Lee K.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 7 of 7

I'm not sure how to review this third concept in her Mercury Years. Yes its that voice, sarcastic and breathy, taking her musical interpretations in a quirky reinvention of the past. There are some songs, which are really just existing Bluegrass jams, I don't find well interpreted.They don't add to the classics. But I find some songs, such as Strawberry Jam, that re that uniquely Shocked fabulous. She does make a critical mistake; Shocked claims the album is her love letter to original Minstrel Blackface. Its not. Its a new interpretation of Mountain Music (Scots-Irish/English ballads tumbled with Slave Blues songs and a shot of Minstrel music). The songs where she reinvents that Mt. music are lovely. The other third of the album where she replays Appalachian Music-kinda uninspired.

Review Date: 5/16/2014
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Saw both Sabalon Glitz and Yumyum in Chicago. Half of people I talk to thinks Dan Holmes is too fake too derivative but he pulls at my heartstrings and I think his music has an original base with lots of texture. I was massively thrilled to find this on swapacd

Review Date: 4/17/2016

Love it! Covers all hits except "Big Shot" is somehow not on this. Everything else is. Sound quality great. Really shows how his style expands and changed over time.

Review Date: 1/2/2014
Title: Palomine
Artist: Bettie Serveert
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Original Release Date: 1/1/1993
Date: 9/7/2015

Great cd. Brings back 90's memories. Still fresh sounding

Review Date: 9/7/2015
0 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

Perfect- all the songs I want. Forgot how much in love I am with her songwriting.

Review Date: 2/13/2014
Title: The Wind
Artist: Warren Zevon
Label: Artemis Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2003
Date: 10/17/2014
4 of 5 member(s) found this review helpful.

Truly a breathtaking, deep ang bittersweet album which celebrates life, its warts and a current of the next stage-Death.
For those unaware, Zevon was diagnosed with terminal cancer, probably due to asbestos exposure as a child. He outlived expectations, from 2002 to Sept 03.
Guest stars on this opus including Bruce Springsteen, Don Henley, Jackson Browne, Timothy B. Schmit, Joe Walsh, David Lindley, Billy Bob Thornton -singing backup, Emmylou Harris, Tom Petty, Dwight Yoakam, and others.
"Please Stay" just burns your ears with desperate longing. I hate Bob Dylan and Zevon's cover of "Knockin On Heavens Door" strikes expectation and patience.I could tattoo all the lyrics of "Keep Me in Your Heart" after a hard nite of "Disorder in the House".
I adore this album in so many levels. And I miss him.

Review Date: 10/17/2014

Beautiful, fun, harmonious Beach Boys for Christmas. Sound quality is great. Perfect for Christmas

Review Date: 1/2/2014
1 to 7 of 7