Search - Vertabrats :: Continuous Shows

Continuous Shows
Continuous Shows
Genres: Alternative Rock, Pop, Rock
  •  Track Listings (20) - Disc #1


CD Details

All Artists: Vertabrats
Title: Continuous Shows
Members Wishing: 0
Total Copies: 0
Label: Parasol Records
Release Date: 9/7/1999
Genres: Alternative Rock, Pop, Rock
Styles: Indie & Lo-Fi, Power Pop
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaCD Credits: 1
UPC: 795306100720

Similar CDs


CD Reviews

Continuous Excellence from the Vertebrats
bookfan | 08/27/2005
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Give this cd a spin. First thing you hear is lead singer Ken Draznik's modest announcement: 'We'd like to welcome you to Mabel's, we're the Vertebrats.' Then the band launches into "She's Diggin'" and you'll be on your feet dancing to the irresistible jumping beat and the power guitar chords. The 'Brats music reminds me of a big v-8 engine roaring down the highway, with lots of chrome fenders and cats's eye brake lights. Just nothing better on the road! How they got so much sound out of just four instruments is a mystery for the ages. Just when you're 'diggin' the music and harmonies, the lyrics surprise you with some unexpectedly moving twists and turns. For example, 'Burn Center' is a harrowing tale of a good samaritan whose rescue backfires literally into tragedy. Then there is the haunting dread of 'Tomorrow's Door', and the hope-against-hope crush of the fellow in 'Face Got You Floored' as he contemplates approaching a pretty girl, and 'Heart Touchers' a wistful look back at an old romance occasioned by a windy day. The great tracks finish up with 'Left in the Dark' which has been covered over the years by many well-known rock acts. It's unbelievable that this band recorded and performed from 1979 to 1983 yet their music is as powerful today as it was then, if not more so. Hopefully more of these beautiful songs will gain recognition because they have a lot to offer in emotional impact and some of the best classic All-American rock and roll ever.

Track Listings
1. She's Diggin'
2. Put Your Toys Away
3. Lookin' for Another Strike
4. Girls of the World
5. Band Intro
6. Burn Center
7. One Without the Other
8. Hang on to Your Man
9. Roy's Record Rap
10. Red Light District of Love
11. Brat
12. Face Got You Floored
13. Live Next Door
14. Heart Touchers
15. SX-70
16. Tomorrow's Door
17. Don't Ask Me
18. Lasting Love
19. Border War
20. Electric Chair
21. This Is Not Earth
22. Left in the Dark