Search - Alison Moyet :: Best Of: 25 Years Revisited

Best Of: 25 Years Revisited
Alison Moyet
Best Of: 25 Years Revisited
Genres: Pop, Rock
  •  Track Listings (20) - Disc #1
  •  Track Listings (11) - Disc #2

Limited two CD edition includes a bonus 11 track CD containing new interpretations of old favorites. 2009 collection from the former Yazoo vocalist featuring the best of her solo recordings. Features early and mid '80s fa...  more »


Larger Image

CD Details

All Artists: Alison Moyet
Title: Best Of: 25 Years Revisited
Members Wishing: 3
Total Copies: 0
Label: Sony UK
Release Date: 11/3/2009
Album Type: Import
Genres: Pop, Rock
Number of Discs: 2
SwapaCD Credits: 2
UPC: 886975812820


Album Description
Limited two CD edition includes a bonus 11 track CD containing new interpretations of old favorites. 2009 collection from the former Yazoo vocalist featuring the best of her solo recordings. Features early and mid '80s favorites like 'Love Resurrection', 'Invisible', and 'Weak In The Presence Of Beauty' and includes tracks spanning her entire 25 year solo career. Sony/BMG.

CD Reviews

Twenty-five years of solo bliss from 11 live trac
John DiBello | Brooklyn, NY | 11/25/2009
(5 out of 5 stars)

"I saw Alison recently on "The Graham Norton Show" (on BBC America). She looks and sounds fantastic and performed an updated version of "All Cried Out" to promote the album, which sadly isn't available in the US. (Yet!)

"Best of 25 Years Revisited" consists of two CDs, the first of remastered versions of her hits and classics from her post-Yaz(oo) career, making this a Greatest Hits package--and what marvelous hits they are! For a long-time Alison fan like me who's got all her previous CDs, Disc 2 is the highlight: it features 11 LIVE performances of her classic tracks from her recent tour with her new band--so even if you've got all of Alison's albums, Disc 2 is going to be new for you!

So, if you've got all of Alison's albums, this one's going to be a bit redundant in your collection (Buy it for a friend or loved one, though!) For anyone else who's got none or only one or two of her CDs, this is a wonderful and varied overview of her twenty-five year solo career.

Here's the track listing from the UK version:

Disc 1
1. Love Resurrection (2009 Remastered Version) 3:51
2. All Cried Out (2009 Remastered Version) 3:40
3. Invisible (2009 Remastered Version)
4. Where Hides Sleep (2009 Remastered Version) 3:48
5. That Ole Devil Called Love (2009 Remastered Version) 3:04
6. Is This Love? (2009 Remastered Version) 3:57
7. Weak In the Presence of Beauty (2009 Remastered Version) 3:45
8. Ordinary Girl (2009 Remastered Version) 3:24
9. Love Letters (2009 Remastered Version) 2:50
10. It Won't Be Long (2009 Remastered Version) 4:14
11. This House (2009 Remastered Version) 3:54
12. Hoodoo (2009 Remastered Version) 4:41
13. Footsteps (2009 Remastered Version) 4:58
14. Whispering Your Name (2009 Remastered Version) 3:27
15. Should I Feel That It's Over 4:00
16. More 3:58
17. Yesterday's Flame 4:26
18. Windmills of Your Mind 3:50
19. Almost Blue 3:52
20. One More Time 4:02

Disc 2
1. All Cried Out 4:50
2. Ski 4:37
3. Hoodoo 4:03
4. Ordinary Girl 3:15
5. Midnight 4:38
6. This House 3:45
7. Find Me 4:45
8. Footsteps 3:28
9. Is This Love? 3:5
10. Situation 2:07
11. Wishing You Were Here 3:40

Is this album worth the high prices you'll pay in America for a British import? If you've got all her studio solo albums (or her previous greatest hits package, Singles) and aren't interested in the live versions, you don't have to have "Best of 25 Years Revisited." But if you're a long-time Moyet fan or completist who wants the live tracks, sure, you're going to enjoy having this.

More to the point, the holiday season's coming up, and I think it makes a dandy gift for someone who doesn't yet know how beautiful Alison's voice is--it's the perfect introduction to her music. ("Merry Christmas! I got you the new Alison Moyet double-CD. Uh...can I borrow CD 2 sometime?")"
25 years and still burning bright
J. Ivins | poconos, pa | 07/02/2010
(5 out of 5 stars)

"alison moyet, former lead singer of yaz back in the early 80's went on to have a fantastic solo career. although she herself has said some of the albums weren't what she had hoped for, fans love them all the same. the first disc is much like the other "singles" release...with the exception of the last few songs...most of her hits, though, some of the songs from smaller would have been great. the bonus here is the second disc with the re'worked songs. also much like the "singles" double disc release, she gives us a chance to hear older songs reworked, and newer songs a casual listener, this would be a great introduction and would hopefully intrigue someone enough to go back and listen to the original a rabid fan...of course you will get it for the art, the second disc and the thoughts about the second disc that alison share inside...a great's to another 25 years. also of note, there is talk of putting out remastered and expanded versions of her older cds. whichever comes first...a new cd or an expanded version, alison is worth the money."