Search - Method Man :: Tical

Method Man
Genres: Pop, Rap & Hip-Hop
  •  Track Listings (15) - Disc #1


Larger Image
Listen to Samples

CD Details

All Artists: Method Man
Title: Tical
Members Wishing: 0
Total Copies: 0
Label: Def Jam
Original Release Date: 11/15/1994
Release Date: 11/15/1994
Genres: Pop, Rap & Hip-Hop
Styles: East Coast, Gangsta & Hardcore, Pop Rap
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaCD Credits: 1
UPC: 731452383921

Similar CDs

Similarly Requested CDs


CD Reviews

Tical, Tical, Tical....say it 3 times & ur wish will come tr
Anita E. Evans | Anchorage, AK | 01/08/2008
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Hmmm, I knew my boyfriend was looking for this hard-to-find CD and with great stealth, timing and your site....I found it, got it delivered quick and knocked his socks off when I handed it to him....his face just lit up and w/o any words, I knew I had just entered another dimension w/ him. Hey, what got me working fast to getting this CD is that 'All I Need' song~he played it for me and I was hooked. Method have once again worked in mysterious and magical ways...ummmph, I look forward to hearing it played in the background and kissing and luving on my own method man;)"
Pull it off your shelf and listen to it again
Jason | Backwater, Alabama | 09/17/2010
(5 out of 5 stars)

"Despite the fact that most newer music, and rap in general, has devolved recently into mind-numbing garbage, I decided to put in Method Man's breakout album, titled in reference to a slang term for a blunt mixed with sweetener - perhaps even referenced in Alexander Shulgin's seminal TiHKAL - for a repeat listen. A very good idea. What's interesting, however, is that the composition of the album follows the high and low patterns of a drug abuser, and the end result is similar to drug use: the listener is hooked, despite the less than satisfying conclusion to the album.

1) Tical - Kung Fu and drugs, it starts off crazy
2) Biscuits - Hypnotic and playful, this is the beginning of the drug binge. This is the post-injection, initial high.
3) Bring the Pain - Full on tripping balls, seeing floating carrots and mystical double rainbows. It's straight up Super Troopers: "I'm freakin' out, man! Yes, you are freaking"
4) All I Need - As the title suggests, there is fulfillment in this grungy ode to women who are fond of rampant drug use (mentioned multiple times). This is the final high after the first hit.
5) What the Blood Clot - With a hard piano line and abrasive shakes, one gets the feeling of a lottery ball being bounced and shoved around, careening off walls. An overall good track, but nowhere near the previous. The beginning of a nasty withdrawal.
6) Meth vs. Chef - An absolute trainwreck, MVC is just as bad as the second AVP (Aliens vs. Predators). If this album is a series of drug experiments, this is a snort of cyanide laced with false bravado.
7) Sub Crazy - Meth gets back on track with this darkly charismatic, head-bobber. There is an eerie, albeit slower, similarity to Biscuits. The Meth vs. Chef single was enough to need a second hit of Tical.
8) Release Yo' Delf - Featuring a ridiculous chorus by Blue Raspberry and a sample from "I Will Survive" by Gloria Gaynor, the Release Yo' Delf single is, in my opinion, the most catchy of the entire album. The feel is strong, powerful, triumphant, and the brass addition to the beat makes it almost regal. Like many drugs, this second high is better than the first (i.e. All I Need) and actually causes the addiction, but it's the first one that is remembered.
9) P.L.O. Style - Once the pinnacle of euphoria takes place, the crashing and tweaking is faster than ever. Nothing could be closer to the truth than P.L.O. Style, an affront to music that should be enough to press charges against contributors to this song.
10) I Get My Thang in Action - A little better than the previous atrocity, the high is expected now that you're hooked. Therein lies the catch to drug addiction and this album.
11) Mr. Sandman - There is a definite nostalgic feel to Mr. Sandman because it sounds like a track from the 1993 breakthrough album Enter the Wu-Tang, but it lacks the luster of this album's overall effort. As it was during that ensemble effort, Method Man stands out from the crowd, and this track is the third toke, something that dulls the edge but doesn't fulfill.
12) Stimulation - Effort is not lacking in the not-so-subtlely-named Stimulation, but satisfaction is. The third high didn't last long enough to prevent another injection, and this track feels like an unsuccessful effort to pump up the album, to reproduce previous success.
13) Method Man - Self-titled and spelled out ad nauseum, this is bare bones effort lacking anything other than a few clever rhymes. Nothing can satisfy me now that I'm hooked.
14) Bring the Pain (Remix) - Interesting because the listener has already tied off, but unlike the original song, this title is literal.
15) Release Yo' Delf (Remix) - Admittedly, this song has a VERY club-friendly beat, an infectious feel, and should have been a hit. The fact that it was buried at the end of the album just makes it the poorly thought out decision of a drug addict. Inertia from the original could have carried this song if it had replaced the wet dog smell left by P.L.O. Style.

A great album overall, it should be noted that the true success should be measured by a remix of "All I Need" that was performed a year later with Mary J. Blige. The song spread like wildfire, reaching number 3 on the charts, and created the feel good memory often associated with Meth's murky, cannabis smoking, hardcore performance.

NOTE: I have honestly never used a single drug, do not promote the use of any drugs, and everything I have learned about usage has been from music, movies, and drug prevention programs."