Search - Fleetwood Mac :: Mr Wonderful

Mr Wonderful
Fleetwood Mac
Mr Wonderful
Genres: Pop, Rock, Classic Rock
  •  Track Listings (12) - Disc #1

1994 reissue on Sony of 1968 album by the band, featuring Peter Green. 12 tracks, including 'Stop Messin' Round', 'Dust My Broom' and 'Doctor Brown'. The album was originallyreleased on Columbia.


Larger Image
Listen to Samples

CD Details

All Artists: Fleetwood Mac
Title: Mr Wonderful
Members Wishing: 2
Total Copies: 0
Label: Sony/Bmg Int'l
Original Release Date: 1/1/2004
Re-Release Date: 7/19/2004
Album Type: Extra tracks, Import, Original recording remastered
Genres: Pop, Rock, Classic Rock
Styles: Blues Rock, British Invasion, Album-Oriented Rock (AOR)
Number of Discs: 1
SwapaCD Credits: 1
UPC: 766487601245


Album Description
1994 reissue on Sony of 1968 album by the band, featuring Peter Green. 12 tracks, including 'Stop Messin' Round', 'Dust My Broom' and 'Doctor Brown'. The album was originallyreleased on Columbia.

Similar CDs


CD Reviews

"Mr. Wonderful" - Fleetwood Mac's 2nd UK Album - The EXPANDE
Mark Barry at Reckless Records, Lon | UK | 10/06/2008
(4 out of 5 stars)

"Following only 7 months after their explosive debut and afforded the luxury of a gatefold sleeve, Fleetwood Mac's second studio album "Mr. Wonderful" was released in September 1968 on Blue Horizon Records S 7-63205 in the UK (in stereo only). The American equivalent was issued in February 1969 on Epic Records BN 26446 and was called "English Rose" - it had different artwork and a much-altered track run. This CD version reflects the UK LP - and is slightly expanded.

Here's the breakdown - the original 12-track album track list ran as follows (41:51 minutes):

1. Stop Messin' Round (Peter Green and C.G. Adams song) [2:21 minutes]
2. Coming Home (Elmore James cover) [2:41 minutes]
3. Rollin' Man (Peter Green song) [2:54 minutes]
4. Dust My Broom (Elmore James cover) [2:53 minutes]
5. Love That Burns (Peter Green and C.G. Adams song) [5:04 minutes]
6. Doctor Brown (William Glasco cover) [3:46 minutes] (End of Side 1)
7. Need Your Love Tonight (Jeremy Spencer song) [3:29 minutes]
8. If You Be My Baby (Peter Green & C.G. Adams [3:53 minutes]
9. Evenin' Boogie (Jeremy Spencer song) [2:42 minutes]
10.Lazy Poker Blues (Peter Green & C.G. Adams song) [2:36 minutes)
11. I've Lost My Baby (Jeremy Spencer song) [4:18 minutes]
12. Trying So Hard To Forget (Peter Green & C.G. Adams song) [4:51 minutes] (End of Side 2)

This 16-track 2004 reissue at 56:27 minutes is "The Complete Blue Horizon Sessions 1967-1969" version from the 1999 6CD Box Set - now issued as a stand-alone disc. The additional bits are that Track 1 has some studio chatter before the take [extended to 2:36 minutes], tracks 2 to 12 are exactly the same, while the following are BONUSES added on...

13. Stop Messin' Round (Takes 1, 2 and 3 with False Starts/Previously Unissued) [4:32 minutes]
14. Stop Messin' Round (Take 5 - Master Single Version/Remix) [2:47 minutes]
15.I Held My Baby Last Night (Elmore James/Jule Taub cover) [4:26 minutes]
16. Mystery Boogie (Jeremy Spencer song) [2:51 minutes]
Note: Track 14 is longer than and different to the album version of "Stop Messin' Round" that opens the LP

Musically, "Mr. Wonderful" only half works for me - it feels like a poor-man's version of the debut (the USA "English Rose" compilation LP has a far better track run). Also over half the album - tracks 2, 4, 6, 7, 9 and 11 do 'not' feature Peter Green at all (and suffer for it), while the others appear to be hijacked by Jeremy Spencer's obsession with Elmore James to a point where "Doctor Brown" and "Need Your Love Tonight" sound exactly like the same song repeated literally one after another. It's not that the album is bad - it just somehow lacks something. The last song, however, redeems things a bit - it's "Trying So Hard To Forget" and has Peter Green on Guitar with label mate DUSTER BENNETT on Harmonica - just the two of them - and it's a peach.

The bonuses turn out to be excellent too - especially the two previously unreleased Jeremy Spencer tracks - the very slow blues of "I Held My Baby Last Night" and the jaunty boogie-guitar instrumental of "Mystery Boogie". And as with the box set, the remastered sound is exceptionally good - blasting out of your speakers with all the power of the band live in the studio.

As a stand-alone disc, it's great value for money - I'd say BUY IT! And then go for numbers 2 to 5 listed below as well...they're all magical in their own way. Or just buy the Complete box set - it's got so much great stuff on it anyway - 99 tracks, 33 of which are previously unreleased- and it will allow you to sequence both "Mr. Wonderful" and "English Rose" as separate albums.

PS: For those wishing for more, the Blue Horizon label Fleetwood Mac UK albums are:
1. Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac (1968)
(original album, known as "Fleetwood Mac" in the USA)
2. Mr. Wonderful (1968)
(original album, as above)
3. The Pious Bird Of Good Omen (1969)
(compilation of non-album 7" singles, their B-sides, collaborations and other rarities)
4. Blues Jam At Chess (1969)
(original 20-track 2LP set often referred to as a Various Artists compilation.
Its full credit is to: Fleetwood Mac, Otis Spann, Willie Dixon, Shakey Horton, J.T. Brown, Guitar Buddy
(Buddy Guy), Honey Boy Edwards, S.P. Leary. Originally a 2LP set on release, it was broken into 2 volumes
for the "Complete" box set and renamed "Blues Jam In Chicago Volume 1" and "Blues Jam In Chicago
Volume 2". It is ONLY these singular re-sequenced releases that are available today.)
5. The Original Fleetwood Mac (1971)
(although released in '71, this LP has recordings from August 1967 through to October 1968, all of which
were previously unreleased at the time)

PPS: I've reviewed about 20 of the excellent Blue Horizon CD reissues - see LISTMANIA for a full list"