Newest CD/Album Reviews

Lawn Boy
Phish
Lawn Boy
Label: Elektra / Wea
Release Date: 6/30/1992
Review by: Bobby K. (roulduke). - 9/20/2018 3:07 PM


"This CD also has a 10th song named "Fee.""

The Best of Rosie & the Originals
Rosie & the Originals
The Best of Rosie & the Originals
Label: Ace Records UK
Original Release Date: 1/25/2000
Re-Release Date: 11/12/1999
Review by: Eduardo G.. - 9/19/2018 2:40 AM


"EXELENTE CD ME GUSTA MUCHO LA CALIDAD DE ESTE ALBUM soy de mexico contactenme giogb10 Agmail.com todos los que comentaron en los años anteriores"

Canciones De Mi Padre
Linda Ronstadt
Canciones De Mi Padre
Label: Asylum Records
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Vickie B.. - 9/17/2018 7:04 PM


"10 Stars! Love the music, old old songs from Mexico, and sung perfectly and beautifully by Linda Ronstandt. Sorry, but I'm keeping this CD.🤗"

Ogre Tones
King's X
Ogre Tones
Label: Inside Out U.S.
Original Release Date: 1/1/2005
Re-Release Date: 9/27/2005
Review by: Jeff V. (ElJefe). - 9/10/2018 4:13 PM


"Solid KX disc, wish they'd release some new material."

End of Heartache (Bonus CD) (Spec)
Killswitch Engage
End of Heartache (Bonus CD) (Spec)
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 3/1/2005
Review by: Jeff V. (ElJefe). - 9/10/2018 4:12 PM


"Bonus CD makes this a must-buy. I miss Howard Jones' vocals, Killswitch sounds like a different band without him."

It's All in the Song
It's All in the Song
It's All in the Song
Release Date: 7/18/2006
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 9/8/2018 11:57 PM


"This album is a tribute to the late Andy M. Stewart, a wonderful Scottish singer, songwriter and instrumentalist, formerly the frontman for Silly Wizard. His was a very unique voice with a curling edge to it that, like a rare thing, begins to seem necessary and uniquely beautiful -- but his songwriting also had a "voice" of its own, and this record honors the breadth of songs he wrote. I just wanted to offer up a few notes and a tracklisting. The musicians:Tony Egan, Mike Gallagher, Terry Griffith, Guaranteed Irish, Laughrey Connolly. Tracklisting: 1 The Queen of Argyll (3:04) 2 The Valley of Strathmore (4:16) 3 At It Again (3:05) 4 If I Was a Blackbird (4:50) 5 Ramblin' Irishman (4:55) 6 Tae The Weaver's Gin Ye Go (4:12) 7 Heart of the Home (3:30) 8 Take Her in Your Arms (3:09) 9 Where Are You (Tonight I Wonder) (2:57) 10 Brigit O'Malley (4:31) 11 The Gold Claddagh Ring (2:55) 12 Lover's Heart (4:33) 13 They Wounded Old Ireland (5:33) 14 The Ramblin' Rover (2:08)"

British Bands
Big Band
British Bands
Label: Delta
Release Date: 3/7/2000
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 9/8/2018 7:05 PM


"original artists, original versions. Some harder to find tunes here"

Blow Your Pants Off
Jimmy Fallon
Blow Your Pants Off
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 6/12/2012
Review by: Timothy C.. - 9/8/2018 10:48 AM


"A hilarious spot-on parody and great music too."

Stage Door Canteen
Song Spinners, Russ Morgan Orchestra, Horace Heidt and His Musical Nights w Larry Cotton & Donna Wood, Jimmy Dorsey w Bob Eberly & Helen O'Connell, Bing Crosby w The Andrews Sisters, Frankie Carl and His Orchestra w Marjorie Hughes, Benny Goodman And His Orchestra w Peggy Lee, Al Dexter and His Troopers, Tex Beneke & The Modernaires Glenn Millier w Marion Hotton, Rudy Vallee and His Connecticut Yankees
Stage Door Canteen
Label: heartland
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 9/7/2018 7:13 PM


"In the early days of cds, this was one of the few sets of 40's musics. Most if not all has also now been on the the exhaustive Time Life hit parade collection. Sound quality is pretty decent CD 1 [2:41] I'll Get By (As Long As I Have You) - Harry James & orch. w/Dick Haymes [2:39] Ac-cen-tchu-ate the Positive - Bing Crosby w/the Andrews Sisters & Vic Schoen's orch. [2:19] Comin' In on a Wing and a Prayer - Song Spinners [2:30] Swingin' on a Star - Bing Crosby w/the Williams Bros. Quartet & John Scott Trotter's orch. [3:06] To Each His Own - Ink Spots SIDE TWO [2:32] Praise the Lord And Pass The Ammunition - Kay Kyser & his orch. w/Glee Club [2:36] (There'll Be Bluebirds Over) The White Cliffs of Dover - Kay Kyser & orch. w/Harry Babbitt & Glee Club [2:40] Deep In The Heart of Texas - Bing Crosby w/Woody Herman & his Woodchoppers [2:43] nBoogie Woogie Bugle Boy - Andrews Sisters w/Vic Schoen's orch. [2:49] I'll Be Seeing You - Bing Crosby w/John Scott Trotter's orch. [3:14] (I Got Spurs) Jingle, Jangle, Jingle - Kay Kyser & orch. w/Julie Conway, Harry Babbitt & the group [2:50] Shoo Shoo Baby - Andrews Sisters w/ Vic Schoen's orch. [3:18] Green Eyes - Jimmy Dorsey & orch. w/Bob Eberly & Helen O'Connell [3:17] I Don't Want To Set the World On Fire - Horace Heidt's Musical Knights, w/Larry Cotton, Donna Wood & her Don Juans [3:03] Don't Fence Me In - Bing Crosby w/the Andrews Sisters & Vic Schoen's orch. [3:00] I've Heard That Song Before - Harry James & orch. w/Helen Forrest [2:43] You'll Never Know - Dick Haymes & the Song Spinners [3:09] Rum and Coca-Cola - Andrews Sisters w/Vic Schoen's orch. [3:24] It's Been a Long, Long Time - Harry James & orch. w/Kitty Kallen [2:37] Dance With a Dolly (With a Hole in Her Stocking) - Russ Morgan & orch. w/Al Jennings CD 2 [2:56] Oh! What It Seemed To Be - Frankie Carle & orch. w/Marjorie Hughes [3:10] Sentimental Journey - Les Brown & orch. w/Doris Day [3:15] My Dreams Are Getting Better All the Time - Les Brown & orch. w/Doris Day [2:43] Saturday Night (Is the Loneliest Night of the Week) - Frank Sinatra w/Axel Stordahl's orch. & the Bobby Tucker singers [2:42] Mairzy Doats - Merry Macs w/ George Olsen & orch. [2:51] Pistol Packin' Mama - Al Dexter & his Troopers [2:58] Don't Get Around Much Anymore - Ink Spots [3:11] Somebody Else is Taking My Place - Benny Goodman & orch. w/Peggy Lee [3:22] You Always Hurt the One You Love - Mills Brothers [3:11] Don't Sit Under the Apple Tree (With Anyone Else But Me) - Glenn Miller & orch. w/Marion Hutton, Tex Beneke & the Modernaires [2:56] Daddy - Sammy Kaye & orch. w/the Kaye Choir [3:32] In the Mood - Glenn Miller & orch. [3:09] There! I've Said It Again - Vaughn Monroe & orch. [3:13] Piano Concerto in B Flat - Freddy Martin & orch. w/Jack Fina, piano [3:13] I Left My Heart at the Stage Door Canteen - Sammy Kaye & orch. w/Don Cornell [3:22] Chattanooga Choo Choo - Glenn Miller & orch. w/Tex Beneke, the Modernaires & Paula Kelly [2:40] There Are Such Things - Tommy Dorsey & orch. w/Frank Sinatra & the Pied Pipers [2:41] I'll Walk Alone - Dinah Shore w/Mixed Chorus [2:17] Chickery Chick - Sammy Kaye & orch. w/Nancy Norman, Billy Williams and the Kaye Choir [3:04] When the Lights Go On Again (All Over the World) - Vaughn Monroe & orch. [2:40] Der Fuehrer's Face - Spike Jones & his City Slickers [3:30] As Time Goes By - Rudy Vallee & his Connecticut Yankees [3:08] I'll Never Smile Again - Tommy Dorsey and orch. w/Frank Sinatra & the Pied Pipers [3:10] Till the End of Time - Perry Como w/Russ Case's orch."

Revolver Reloaded: Mojo Presents Their 1966 Masterpiece Covered in Full
Various Artists
Revolver Reloaded: Mojo Presents Their 1966 Masterpiece Covered in Full
Label: Mojo
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 9/7/2018 1:41 AM


"A re-thinking of the Beatles' Revolver album. Here's a tracklisting, thanks to Discogs: 1 –Catfish Haven Taxman 2:50 2 –The Handsome Family With The Rivet Gang Eleanor Rigby 2:44 3 –Neal Casal I'm Only Sleeping 2:52 4 –Sukilove Love You To 4:04 5 –Belarus Here, There And Everywhere 5:16 6 –Chris Eckman Yellow Submarine 4:44 7 –Mark Mulcahy She Said She Said 2:55 8 –Lampshade Good Day Sunshine 2:31 9 –Jim Reid And Your Bird Can Sing 2:19 10 –Michael Weston King For No One 2:06 11 –Luke Temple Doctor Robert 3:41 12 –Thea Gilmore I Want To Tell You 3:09 13 –Green Pajamas* Got To Get You Into My Life 3:29 14 –Jason McNiff Tomorrow Never Knows 2:43 Bonus Track 15 –Ed Harcourt Rain 5:00"

Classic Love Songs of Rock 'N' Roll, Volume Four
Various Artists
Classic Love Songs of Rock 'N' Roll, Volume Four
Label: Universal Music
Review by: Adam M. (redbaronredsoxfan). - 9/4/2018 6:18 PM


"great Rock N Roll compilation from Time Life. All the Original hits by the Original artists. If you love oldies Y'all will love this 2 cd set."

Lump of Coal
Henry Rollins, The Primitives, Hoodoo Gurus
Lump of Coal
Label: Dead Line
Release Date: 10/8/1991
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 9/3/2018 8:26 AM


"Some real fun and unique stuff here 1. Little Drummer Boy (Up The Khyber) - Hoodoo Gurus 2. The First Noel - Crash Test Dummies 3. Stepping Into Christmas - The Wedding Present 4. Blue X-mas (To Whom It May Concern) - Drunken Boat 5. O Holy Night - Divine Weeks 6. Bring A Torch Jeannette Isabella - Carnival Art 7. Silent Night - The Primitives 8. O Little Town Of Bethlehem - Young Fresh Fellows 9. Kings Of Orient - The Odds 10. Here Comes Sants Claus - Clockhammer 11. 'Twas The Night Before Christmas - Henry Rollins"

The Very Best Vol.1
Brenda Lee
The Very Best Vol.1
Label: Mca
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 9/2/2018 9:04 AM


"UK MCA CD. Sweet Nothin's I'm Sorry Emotions Dum Dum Fool Number One You Always Hurt The One You Love Will You Love Me Tomorrow When I Fall In Love I'll be Seeing You Speak To Me Pretty Here Comes that Feeling It Started All Over Again My colouring Book Someday You'll Want Me To Want You End Of The World All Alone Am I"

Feels Like Home
Norah Jones
Feels Like Home
Label: Blue Note Records
Release Date: 2/10/2004
Review by: David T. (Dirtypickle). - 8/31/2018 10:42 AM


"Never heard of Norah Jones, until Feb. 2003. I met my wife that day and she introduced me to this excellent artist. This CD is one her BEST. Must have!!!"

Club Mix '96, Vol. 1
Various Artists
Club Mix '96, Vol. 1
Label: K-Tel
Release Date: 1/15/1996
Review by: K. K. (GAMER2012). - 8/29/2018 4:24 AM


"Not good except the Macarenda song."

Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra
Frank Sinatra
Jolly Christmas From Frank Sinatra
Label: Capitol
Release Date: 10/25/1990
Review by: Angela C.. - 8/27/2018 6:11 AM


"I love this classic rat pack Christmas CD. The songs and the style of the music evoke another time and place. It is very peaceful, joyful and of course smooth! I highly recommend this cd."

Songs Written By the Love
Songs Written By the Love
Songs Written By the Love
Release Date: 10/24/2006
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 8/27/2018 5:25 AM


"Lots of early Sinatra, and others. Some hard to find hits. tracklist at link below https://www.discogs.com/Various-Songs-Written-By-Love/release/8308662"

Fabulous '50s: Those Wonderful Years
Various
Fabulous '50s: Those Wonderful Years
Label: Time Life Music
Original Release Date: 1/1/2010
Re-Release Date: 1/5/2010
Review by: Tracy B. (TracyB). - 8/26/2018 4:09 PM


"Track List DISC 1: Percy Faith & His Orchestra-Theme From "A Summer Place"/ Dean Martin-Memories Are Made Of This/ Patti Page-Allegheny Moon/Mitch Miller, The Gang & Orchestra -The Yellow Rose Of Texas/Connie Francis -My Happiness/Jimmie Rodgers –Honeycomb/Jane Morgan And The Troubadours-Fascination/The Platters-Smoke Gets In Your Eyes/Terry Gilkyson And The Easy Riders-Marianne/Della Reese-Don't You Know/Tony Bennett-Rags To Riches/Les Baxter With His Orchestra And Chorus- The Poor People Of Paris/Eddy Fisher With Hugo Winterhalter And His Orchestra-Any Time/Doris Day-Secret Love/Al Hibbler-Unchained Melody/Fats Domino-Blueberry Hill/The Four Lads-Standing On The Corner DISC 2: Rosemary Clooney-Hey There/Johnnie Ray-Just Walking In The Rain/Georgia Gibbs With Orchestra Conducted By Glenn Osser-Kiss Of Fire/Pat Boone-Love Letters In The Sand/Joan Weber-Let Me Go Lover/Don Cherry-Band Of Gold/Guy Mitchell-My Heart Cries For You/The Crew Cuts-Earth Angel/Frankie Laine-I Believe/Teresa Brewer With The Jack Pleis Orchestra-Till I Waltz Again With You/Nat King Cole-Too Young/The Four Aces-Three Coins In The Fountain/Jo Stafford-Shrimp Boats/Jerry Vale-Eternally/Guy Lombardo And His Royal Canadians-"The Third Man" Theme/Eddy Howard And His Orchestra-It's No Sin/Kay Starr-Wheel Of Fortune DISC 3: Les Paul & Mary Ford-Vaya Con Dios/Johnny Mathis-Smile/Pearl Bailey-Takes Two To Tango/Perry Como With Hugo Winterhalter-Wanted/Guy Mitchell-Singing The Blues/Marty Robbins-A White Sport Coat (And A Pink Carnation)/Tony Bennett-Cold, Cold Heart/Percy Faith & His Orchestra-The Song From "Moulin Rouge" (Where Is Your Heart)/Johnnie Ray-Cry/Rosemary Clooney-Half As Much/Sammy Kaye And His Orchestra-Harbor Lights/Frankie Laine-Mule Train/Doris Day-A Guy Is a Guy/The Four Lads-No, Not Much!/Andy Williams-Are You Sincere?/McGuire Sisters-Goodnight, Sweetheart, Goodnight"

Fire from the sky
Fire from the sky
Review by: IC B. (icberry). - 8/25/2018 10:44 AM


"Lilting orchestral music -- via synthesizer -- and natural thunder sounds. Samples are available here: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/fire-from-the-sky-sanctuary-series/213310735."

Best of the Eighties
Various Artists
Best of the Eighties
Label: EMI Gold Imports
Release Date: 12/3/2002
Review by: Scott C. (scotso). - 8/22/2018 2:20 PM


"Original versions, many were minor US hits, 1. Road To Nowhere-Talking Heads 2. Golden Brown-The Stranglers 3. Mandinka-Sinead O'Connor 4. Letter From America-The Proclaimers 5. A New England-Kirsty MacColl 6. Dancing With Myself-Generation X 7. Wild Wild Life-Talking Heads 8. Call Me-Blondie 9. Echo Beach-Martha & The Muffins 10. Senses Working Overtime-XTC 11. 51st State-New Model Army 12. Love Like Blood-Killing Joke 13. Love Missile F1-11-Sigue Sigue Sputnik 14. Turning Japanese-The Vapors 15. C30, C60, C90, Go!-Bow Wow Wow 16. Rise-Public Image Limited 17. Is Vic There?-Department S 18. Info Freako-Jesus Jones 19. Fool For Your Lovin'-Whitesnake 20. 747 (Strangers In The Night)-Saxon 21. Out In The Fields-Gary Moore 22. Comin' On Strong-Broken English 23. Get It On-The Power Station 24. Love Is A Battlefield-Pat Benatar 25. Heaven Is A Place On Earth-Belinda Carlisle 26. Would I Like To You-Whitesnake 27. Missing You-John Waite 28. Bette Davis Eyes-Kim Carnes 29. Love Makes The World Go Round-The Jets 30. Rooms On Fire-Stevie Nicks 31. Walking On Sunshine-Katrina & The Waves 32. Stuck With You-Huey Lewis & The News 33. Kids In America-Kim Wilde 34. French Kissin' In The USA-Debbie Harry 35. We Close Our Eyes-Go West 36. Sunshine On Leith-The Proclaimers 37. Do You Really Want To Hurt Me-Culture Club 38. Planet Earth-Duran Duran 39. Mirror Man-The Human League 40. (We Don't Need This) Fascist Groove Thing-Heaven 17 41. Enola Gay-OMD 42. Dancing With Tears In My Eyes-Ultravox 43. True-Spandau Ballet 44. Ghosts-Japan 45. Black Man Ray-China Crisis 46. If I Was-Midge Ure 47. The Model-Kraftwerk 48. Is It A Dream-Classix Nouveaux 49. Together In Electric Dreams-Philip Oakey & Giorgio Moroder 50. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart-Marc Almond & Gene Pitne 51. It's My Life-Talk Talk 52. Election Day-Arcadia 53. Imagination-Belouis Some 54. She Blinded Me With Science-Thomas Dolby 55. It Stated With A Kiss-Hot Chocolate 56. Sexy Eyes-Dr Hook 57. Mary's Prayer-Danny Wilson 58. Labour Of Love-Hue & Cry 59. Cherry Oh Baby-UB40 60. Thinking Of You-The Colour Field 61. (I Just) Died In Your Arms-Cutting Crew 62. When You Walk In The Room-Paul Carrack 63. Love Changes (Everything)-Climie Fisher 64. Babooshka-Kate Bush 65. Too Late For Goodbyes-Julian Lennon 66. Tonight I Celebrate My Love-Peabo Bryson & Roberta Flack 67. Could It Be I'm Falling In Love-David Grant & Jaki Graham 68. Hangin' On A String (Contemplating)-Loose Ends 69. Rock Me Tonight (For Old Times Sake)-Freddie Jackson 70. Tunnel Of Love-The Fun Boy Three 71. Goodbye Girl-Go West 72. Lavender-Marillion 73. Pump Up The Jam-Technotronic 74. Nineteen-Paul Hardcastle 75. Respect-Adeva 76. Searchin' (I Gotta Find A Man-Hazell Dean 77. Hold On To What You've Got-Evelyn 'Champagne' King 78. The Harder I Try-Brother Beyond 79. Showing Out (Get Fresh At The Weekend)-Mel & Kim 80. Got To Get You Back-Kym Mazelle 81. So This Is Romance-Linx 82. Round And Round-Jaki Graham 83. Living In A Box-Living In A Box 84. (Somebody) Help Me Out-Begger & Co 85. And The Beat Goes On-The Whispers 86. Midas Touch-Midnight Star 87. What Do I Do-Phil Fearon & Galaxy 88. On The Beat-BB 7 Q Band 89. The Politics Of Dancing-Re Flex 90. Music Makes You Feel Like Dancing-Brass Construction 91. Nelson Mandela-The Special AKA 92. Let's Do Rock Steady-The Bodysnatchers 93. Tomorrow People-Ziggy Marley 94. Wild World-Maxi Priest 95. Keep On Moving-Soul II Soul 96. Too Many Games-Maxe Featuring Frankie Beverly 97. Let's Go All The Way-Sly Fox 98. Ghost Town-The Specials 99. It Ain't What You Do Ti's The Way That You Do It-Fun Boy 3 100. Geno - Dexy's Midnight runners 101. Centrefold J Giel band 102. I Eat Cannibals Total Coelo 103. Mickey - Toni Basil 104. Too Shy - Kajagoogoo 105. Never Ending Story - Limahl 106. Blue Moon -Showaddywaddy 107. 9 To 5 (Morning Train) - Sheena Easton 108. Water On Glass - kim Wilde"

How Hollow Heart
Dead Voices on Air
How Hollow Heart
Label: Invisible Records
Original Release Date: 1/21/1997
Release Date: 1/21/1997
Review by: Jax M. (Destructa). - 8/21/2018 8:09 PM


"The inexorable approach of something as oblivious as it is massive. Half-heard thoughts from half-remembered dreams, not your own. Machinery that rattles and pumps without cease, though rusting, untended under skies that have never seen a sun. Amazingly, all recorded live to tape."

James Gang - Greatest Hits
James Gang
James Gang - Greatest Hits
Label: Mca
Original Release Date: 5/2/2000
Release Date: 5/2/2000
Review by: Jesse V.. - 8/18/2018 9:11 AM


"Really enjoy this CD with Joe Walsh in his early years jamming away!!"

Snack Time
Barenaked Ladies
Snack Time
Label: Desperation Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2008
Re-Release Date: 5/6/2008
Review by: Alissa C.. - 8/18/2018 8:30 AM


"We love this CD. It’s really fun and not like some annoying kids music CDs"

Blood Sugar Sex Magik
Red Hot Chili Peppers
Blood Sugar Sex Magik
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Release Date: 9/24/1991
Review by: Media O. (MediaObscura). - 8/18/2018 8:28 AM


"very good."

A New High In Low
Pigface
A New High In Low
Label: Invisible
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Re-Release Date: 1/1/2001
Review by: Jax M. (Destructa). - 8/18/2018 4:08 AM


"If you're looking at a 2-disc version, Disc 1 is the actual album "A New High in Low" and Disc 2 is a more experimental recording, mainly an audio story narrated by Genesis P-Orridge with percussion backing. In the 3-disc 2007 re-issue version, the Genesis disc is gone and you get: "A New High in Low" album with a few bonus tracks "Below the Belt" remix album of A New High in Low "Eat Sh*t You F***ing Redneck" the live album of the period The original tracks are ok, but the remixes on Below the Belt are a level up. Below the Belt is my favorite Pigface album to date (a close contest with the Crackhead remix album). YMMV for live albums."