Scott K.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 20 of 20

Part of a three part series, this is the second best CD. This is MF for fans, casual listeners might want to begin with the more accessible 'i' album.

Review Date: 4/22/2010
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Though in context to the film, this is stand out stuff, there's nothing here that is better than anything on "Biograph". To my ears even most of the live cuts lack the urgency you see in the film. Of course it's ridiculous to think that a soundtrack would be better than the film, but in this case, it is so much less that it becomes a gem for Dylan nuts only. Would I keep it, yes. Would I buy it new? No way.

Review Date: 11/30/2010

Odd little flourishes, shifting styles, melding of genres are all hallmarks of this classic lo-fi indie outfit. The bonus e.P. that comes with this release is a miniature gold mine of treasures and worth the extra credit spent.

If you like skewed, humorous, and well put together indie rock this record is for you. Don't forget their 2011 release 'Forgiveness Rock Record' which is also stellar.

Review Date: 4/21/2012
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

An excellent compendium spanning the most prolific years of SGC. Andi Sex Gang is in fine form on each track. Highly recommended.

Review Date: 1/18/2011
Title: Fiendish Shadows
Artist: The Damned
Label: Cleopatra
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Date: 12/24/2011

Muddied live set. Group is in good form.
A must have for real fans of the Damned.
Those just getting into this period of the Damned should buy their studio albums on MCA records.

Review Date: 12/24/2011

Yowsah...leftist treat for all!

Review Date: 11/15/2009

A key piece of any serious Brubeck collection. Start to finish, a stunning example of the 'cool jazz' movement.

Review Date: 1/6/2011
Title: Keren Ann
Artist: Keren Ann
Label: Blue Note Records
Original Release Date: 1/1/2007
Date: 5/20/2010

Languid and melancholy, just as you would expect from Keren Ann, but in a good way.

Review Date: 5/20/2010
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

Look, I'm a big fan. I own everything of theirs that I can lay my hands on and feel that 'National Breakout' was their masterwork. I'm all for bands getting back together again, shaking the rust off and rocking down, but this isn't the Romantics finest effort. There's a revolving cast of drummers and it shows. The lyrics are actually better than usual Romantics fare but the songs, well, not so good. For hardcore Romantics fans only.

Review Date: 1/28/2012
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

For those that only know Owl City through 'Fireflies', well, you won't be disappointed. There is little difference between this CD and the breakout 'Ocean Eyes' - makes you wonder why he didn't become famous sooner. An excellent pop snapshot.

Review Date: 1/1/2011
Title: Mr. Love & Justice
Artist: Bragg;Billy
Label: Anti
Original Release Date: 1/1/2008
Date: 3/26/2011
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Let me start by saying I'm a huge Billy fan. This album, well he just mailed it in. There is no spark. No panache. No Billy. Take a pass if you cannot get it used.

Review Date: 3/26/2011

Marginal

Review Date: 2/4/2010

One of the best examples of John Abercrombie's genius and the bass work of Marc Johnson is simply unforgettable. One of the best ECM albums of the early part of the Nineties. 4.5 stars

Review Date: 1/5/2009
Title: Poison Years
Artist: Bob Mould
Label: Virgin Records Us
Original Release Date: 7/26/1994
Date: 3/7/2012
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I agree with the previous review that this is an odd disc at best. My understanding is that it was a contractural obligation album, and that Bob had nothing to do with it. It oddly compiles studio tracks and live tracks, but the live tracks! Astounding live tracks are what make this an important release. Is it Sugar? - no. Is it Husker Du? - certainly not. Is it great Bob Mould? - why yes, yes it is and you should own it.

Review Date: 3/7/2012
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

The best lesbian Jewish folk singer on the planet. Can rock, can whisper, and out-fun most of the other so-called folkies...

Review Date: 9/2/2012
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Passed over by many, this is an excellent example of the enduring power of pop punk. The inside card reads, somewhat humorously, 'Pop Punk Is Not Dead'. And so it is, NFG and their unique, fun brand of pop punk rolls along. Compare this to the latest Blink 182 and it will shatter your perceptions of what older punkers can show forth. Besides, it's on Epitaph records so you know you have a better than even chance it's going to be good.

Review Date: 12/24/2011
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wildly uneven but chock full of hits, near hits, collaborations and near misses.

Review Date: 11/26/2010
Title: Self-Inflicted
Artist: Leather Strip
Label: Cleopatra
Original Release Date: 1/1/2000
Date: 8/12/2010

Although not their finest moment, a good look at mid-period LS.

Review Date: 8/12/2010
Title: Toughest
Artist: Peter Tosh
Label: Capitol
Original Release Date: 10/4/1988
Date: 3/26/2011
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Near flawless collection of Peters finest late period hits. You have to have this in your collection if you're a Tosh partisan.

Review Date: 3/26/2011
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Like a tougher Ladytron. Great angular electro-dance tunes with a gritty edge a la Crystal Castles. Recommended if you like Ladytron, Goldfrapp, 808 State or electroclash artists.

Review Date: 1/16/2014
1 to 20 of 20