Search - Judas Priest :: 98 Live Meltdown

98 Live Meltdown
Judas Priest
98 Live Meltdown
Genres: Alternative Rock, World Music, Pop, Rock, Metal
  •  Track Listings (13) - Disc #1
  •  Track Listings (11) - Disc #2

Many doubted that Judas Priest would find a vocalist to capably fill the shoes of legendary frontman Rob Halford. With Ripper Owens, the band found not only a Priest fanatic, but a talented screamer in his own right. Provi...  more »


Larger Image

CD Details

All Artists: Judas Priest
Title: 98 Live Meltdown
Members Wishing: 0
Total Copies: 0
Label: Sanctuary Records
Original Release Date: 9/29/1998
Release Date: 9/29/1998
Album Type: Live
Genres: Alternative Rock, World Music, Pop, Rock, Metal
Styles: New Wave & Post-Punk, Europe, British Isles, British Metal
Number of Discs: 2
SwapaCD Credits: 2
UPC: 060768626126

Many doubted that Judas Priest would find a vocalist to capably fill the shoes of legendary frontman Rob Halford. With Ripper Owens, the band found not only a Priest fanatic, but a talented screamer in his own right. Proving that his studio performance on Jugulator was no hoax, Owens displays performing talents on this vigorous double-live album. For concert album cynics, heed this: half of these 23 tunes have not been performed on the two previous Priest live discs, and Owens really belts out those screams with greater accuracy than Halford was able to summon in his last few years in the band. The metal legends unleash the long-lost pre-speed-metal classic "Rapid Fire"; they play an inspired acoustic version of "Diamonds & Rust" that's closer to Joan Baez's original than Priest's 1977 cover; and they dig up two previously unperformed Jugulator songs. Most of what's heard here rates from very good to excellent, though one wishes that "Burn in Hell" wasn't abbreviated and that "Dreamer Deceiver" wasn't excluded; and a few of the mixes could be cleaner. Still, this very live-sounding record (complete with essential raucous audience participation) captures the potent force of a Judas Priest concert performance. --Bryan Reesman

Similar CDs

Similarly Requested CDs


CD Reviews

JUDAS PRIEST HEAVY METAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
A. Gutierrez | usa | 06/10/2005
(5 out of 5 stars)

"NOW...... this is an awesome release! Every song on this double cd gets a perfect 10 in my book! I saw the Priest during this tour with Ripper and about a set of pipes on that voice!!!!! I truly have to disagree with a couple of reviewers stating that "this is horrible" cause "it doesn't have halford" and another saying that "it's not essential because it doesn't hold up to Beast in the East (actually Unleashed in the East) or Priest...Live. Sorry Charley, neither one of those release are as energetic as this one. I can say this too! I have been a fan for over 25 years. In fact, the Priest...Live cd...well, let's not even go there! This IS the Judas Priest Live cd to own. Those wondering if they should take a chance...DO IT! You won't be disappointed!!!!!!!"
Fuck Yeah!
musicman648 | 01/28/2005
(5 out of 5 stars)

"aight. First of all, Judas Priest kicks ass. i started listening to them just recently, and i already own 4 of their CDs. i have to say, this is by far, the best out of all of them. here are some ratings:

1. The Hellion: intro to ellectric eye. sounds better whenit isn'tlive. still good tho. 7/10

2. Electric Eye: once again, non-live version is better 7/10

3. Metal Gods: pretty good song. not the best tho. 8/10

4. Grinder: not too bad. 8/10

5. Rapid Fire: not bad either. 8/10

6. Blood Stained: pretty cool song. 9/10

7. The sentinal: this is when the CD gets better. 9/10

8. Touch of Evil: not bad. 8/10

9. Burn in Hell: pretty good song. 9/10

10. The Ripper: not too bad/not too good. 8/10

11. Bullet Train: really cool song. 9/10

12. Beyond the Realms of Death: not bad... 8/10

13. Death Row: this song is awseome. one of the best on the album. 10/10

14. Metal Meltdown: favorite priest song of all time. really good live too. 10/10

15. Night Crawler: pretty cool song. 8/10

16. Abductors: ok. didnt like it that much, but its ok. 8/10

17. Victim of Changes: pretty nice song. 8/10

18. Diamonds and Rust: really good song. 10/10

19. Breaking the Law: awesome song. catchy lyrics.10/10

20. The Green Manalishi: this song is sooo much better live than not. 10/10

21. Painkiller: cool song, especially the guitar. 10/10

22. You've Got Another Thing Coming: this song is alright. 9/10

23. Hell Bent For Leather: not the best. 8/10

24. Living after Midnight: this song is better when it isnt live. still ok tho. 8/10

if you lke this, get Demolition. it is awesome. one of their heaviest CDs. if you want a lighter CD with some good songs, try Living After Midnight. anyway. this 2 CD set is Kick-ASS. you need it if you like any metal at all."