Joshua B.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 6 of 6

doesn't compare to raffi's "singable songs for the very young (great with a peanut butter sandwich)" as far as melodicism and sheer ballsiness but it's better than dan zane's "house party" by a mile. if you listen attentively to a record store clerk go on and on about how you must hear this album if you're a fan of the putumayo series or he recommends harvey milk's "life…the best game in town" be advised that he's making fun of your taste in family-friendly jams. my child screamed in terror upon hearing "mescaline arms" for the first time on a road trip. by the time we made it to "crazy woman dirty train" 45m later she was sucking her thumb and blinking in morse code to end it all. you might ask why i didn't turn off the cd the moment the singer screamed about "molten rats" but i just thought that it was a sort of going to start out loud and simmer down over the running time…much like "free to be you and me." thanks a lot record store clerk, jade tree records, and loud angry fellas in these arms are snakes. you've successfully made my maine road trip a hellscape of feedback and child-ear endangerment.

Review Date: 8/19/2014
Title: Everything in Between
Artist: No Age
Label: Sub Pop
Original Release Date: 1/1/2010
Date: 3/3/2015

hey no age, look at you struttin'!

Review Date: 3/3/2015
0 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

this is a really good cd/album. great pop. it's much, MUCH better than both the verve pipe and r.kelly. i would even say it's better than the linkin park album where they rap with jay-z. it may not be better than the white album but they give it a run for the money.

Review Date: 7/2/2014
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

for fans of bedhead and the new year and, even then, for the strictest kind of completists among those people. this is instrumental/incidental music for the movie "hell house" and is not in any sense a set of "songs." even though these 8 pieces are titled and separated out into tracks some are extremely slight while others are pretty and repetitive. there doesn't seem to be enough music here to soundtrack an entire 90 minute documentary but, despite that, some of the music is very interesting and, you would assume, perfect for rumination about God, the devil, american christianity in all it's forms, and a community of bible-thumping texans' ill-conceived form of proselytizing. still, it's not bad - just slight. wish it was longer than 18 minutes because the kadane brothers are geniuses of understatement.

Review Date: 6/8/2017
Title: Stankonia
Artist: Outkast
Label: La Face
Original Release Date: 10/31/2000
Date: 1/20/2016
1 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

is this album good? yes. is this album great? yes. is this album sweeter than grapes on the vine? yes. is this album better than sliced bread? no, but you also can't sprinkle cinnamon sugar on it - false comparison. is there flow? yes, i feel there is flow but the songs might not hang quite as well as on aquemini. it requires a little patience because it's dense - there is a lot going on in these tracks.

Review Date: 1/20/2016
2 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

i like this cd quite a bit. it's like the source family meets UP WITH PEOPLE! when you absolutely need to hear upbeat choral indie pop with a touch of wistfulness then you should come here first instead of hitting up that imitation choral indie pop band that pretends to know how to ooze positivity and general vibiness. this has a lot more going on than the first album. more horns, more hooks, more time….just more more. haven't watched the dvd but i imagine they keep it pretty much in the same wheelhouse. don't get this album if your thing is swedish black metal and/or straight outta compton og gangsta rap. you will be sorely disappointed.

Review Date: 7/29/2014
1 to 6 of 6