Otheriver W.'s Reviews

Profile
1 to 28 of 28

I'm not sure the Amazon reviewer is reviewing the same CD.

These are all the original versions that you know and love by Clapton. A short and tight collection of Eric's best solo tunes. If you are new to his 1970's and early 80's songs, this is a good place to start. If you want something for the commute, this will get you there. The "ground-breaking, environmentally-friendly packaging format" does not have notes, but does tip you off as to where you can find them on-line. There are a few pictures and the track list on the package however. It's the digital age I guess.

Review Date: 3/7/2015

Not country. This was a popular independent release in the Northwest in the 1989-1991 period proving once again that Seattle was not all grunge. It sold over 32,000 copies. This is more like adult-contemporary.

Cody Records track list:
1. Musical Chairs For Modern Lovers
2. What Else Are You Good At?
3. River of Hope
4. Stand up
5. That Kind of Woman
6. Successors In Right
7. Mesmerized
8. That Boy Is Driving Me Crazy
9. Hard Neighborhood
10. Don't Look Back
11. From My Father's House
12. I Could Give You This

There are song samples at Amazon of the mp3's or she has a mySpace page where you can listen.

Review Date: 9/4/2014

Track list:

1) Poison Tribe
2) Wishing Well
3) Swanker Vision
4) Damn Them
5) Heather
6) Well All Right
7) Turtle Boy

The band is:
Timothy Holliday - vocals, guitars
Byron Click - bass
Kevin M. Gunn - drums

Produced by: Patrick Keel

Review Date: 7/8/2016

I'm not sure the Amazon reviewer is reviewing the same CD.

These are all the original versions that you know and love by Clapton. A short and tight collection of Eric's best solo tunes, except for Derek & the Dominos' "Layla." If you are new to his 1970's and early 80's songs, this is a good place to start. If you want something for the commute, this will get you there. The "ground-breaking, environmentally-friendly packaging format" does not have notes, but does tip you off as to where you can find them on-line. There are a few pictures and the track list on the package however. It's the digital age I guess.

Review Date: 3/7/2015

Track list:

1. Combination Of The Two
2. I Need A Man To Love
3. Summertime
4. Piece Of My Heart
5. Turtle Blues
6. Oh, Sweet Mary
7. Ball And Chain

Review Date: 12/19/2017

The Christmas Compact Disc: 16 Original Christmas Hits

Review Date: 11/29/2016

There are 2 albums with this title and barcode. This review is for ASIN: B0002517TQ

Track list:
1. Choker
2. I Wish You Would
3. Snake Drive
4. For Your Love
5. Draggin' My Tail (Clapton & Page)
6. A Certain Girl
7. Freight Loader (Clapton & Page)
8. Got To Hurry
9. West Coast Idea

At 21 minutes and change, it's a little short. It seems to be split between Yardbirds cuts and early Clapton cuts from elsewhere. The sound is a bit rough in spots, but very listenable and enjoyable. Over-all, it's a very bluesy album.

Review Date: 4/20/2018
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

This is the album that made me a Ray Stevens fan. I always hoped he would do more of this. While he did later have a big hit with "Everything is Beautiful," the songs on the album it came from were not all Ray Stevens originals. The closest that he ever came to this again was his 1970 album "Unreal" with only two songs on it not written by Ray.

No hiding behind the mask of a clown stuff on this one. The late 60s middle class suburban man does some soul searching and has a little talk with himself. Forget the novelty songs, this is the real deal.

This is Ray's masterpiece.

Review Date: 8/20/2016

For all of you power-pop lovers out there this is a find! If I didn't have it already, I would be all over this album. Seattle is not known for it's power-pop, but it should be. It has been buried under the avalanche that was known as grunge. The Posies, Young Fresh Fellows, The Green Pajamas, The Moberlys and Sister Psychic were just a few of the other Pacific Northwest acts that played the clubs with tuneful abandon.
If you like your rock with a catchy melody or your pop with a slightly harder edge, this is it.

Review Date: 9/20/2014
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

For all of you power-pop lovers out there this is a find! If I didn't have it already, I would be all over this album. Seattle is not known for it's power-pop, but it should be. It has been buried under the avalanche that was known as grunge. The Posies, Young Fresh Fellows, The Green Pajamas, The Moberlys and Sister Psychic were just a few of the other Pacific Northwest acts that played the clubs with tuneful abandon.
If you like your rock with a catchy melody or your pop with a slightly harder edge, this is it.

Review Date: 9/20/2014

If you're looking for the Roy Loney Groovies, this ain't it. If you're looking for the Shake Some Action Groovies, you're almost there. It's the transition period between what was and what would be. Most of the material is just before Shake Some Action's official version a year or 2 later on Sire Records and a few are from the early 1980's just before they pull the plug.

It's rough around the edges recording wise, but this rocks like there's no tomorrow. A must have for the die hard Groovies fan.

Review Date: 9/2/2014
Title: Grease
Artist: Flamin Groovies
Label: Cleopatra
Original Release Date: 10/13/1998
Date: 9/2/2014

If you're looking for the Roy Loney Groovies, this ain't it. If you're looking for the Shake Some Action Groovies, you're almost there. It's the transition period between what was and what would be. Most of the material is just before Shake Some Action's official version a year or 2 later on Sire Records and a few are from the early 1980's just before they pull the plug.

It's rough around the edges recording wise, but this rocks like there's no tomorrow. A must have for the die hard Groovies fan.

Review Date: 9/2/2014

Track list:

1. Sure Shot 3:20
2. Tough Guy 0:58
3. B-Boys Makin' With the Freak Freak 3:53
4. Bobo on the Corner 1:13
5. Root Down 3:32
6. Sabotage 2:58
7. Get It Together 4:06
8. Sabrosa 3:32
9. The Update
10. Futterman's Rule 3:42
11. Alright Hear This
12. Eugene's Lament 2:12
13. Flute Loop 1:55
14. Do It 3:16
15. Ricky's Theme 3:44
16. Heart Attack Man
17. The Scoop 3:36
18. Shambala 3:41
19. Bodhisattva Vow 3:08
20. Transitions 2:32

Review Date: 7/11/2016
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

5 star Amazon review By Snarf40

If you're looking for soothing acoustic jazz guitar, this is the jackpot. Andy Summers (of The Police) and John Etheridge (who played with Soft Machine) both have virtuoso level skill on guitar and they play together fantastically. Make no mistake, this CD is almost all guitar duets. There's no drums or keyboards, and very little bass. It's very mellow stuff. All acoustic. If you happened onto this CD's page because you were looking for something that sounds like The Police or earlier Etheridge work such as '2nd Vision,' this won't satisfy you. On the other hand, if you're looking for something new to play at your next cocktail party or candle lit whatever, put this one in your cart. Every tune on this CD consistently shows how great acoustic guitar can sound.

Review Date: 9/26/2014

For some reason Amazon's listing drops the last letter of "Baxter" Robertson's name for the listing here.

Track list:

1. Turn of the Tide
2. Time and Again
3. No Simple Cure
4. Love Equation
5. Secret Is Safe
6. Landmarks
7. Mere Mortals
8. Mile Zero
9. Actions Speak Louder

Released 1988

Review Date: 7/8/2016

I love Morrison Hotel. This was their return to what they did best. After the letdown (IMHO) that was the Soft Parade this was a gigantic return to form. And rock they did. Check them out as they roll through Roadhouse Blues all the way to Maggie McGill. There's not a stinker on here. It's a focused and driving album.

Review Date: 4/26/2018
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

By David Kelly February 13, 2008 5 stars on Amazon

"Oho may not be a band that you are familiar with unless you were part of the Baltimore Washington music scene in the 80's and 90's, but this album has to rank as one of the top albums of it's era, and stands the test of time. The music is as fresh and relevant today as it was when originally released."

Review Date: 9/5/2014

Look. I love Boz, but this album was ill advised 1980's shclock. Boz is much better doing his R&B thing with real live instruments as opposed to this synthesized mess. MTV did not do him any favors. Even his big hit period (see: Slow Dancer and Silk Degrees) is better than this. I actually prefer his first 4 albums (Boz Scaggs self titled Atlantic album through My Time) and starting again with his Virgin Records output. Maybe if you are like some people and this kind of 80s stuff tickles your fancy you might like it, but I would suggest you do not start here.

Review Date: 6/10/2015
1 of 1 member(s) found this review helpful.

The queen of heartbreak will make you believe...

There's a reason this hits collection has been in print for so long. It's the most concise collection of Patsy Cline's country/pop hits that you can find. From the Willie Nelson penned "Crazy" to "I Fall to Pieces," there is not a dud on here. The songs were all hits before my time, but they still have that special something. A Michael Nesmith cover of "I Fall to Pieces" on Loose Salute was how I came to know of Patsy Cline (thank you Mike). If you have never heard her, do yourself a favor and go listen to either of the above mentioned songs (or any of the songs on this album), then treat yourself and get this CD.

Review Date: 3/17/2015

The queen of heartbreak will make you believe...

There's a reason this hits collection has been in print for so long. It's the most concise collection of Patsy Cline's country/pop hits that you can find. From the Willie Nelson penned "Crazy" to "I Fall to Pieces," there is not a dud on here. The songs were all hits before my time, but they still have that special something. A Michael Nesmith cover of "I Fall to Pieces" on Loose Salute was how I came to know of Patsy Cline (thank you Mike). If you have never heard her, do yourself a favor and go listen to either of the above mentioned songs (or any of the songs on this album), then treat yourself and get this CD.

The track listing above is correct. The one below from ajs227 is something else.

Review Date: 3/19/2015

Peggy Jean E's review below was for her CD only. It doesn't work for this 10 track listing. There are no bonus tracks.

This is Janis' finest moment. She had finally found the band of her dreams and made the album that would have propelled her to the top even if she hadn't died.

If you're new to Janis' work, start here.

Review Date: 11/17/2017

This is a fascinating and high quality dip into the Stax Records archives. 60 minutes worth of outtakes and unreleased tracks. No acetates or vinyl rips that I can detect. These are straight from the multi-track and master tapes. You may have some of these songs on other albums, but they are not the same versions you are used to hearing and there are previously unreleased gems as well. There is very little repetition during those 60 minutes other than two versions of Dock of the Bay.The stay in school promo has been released on an Otis Box, but that is the only real repeat here.
This is not really a formal Otis Redding album, but it is well worth your time and repeated listens especially if you love Otis.

Review Date: 9/2/2014

The first 8 tracks on this CD are from his 1979 Warner Bros. album "Back On The Right Track," which was a top 30 album with several hits like "Remember Who You Are," "The Same Thing (Makes You Laugh, Makes You Cry)," and the soul rocker "It Takes All Kinds." Great stuff that is on a par with some of his Epic Records output. It was a come back album of sorts and the CD is worth getting for this alone.

The last 7 tracks are from approximately 1963-65. The pre-Epic Records recordings. They are of some interest, but coming after the great grooves of the "Back On The Right Track" album, they are a bit of a let down. You can hear the group beginning to jell, which I find interesting, but as a an album the jump from 1979 to 1963-65 is quite a leap.

There is bit of tape hiss on this CD (more so on the sixties cuts) and you might be able to get a remastered disc that has less. This CD was released in 1997 just so you know.

With that in mind, just think of the sixties stuff as bonus tracks to the Warner album and you will love this.

Review Date: 11/2/2015

James hits his stride with his second solo album and never looks back. It's still a good listen 40 years (has it really been that long?) after it was first released. If I could only have two James Taylor albums in my collection the Apple Records album and this would be it.

Review Date: 10/16/2014

Remember the 80s power pop band Uncle Green? I didn't think so. This is their clever name change and update in sound for the 90s. Harder rockin' than the Uncle Green stuff, but still just as tuneful. Both incarnations are worth checking out. Get it while you can.

Here's the link for Uncle Green: http://www.swapacd.com/Uncle-Green/artist/16867/

Review Date: 4/14/2018

Released in 1994, this is a promotion only release for "Selected Ambient Works Volume ii". There never was a booklet or front cover for this release. It comes with a tray card only. A good intro to Aphex Twin if you've never heard them.

1) intro Words :27
2) Track #1 7:15
3) Words :33
4) Track #2 7:55
5) Words :47
6) Track #7 5:50
7) Words :22
8) Words (Processed) 5:02

Music written by Richard O. James

I gave it 3 stars because it's not all music. The music gets an ambient 5 stars.

Review Date: 7/8/2016

I got way more than I expected. I was afraid I was just re-purchasing a bunch of stuff I already had.
The original mono mixes on the first CD were a revelation. I may have had a couple of singles way back when, but everything else I'd ever heard was the stereo re-mixes and did not know there was a difference until now. I did not know that was what I was getting until I played it.
There are tons of other rarities & unreleased tracks on the other 3 CD's. The booklet was more like a book. It's a great history of the band & the songs in the set.
I don't know why I waited so long to buy this. The Zombies are love.

Review Date: 9/2/2014

I got way more than I expected. I was afraid I was just re-purchasing a bunch of stuff I already had.
The original mono mixes on the first CD were a revelation. I may have had a couple of singles way back when, but everything else I'd ever heard was the stereo re-mixes and did not know there was a difference until now. I did not know that was what I was getting until I played it.
There are tons of other rarities & unreleased tracks on the other 3 CD's. The booklet was more like a book. It's a great history of the band & the songs in the set.
I don't know why I waited so long to buy this. The Zombies are love.

Review Date: 9/2/2014
1 to 28 of 28