James B.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 50 of 62 - Page:

A must have for any '80's hair metal fan!

Review Date: 6/18/2009
Title: Addison Road
Artist: Addison Road
Label: Sony
Original Release Date: 1/1/2008
Date: 9/3/2012

Wow, this cd is packed to overfilling with wondrous tunes!

Review Date: 9/3/2012
Title: Afterglow
Artist: Dot Allison
Label: Arista
Original Release Date: 9/14/1999
Date: 7/22/2008

"Afterglow" is simply a magical cd, and it stays with you long after you've heard its' haunting melodies.

Review Date: 7/22/2008
3 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wow, within the span of merely 24 hours I had already consumed this very haunting cd 5 times. They are truly a welcomed surprise to the ears!

Review Date: 8/3/2009
1 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

A mainstay of wicked good '80's metal!

Review Date: 6/21/2009

I was lucky enough to see Salim Nourallah preform the other night. Truly he has such a wonderful way of allowing his listeners to see into his world. His music is high energy and full of emotion. Haunting is the word that comes to mind whenever I think back on his stuff over all these years. I've been a fan since I saw him and his brother Faris in their band The Moon Festival. They held me captive with each song, and he still has that very same magic now. I'm thrilled that I got this cd, and surely I'll be getting his others too.

Review Date: 11/13/2010

My wife seems to enjoy it lol

Review Date: 11/18/2009
Title: Carved In Stone
Artist: Vince Neil
Label: Beyond
Original Release Date: 10/4/2004
Date: 6/9/2009
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wow, on his own his music's an utter mess. His rightful place is as the head of Motley Crue.

Review Date: 6/9/2009

Danzig & co. are in top form on this masterful cd!

Review Date: 6/10/2009

Another stellar collection from Danzig & co.!

Review Date: 6/10/2009

Eisley is such an awesome band. I simply adore their sweetly mellow sound. - Very dream like! I look forward to many more cds to come out of the Tyler, Texas group. Songs like "Many Funerals", "Invasion", and "Come Clean" are the stand outs here... but on a whole the album is wondrous. Check them out! You'll be glad you did!

Review Date: 10/1/2010
Title: Countdown to Extinction
Artist: Megadeth
Label: Capitol
Original Release Date: 7/14/1992
Date: 6/11/2009
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Nothing here but greatness abounding.

Review Date: 6/11/2009
Title: Crucify
Artist: Tori Amos
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Original Release Date: 7/7/1992
Date: 7/22/2008
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This cd is such wonderful fun, and Tori proves she can handle any type tune...

Review Date: 7/22/2008
Title: Death Magnetic
Artist: Metallica
Label: Warner Bros.
Original Release Date: 1/1/2008
Date: 6/10/2009
1 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Now this is the Metallica I fell in love with all those eons ago! Hopefully they can maintain this wondrously heavy sound.

Review Date: 6/10/2009
Title: Disintegration
Artist: Cure
Label: Elektra / Wea
Original Release Date: 5/2/1989
Date: 6/22/2009
1 of 3 member(s) found this review helpful.

A masterpiece!

Review Date: 6/22/2009
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is without a doubt her masterpiece. And I should know, I've been a fan for years.

Review Date: 2/16/2008
Title: Exposed
Artist: Vince Neil
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
Original Release Date: 4/27/1993
Date: 6/9/2009

An okay release from the former (at this point in time) Motley Crue singer. Good thing they patched things up!

Review Date: 6/9/2009

Just killer, their best cd yet!

james

Review Date: 4/27/2008

I think this was one of the cooler cds from the 90's, but sadly it slipped through the cracks. After the band fell apart they reformed with the drummer now of vocals and renamed themselves Sponge... another great 90's band I might add.

Review Date: 1/14/2010

What a wonderful tapestry of music she gracefully wove together. Sadly, she will be missed.

Review Date: 6/10/2009
Title: Grace
Artist: Jeff Buckley
Label: Sony
Original Release Date: 8/23/1994
Date: 7/22/2008

Purely haunting. "Grace" is such a masterful offering of music, and it will remain, one of my favorites, for the whole of this lifetime.

Review Date: 7/22/2008
0 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This truly is an awesome cd, its just as powerful as any of his music with Creed.

james

Review Date: 4/27/2008
Title: Great Milenko
Artist: Icp
Label: Fontana Island
Original Release Date: 8/12/1997
Date: 6/11/2009

By far their best offering!

Review Date: 6/11/2009
Title: Hello Hurricane
Artist: Switchfoot
Label: Atlantic
Original Release Date: 1/1/2009
Date: 11/29/2009

Wow, I'd have to call this release Switchfoot's masterpiece. I've been a fan for years, but Hello Hurricane is hands down their best ever. Listen to "Red Eyes", "Free", Your Love is a Song", "Yet" & "Enough to Let me Go" and you'll truly know what I mean.

Review Date: 11/29/2009
Title: Home From Home
Artist: Millencolin
Label: Burning Heart
Original Release Date: 1/1/2002
Date: 6/10/2009

Every tune on this cd is a hit. Long live Punk!

Review Date: 6/10/2009
Title: Hysteria
Artist: Def Leppard
Label: Island / Mercury
Original Release Date: 8/3/1987
Date: 6/18/2009
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Their very, very best! Most of their hits are here on one disc.

Review Date: 6/18/2009
Title: Licensed to Ill
Artist: Beastie Boys
Label: Def Jam
Original Release Date: 1/1/1986
Date: 7/22/2008

This cd is just good ol' fashion fun! The Beasties, were in top form back when "Licensed to Ill' burst loose, and took on the airwaves.

Review Date: 7/22/2008

This is truly a killer disc. And it has so many wonderful songs in tow; but the duet between Ozzy and Lita is the real masterpiece here.

Review Date: 2/16/2008
Title: Little Earthquakes
Artist: Tori Amos
Label: Atlantic / Wea
Original Release Date: 2/25/1992
Date: 7/22/2008
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I adore this cd, and have since its release back in '92. Tori, truly took the world by storm, using only her voice and her piano.

Review Date: 7/22/2008
0 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

Both of these cds are chalked-full of the Pumpkins magic, plus hits galore!

james

Review Date: 4/29/2008
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

The first time I'd heard "Loser", I knew that Becks' - Mellow Gold, was on my -next cd to purchase- list. And when I finally got it, well, it stayed in my player for weeks... He has crafted a magical work here, indeed!

Review Date: 7/22/2008

It is such a sad shame that Andrew Wood lost his life at such a young age... although his wonderful music lives on. And Pearl Jam may have never been without his passing, so bittersweet a fate.

Review Date: 2/16/2008
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

Wow, every song here's an absolute winner! Truly one of my favorite cds to come out within the last so many years!!!

Review Date: 8/2/2009
4 of 4 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is the album that started it all, changing the face of music -at the time- into a grunge fueled culture. They (Nirvana) truly took the world by storm, and everybody wanted a taste... To this day, this stands as a powerhouse recording, if only Kurt Cobain could see just what his wondrous music caused.

james

Review Date: 4/27/2008
Title: New Beginning
Artist: Tracy Chapman
Label: Elektra / Wea
Original Release Date: 11/14/1995
Date: 6/22/2009

This is such a powerful cd. Chapman's at her very best!

Review Date: 6/22/2009

What a powerhouse!

Review Date: 6/18/2009

Wow, with the unleashing of this wicked double disc JP prove they are still on top of their game! Killer stuff.

Review Date: 6/18/2009

This is such a haunting cd. It's a shame they broke up after only 2 releases.

Review Date: 6/15/2009
Title: One X
Artist: Three Days Grace
Label: Jive
Original Release Date: 1/1/2006
Date: 6/29/2009
0 of 2 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is a really great cd. And every song rox!

Review Date: 6/29/2009
Title: Open Up & Say Ahhh
Artist: Poison
Label: Capitol
Original Release Date: 5/3/1988
Date: 6/18/2009
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This cd is just great Rockin' N Rollin' fun.

Review Date: 6/18/2009
Title: Opposite Way
Artist: Leeland
Label: PROVIDENT
Original Release Date: 1/1/2008
Date: 12/30/2009

Highly Enjoy outing from Leeland, although this cd doesn't contain their best singles.

Review Date: 12/30/2009

Man, I thought she had hit her peak with this wondrous body of music, but then she released "Siren". Both works are just heavenly.

Review Date: 6/9/2009

Stellar work here by Farrell & co.

Review Date: 6/22/2009
Title: Puss N Boots
Artist: Crash Test Dummies
Label: Hunter
Original Release Date: 1/1/2003
Date: 11/3/2010

This Crash Test Dummies cd is chalked full of cool tunes. Although it's not as good as "God Shuffled His Feet", it still stands on its own two feet. So it's safe to say CTD shall be around for some time still to come, and more lovely songs shall indeed follow.

Review Date: 11/3/2010

Wow, this ic truly a stellar soundscape!

Review Date: 6/8/2009

Wow, this cd blew me away the first time I hear it in all its glory. And I still love it to this day.

Review Date: 6/22/2009
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

I'd thought that BLS, had hit their high point with the release of "Mafia". But boy, was I ever wrong, "Shot to Hell" is by far another grand work! And I'm sure that all those years playing with Ozzy, helped Zakk, mold his voice skills, as well as writing style.

Review Date: 7/22/2008

Muse is such a wondrous band... and Showbiz is a wicked awesome offering!!!

Review Date: 9/10/2012

Wow, I simply adore this cd. Every track has something wonderful to say! I had the chance to see the Moon Festival back in 1990, and I've been a life-long fan ever since. Yes, Shrine really made an impact on my life. Even to this day I enjoy the band's singer, Salim Nourallah, musical journey. None of the songs here are filler, just pure rock n roll with a bearting heart.

Review Date: 11/11/2010

Although Blindside, stepped away from their Hardcore,Punk roots somewhat, they have indeed found a new foothold with the Hard Rock, Metal crowds. "Silence" is as good as it gets!

Review Date: 7/22/2008
1 to 50 of 62 - Page: