Kung Fu Fighting (3:12) DELEGATION Darlin' (4:27) DISC TWO GRANDMASTER FLASH The Message (3:09) SUGARHILL GANG Rapper's Delight (3:54) OLIVER CHEATHAM Get Down Saturday Night (3:21) WHISPERS And the Beat Goes On (3:22) SHALAMAR A Night to Remember (3:29) ANITA WARD Ring My Bell (3:12) TRAKS Long Train Runnin' (4:24) SHIRLEY & CO. Shame Shame Shame (3:49) HOT CHOCOLATE You Sexy Thing (3:43) POSITIVE FORCE We Got the Funk (3:29) STRETCH Why Did You Go (3:53) DYNASTY I Don't Wanna Be a Freak (4:47) MIDNIGHT STAR Midas Touch (3:47) LYN COLLINS Think (About It) (3:19) CLAUDJA BARRY Boogie Woogie Dancin' Shoes (3:49)"

Oldies But Goodies 3: Golden Anniversery
Various Artists
Oldies But Goodies 3: Golden Anniversery
Label: Cut 10 is "Bongo Rock" not "Bono Rock" - Preston E
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Shirl P.. - 12/3/2016 12:53 AM


"The real track list for this cd. Great sound. 1. I'm a Believer The Monkees 2. It's My Party Leslie Gore 3. She'd Rather Be With Me The Turtles 4. Surfin' Safari The Beach Boys 5. Sea Cruise Frankie Ford 6. Everything is Beautiful Ray Stevens 7. Come Go With Me - The Dell Vikings 8. Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round The Old Oak Tree Tony Orlando and Dawn 9. It's In His Kiss (The Shoop Shoop Song) - Betty Everett 10. Bongo Rock - Preston Epps 11. Don't You Just Know It - Huey "Piano" Smith & The Clowns 12. Oh What A Night - The Dells 13. You Cheated The Shields 14. My Prayer The Platters 15. Memories of El Monte The Penguins 16. For your Precious Love Jerry Butler & The Impressions 17. Feelings Morris Albert"