Newest CD/Album Reviews

Hymns
Joey+Rory
Hymns
Label: Gaither Music Group
Release Date: 2/12/2016
Review by: Alicia J. (angeloncall). - 3/21/2017 3:16 PM


"Beautiful harmonies. Joey sings like an angel...pure and captivating. Simplicity and heartfelt. So sad we won't hear anymore music from them."

Full Moon Fever
Tom Petty
Full Moon Fever
Label: Mca
Original Release Date: 4/24/1989
Re-Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:54 AM


"This album is a Tom Petty solo effort as opposed to with his band The Heartbreakers. Strange that when it was released, friends were listening to this CD and I knew they did not follow Petty's career from the 1970s and 1980s. The album was so full of hit songs you just had to buy it. Timeless classics here as good as his earlier work or better. A must have album."

The Beautiful Letdown
Switchfoot
The Beautiful Letdown
Label: Sony
Release Date: 6/22/2004
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:50 AM


"All of a sudden I am noticing Switchfoot but they have been around for a while now. Dare You to Move is an excellent anthem type song. This is Your Life has a similar effect. You want to singalong when the song is playing in the CD boombox. The DVD is short but has several video segments and a few audio tracks as well. Audio tracks on the DVD because this is a rock band not a movie."

The Rising
Bruce Springsteen
The Rising
Label: Sony
Original Release Date: 1/1/2000
Re-Release Date: 7/30/2002
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:44 AM


"Bruce Springsteen has only done music and to his credit and benefit. His voice is as solid as ever. On The Rising he explores even gospel music."

Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
Sarah Mclachlan
Fumbling Towards Ecstasy
Label: Arista
Original Release Date: 2/15/1994
Release Date: 2/15/1994
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:42 AM


"Sarah's vocals define an era and this whole album is consistent. Each song is great."

The Best Of The Doors
Doors
The Best Of The Doors
Label: Rhino / Wea
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Re-Release Date: 8/8/2006
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:40 AM


"These songs have stood the test of time and then some. The second CD with fewer songs is as long as the first or longer because of The End song. Jim Morrison's quirky poetry never gets old even 50 years later."

Best of 1980-1990
U2
Best of 1980-1990
Label: Island
Original Release Date: 11/10/1998
Release Date: 11/10/1998
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:37 AM


"The photograph of the military helmet on the boy from U2's War album is appropriate. At times U2 was almost too political for their own good in their 80s and early 90s lyrics. Really this collection of songs could be a rock version of military marching band music. I like the song When Love Comes to Town with BB King and Bono alternating singing."

Alive at Last
Train
Alive at Last
Label: Sony
Release Date: 11/2/2004
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:34 AM


"I really like that song Meet Virginia by this band and to hear it live is even better. However, I wonder what it sounds like on Train's debut album."

Long Road
Nickelback
Long Road
Label: Roadrunner Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2003
Re-Release Date: 9/23/2003
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:31 AM


"This album is porn. That's right, I said it, the lyrics of this album are dirty and I thought I was getting a clean album. This band really degrades females in the worst way. The music is good and I hate to say that because I don't believe these lyrics are necessary. I can see why Avril Lavigne dumped the lead singer on Twitter."

Appetite for Destruction
Guns N' Roses
Appetite for Destruction
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:30 AM


"A metal classic by anyone's standards. Axel Rose has an excellent voice. Some of these songs are marred by too many f-words, but it is heavy metal. This album might have been before the parental advisory rating system. I would like to hear a clean version of this album. I know Axel could belt that out of the park."

Bringing Down the Horse
Wallflowers
Bringing Down the Horse
Label: Interscope Records
Original Release Date: 5/21/1996
Release Date: 5/21/1996
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:27 AM


"Three Marlenas and 6th Avenue Heartache are the standout songs on this album. Jakob Dylan proves his meddle on 6th Avenue Heartache."

Pet Your Friends
Dishwalla
Pet Your Friends
Label: A&M Records
Original Release Date: 8/22/1995
Release Date: 8/22/1995
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:22 AM


"I got this album on the strength of the Counting Blue Cars song. Somewhere a review said Dishwalla was more than that song. Since I had seen Dishwalla on a favorite episode of the TV Series Charmed, I believed in them. This album did not disappoint. A very satisfying listen."

Be Here
Keith Urban
Be Here
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 9/21/2004
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:20 AM


"I got this album from here because of the hype around Keith Urban. This album was the best I could find here, but I can't get into listening to it. Why is Keith Urban a U.S. citizen? Nicole Kidman's bio says she was born in Hawaii... with her accent I doubt it. White foreigners need to go through the same tedious green card process as all others and should not simply be granted U.S. citizenship because of celebrity status. We have a lot of celebrities here... enough I would say, especially ones who are drug abusers like Keith Urban brags about?"

Friends (Television Series)
Various Artists
Friends (Television Series)
Label: Reprise / Wea
Original Release Date: 9/26/1995
Release Date: 9/26/1995
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:15 AM


"For me the Toad the Wet Sprocket song Good Intentions on here seems to define the 1990s even more so than the Friends theme song I'll be There for You by the Rembrandts. Overall some wisecracks by the show's cast round out a solid collection of songs from that decade along with some classic rock from other eras."

Ten
Pearl Jam
Ten
Label: Sony
Original Release Date: 8/27/1991
Release Date: 8/27/1991
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:10 AM


"This Pearl Jam debut album never gets old. I don't know what the band did in their Mother Love Bone (their previous band name) years, but this album really stands out. All songs are under par."

Hits
Joni Mitchell
Hits
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Original Release Date: 10/29/1996
Release Date: 10/29/1996
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:07 AM


"I really like the singalong of Big Yellow Taxi."

New Beginning
Tracy Chapman
New Beginning
Label: Elektra / Wea
Original Release Date: 11/14/1995
Release Date: 11/14/1995
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:06 AM


"In a few words Tracy Chapman can encompass everything in the world. Her raw emotion is without parallel elsewhere in music."

ABBA - Gold: Greatest Hits
Abba
ABBA - Gold: Greatest Hits
Label: Polydor / Umgd
Release Date: 9/21/1993
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:04 AM


"This CD is simply too long but for those fans who want to go further into ABBA's catalogue then they should check out this greatest hits compilation."

20th Century Masters (Jewl)
Moody Blues
20th Century Masters (Jewl)
Label: Polydor / Umgd
Original Release Date: 3/7/2000
Release Date: 3/7/2000
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:03 AM


"Some of the most recognizable classic soft rock songs are on this album by the Moody Blues. This CD may hit the spot but diehard fans might want more tracks."

August & Everything After
Counting Crows
August & Everything After
Label: Geffen Records
Original Release Date: 9/14/1993
Release Date: 9/14/1993
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 10:00 AM


"Among the best albums of all time, this music is rock music that is comforting to listen to because of Adam Duritz's lyricism. Easy on the ears but cool to listen to at the same time."

Under the Pink
Tori Amos
Under the Pink
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Original Release Date: 2/1/1994
Release Date: 2/1/1994
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 9:57 AM


"A solid album by the rare thing in rock n roll these days, a pianist. Past the Mission is my favorite song on here."

So Much for the Afterglow
Everclear
So Much for the Afterglow
Label: Capitol
Original Release Date: 10/7/1997
Release Date: 10/7/1997
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 9:55 AM


"This album speeds by your ears and it sounds very good. At times it almost sounds like a few Christian rock bands I have listened to. Father of Mine and Everything to Everyone are standout songs."

God Shuffled His Feet
Crash Test Dummies
God Shuffled His Feet
Label: Arista
Original Release Date: 10/26/1993
Release Date: 10/26/1993
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 9:52 AM


"This album is like a symphony of alternative metal music. Easy on the ears yet rocks at the same time. The Mmmm Mmmm Mmmm Mmmm song. The singer makes a weird sounding Halloween type voice at times."

Blind Melon
Blind Melon
Blind Melon
Label: Capitol
Original Release Date: 9/22/1992
Release Date: 9/22/1992
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 9:49 AM


"This album is inconsistent in its songwriting and song singing because Shannon Hoon was a whacked out guy as their lead singer. No Rain was a surprise hit for the band? but it is the most singalong song on the album. This album is Blind Melon's debut album. Start here, but many of Blind Melon's other recordings may surprise and reward you."

Jagged Little Pill
Alanis Morissette
Jagged Little Pill
Label: Maverick
Original Release Date: 6/13/1995
Release Date: 6/13/1995
Review by: Louis G.. - 3/21/2017 9:44 AM


"A tremendous album, and it is among the best of the last 20 years if not the best. I am a guy and I love so many songs on here. However, Alanis swears quite a bit on this album, which might not be in her music videos? Unfortunately for younger listeners, the album might require a parental advisory as per the rules of the industry these days."